Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-20 Oct 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.3 earthquake - OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO on Tuesday, 28 August 2018

Light mag. 4.3 earthquake  - OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO on Tuesday, 28 August 2018
Date & time: Tue, 28 Aug 12:16:06 UTC
Magnitude: 4.3
Depth: 15.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 14.3°N / 93.03°W (Mexico)
Nearest volcano: Tacana (135 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Thu, 30 Aug 2018
Thu, 30 Aug 18:30 UTCM 4.2 / 107 km - [info]CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 31 Aug 2018
Fri, 31 Aug 23:14 UTCM 4.0 / 22 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 1 Sep 2018
Sat, 1 Sep 00:26 UTCM 4.0 / 13 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 2 Sep 2018
Sun, 2 Sep 02:47 UTCM 4.1 / 17 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 3 Sep 2018
Mon, 3 Sep 18:11 UTCM 4.6 / 176.9 km - [info]- 6km N of San Carlos Sija, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Mon, 3 Sep 22:24 UTCM 4.2 / 12 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 5 Sep 2018
Wed, 5 Sep 23:18 UTCM 4.2 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 8 Sep 2018
Sat, 8 Sep 15:18 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info]- 58km SSW of Champerico, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Mon, 10 Sep 2018
Mon, 10 Sep 00:22 UTCM 4.3 / 35 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 10 Sep 12:39 UTCM 4.7 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 11 Sep 2018
Tue, 11 Sep 10:31 UTCM 4.0 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 12 Sep 2018
Wed, 12 Sep 02:35 UTCM 4.6 / 87 km - [info]Near Coast of Chiapas, Mexico[Map]GFZ
Wed, 12 Sep 22:45 UTCM 4.3 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 13 Sep 2018
Thu, 13 Sep 10:46 UTCM 4.3 / 79 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 13 Sep 14:11 UTCM 4.1 / 18 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 13 Sep 17:54 UTCM 4.2 / 16 km - [info]OFF THE COAST OF GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Sat, 15 Sep 2018
Sat, 15 Sep 00:28 UTCM 4.4 / 35 km - [info]- 36km WSW of Puerto Madero, Mexico[Map]USGS
Sat, 15 Sep 03:28 UTCM 4.1 / 77 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 16 Sep 2018
Sun, 16 Sep 03:49 UTCM 4.0 / 44 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 19 Sep 2018
Wed, 19 Sep 02:55 UTCM 4.2 / 74 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 20 Sep 2018
Thu, 20 Sep 09:21 UTCM 5.2 / 10 km - [info]Near Coast of Chiapas, Mexico[Map]GFZ
Thu, 20 Sep 09:57 UTCM 4.4 / 20 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 20 Sep 20:51 UTCM 4.1 / 14 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 20 Sep 22:30 UTCM 4.5 / 53.4 km - [info]- 105km SSW of Pijijiapan, Mexico[Map]USGS
Sun, 23 Sep 2018
Sun, 23 Sep 05:38 UTCM 4.0 / 10 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 23 Sep 08:07 UTCM 4.0 / 15 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 24 Sep 2018
Mon, 24 Sep 06:54 UTCM 4.3 / 10 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 26 Sep 2018
Wed, 26 Sep 00:09 UTCM 4.0 / 83 km - [info]CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 27 Sep 2018
Thu, 27 Sep 17:32 UTCM 5.0 / 57 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 3 Oct 2018
Wed, 3 Oct 03:24 UTCM 4.0 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 8 Oct 2018
Mon, 8 Oct 22:44 UTCM 4.0 / 20 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 11 Oct 2018
Thu, 11 Oct 04:34 UTCM 4.0 / 11 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 12 Oct 2018
Fri, 12 Oct 03:02 UTCM 4.1 / 87 km - [info]CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 12 Oct 21:09 UTCM 5.3 / 10 km - [info] Guatemala[Map]GFZ
Wed, 17 Oct 2018
Wed, 17 Oct 00:34 UTCM 4.5 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 17 Oct 01:10 UTCM 4.0 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 18 Oct 2018
Thu, 18 Oct 06:14 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 22 Oct 2018
Mon, 22 Oct 04:32 UTCM 4.0 / 14 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 24 Oct 2018
Wed, 24 Oct 18:08 UTCM 4.3 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 27 Oct 2018
Sat, 27 Oct 18:50 UTCM 4.7 / 15 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 27 Oct 22:09 UTCM 4.0 / 23 km - [info]OFF COAST OF OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 1 Nov 2018
Thu, 1 Nov 11:07 UTCM 4.3 / 24 km - [info]OFF COAST OF OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 3 Nov 2018
Sat, 3 Nov 01:49 UTCM 4.1 / 64 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 3 Nov 20:09 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 4 Nov 2018
Sun, 4 Nov 03:35 UTCM 4.1 / 60 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 4 Nov 06:00 UTCM 4.2 / 100 km - [info] GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Sun, 4 Nov 14:56 UTCM 4.1 / 18 km - [info]OFF COAST OF OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 6 Nov 2018
Tue, 6 Nov 05:01 UTCM 4.6 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 13 Nov 2018
Tue, 13 Nov 21:07 UTCM 4.1 / 17 km - [info]OFF COAST OF OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 14 Nov 2018
Wed, 14 Nov 03:15 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: