Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
15-17 Jun 2019: Treasures of the Saronic Gulf - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-30 Aug 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
13-29 Aug 2019: Volcanoes of Java - Java (Indonesia)
14-17 Aug 2019: Krakatau Volcano Special - Krakatau volcano (Indonesia)
1-19 Sep 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.3 earthquake - OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO on Sunday, 12 August 2018

Light mag. 4.3 earthquake  - OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO on Sunday, 12 August 2018
Date & time: Sun, 12 Aug 05:13:06 UTC
Magnitude: 4.3
Depth: 7.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 16.48°N / 100.58°W (Mexico)
Nearest volcano: Nevado de Toluca (305 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
Estimated released energy: 1.8*10^11 J (49.4 MWh / 42.5 tons of TNT) [learn more]
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Sun, 12 Aug 2018
Sun, 12 Aug 14:42 UTCM 4.6 / 35 km - [info]- 0km ENE of Tecpan de Galeana, Mexico[Map]USGS
Mon, 13 Aug 2018
Mon, 13 Aug 01:30 UTCM 4.2 / 5 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 26 Aug 2018
Sun, 26 Aug 15:08 UTCM 4.0 / 6 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 27 Aug 2018
Mon, 27 Aug 16:57 UTCM 4.1 / 45 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 2 Sep 2018
Sun, 2 Sep 12:04 UTCM 4.1 / 49 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 11 Sep 2018
Tue, 11 Sep 19:28 UTCM 4.0 / 47 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 15 Sep 2018
Sat, 15 Sep 05:08 UTCM 4.3 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 19 Sep 2018
Wed, 19 Sep 09:14 UTCM 4.0 / 48 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 24 Sep 2018
Mon, 24 Sep 16:41 UTCM 4.2 / 48 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 24 Sep 19:26 UTCM 4.0 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 25 Sep 2018
Tue, 25 Sep 02:22 UTCM 4.4 / 35 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 25 Sep 04:48 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 27 Sep 2018
Thu, 27 Sep 14:25 UTCM 4.1 / 15 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 2 Oct 2018
Tue, 2 Oct 02:07 UTCM 4.5 / 21 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 4 Oct 2018
Thu, 4 Oct 08:08 UTCM 4.2 / 34 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 13 Oct 2018
Sat, 13 Oct 11:24 UTCM 4.1 / 5 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 18 Oct 2018
Thu, 18 Oct 03:50 UTCM 4.0 / 13 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 19 Oct 2018
Fri, 19 Oct 00:39 UTCM 4.0 / 2 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 20 Oct 2018
Sat, 20 Oct 13:51 UTCM 4.0 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 26 Oct 2018
Fri, 26 Oct 09:48 UTCM 4.7 / 10 km - [info]Near Coast of Guerrero, Mexico[Map]GFZ
Sun, 28 Oct 2018
Sun, 28 Oct 09:33 UTCM 4.1 / 18 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 29 Oct 2018
Mon, 29 Oct 06:43 UTCM 4.0 / 28 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 2 Nov 2018
Fri, 2 Nov 00:34 UTCM 4.0 / 8 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 5 Nov 2018
Mon, 5 Nov 11:06 UTCM 4.1 / 28 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 5 Nov 12:37 UTCM 4.2 / 5 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 5 Nov 12:48 UTCM 4.1 / 2 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 8 Nov 2018
Thu, 8 Nov 22:03 UTCM 4.3 / 6 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 11 Nov 2018
Sun, 11 Nov 14:53 UTCM 4.0 / 31 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 13 Nov 2018
Tue, 13 Nov 15:09 UTCM 4.0 / 42 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 23 Nov 2018
Fri, 23 Nov 08:07 UTCM 4.3 / 5 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 26 Nov 2018
Mon, 26 Nov 16:14 UTCM 4.1 / 44 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 7 Dec 2018
Fri, 7 Dec 12:14 UTCM 4.0 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 7 Dec 18:05 UTCM 4.1 / 17 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 8 Dec 2018
Sat, 8 Dec 16:33 UTCM 4.3 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 8 Dec 18:12 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 12 Dec 2018
Wed, 12 Dec 01:13 UTCM 4.1 / 19 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 13 Dec 2018
Thu, 13 Dec 10:08 UTCM 4.0 / 19 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 16 Dec 2018
Sun, 16 Dec 23:07 UTCM 4.3 / 34 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 18 Dec 2018
Tue, 18 Dec 03:15 UTCM 4.1 / 33 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 20 Dec 2018
Thu, 20 Dec 03:12 UTCM 4.1 / 27 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 25 Dec 2018
Tue, 25 Dec 23:25 UTCM 4.0 / 37 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 27 Dec 2018
Thu, 27 Dec 15:37 UTCM 4.4 / 26 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 28 Dec 2018
Fri, 28 Dec 00:28 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 30 Dec 2018
Sun, 30 Dec 10:08 UTCM 4.5 / 13 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 31 Dec 2018
Mon, 31 Dec 11:31 UTCM 4.2 / 52 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: