Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-20 Oct 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.5 earthquake - OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO on Thursday, 6 September 2018

Light mag. 4.5 earthquake  - OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO on Thursday, 6 September 2018
Date & time: Thu, 6 Sep 09:03:46 UTC
Magnitude: 4.5
Depth: 13.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 15.64°N / 96.07°W (Mexico)
Nearest volcano: San Martín (340 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Thu, 6 Sep 2018
Thu, 6 Sep 10:17 UTCM 4.0 / 10 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 6 Sep 10:35 UTCM 4.1 / 49 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 7 Sep 2018
Fri, 7 Sep 22:24 UTCM 4.0 / 22 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 9 Sep 2018
Sun, 9 Sep 10:27 UTCM 4.0 / 87 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 10 Sep 2018
Mon, 10 Sep 17:15 UTCM 4.7 / 10 km - [info]Near Coast of Guerrero, Mexico[Map]GFZ
Tue, 11 Sep 2018
Tue, 11 Sep 10:31 UTCM 4.0 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 12 Sep 2018
Wed, 12 Sep 22:45 UTCM 4.3 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 13 Sep 2018
Thu, 13 Sep 14:11 UTCM 4.1 / 18 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 13 Sep 23:11 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 15 Sep 2018
Sat, 15 Sep 03:56 UTCM 4.3 / 67 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 15 Sep 09:48 UTCM 4.1 / 28 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 16 Sep 2018
Sun, 16 Sep 16:04 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 19 Sep 2018
Wed, 19 Sep 04:41 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 20 Sep 2018
Thu, 20 Sep 17:13 UTCM 4.2 / 17 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 21 Sep 2018
Fri, 21 Sep 21:25 UTCM 4.0 / 27 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 22 Sep 2018
Sat, 22 Sep 01:30 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 22 Sep 01:31 UTCM 4.1 / 25 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 22 Sep 01:35 UTCM 4.1 / 25 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 24 Sep 2018
Mon, 24 Sep 06:54 UTCM 4.3 / 10 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 27 Sep 2018
Thu, 27 Sep 16:37 UTCM 4.3 / 93 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 29 Sep 2018
Sat, 29 Sep 18:46 UTCM 4.3 / 15 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 30 Sep 2018
Sun, 30 Sep 00:17 UTCM 4.2 / 14 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 30 Sep 22:17 UTCM 4.2 / 8 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 1 Oct 2018
Mon, 1 Oct 15:47 UTCM 4.3 / 56 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 1 Oct 17:26 UTCM 4.5 / 12 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 2 Oct 2018
Tue, 2 Oct 17:45 UTCM 4.4 / 38.9 km - [info]- 13km SE of Salina Cruz, Mexico[Map]USGS
Wed, 3 Oct 2018
Wed, 3 Oct 02:42 UTCM 4.0 / 8 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 3 Oct 05:27 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 5 Oct 2018
Fri, 5 Oct 20:24 UTCM 4.2 / 95 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 7 Oct 2018
Sun, 7 Oct 03:52 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 8 Oct 2018
Mon, 8 Oct 22:44 UTCM 4.0 / 20 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 10 Oct 2018
Wed, 10 Oct 07:06 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 15 Oct 2018
Mon, 15 Oct 18:14 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 17 Oct 2018
Wed, 17 Oct 14:15 UTCM 4.0 / 81 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 23 Oct 2018
Tue, 23 Oct 04:11 UTCM 4.3 / 17 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 23 Oct 21:19 UTCM 4.0 / 73 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 24 Oct 2018
Wed, 24 Oct 02:25 UTCM 4.1 / 33 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 24 Oct 17:12 UTCM 4.4 / 53 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 24 Oct 18:08 UTCM 4.3 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 25 Oct 2018
Thu, 25 Oct 02:09 UTCM 4.1 / 65 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 25 Oct 22:31 UTCM 4.3 / 9 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 26 Oct 2018
Fri, 26 Oct 04:57 UTCM 4.0 / 57 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 26 Oct 05:55 UTCM 4.1 / 15 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 27 Oct 2018
Sat, 27 Oct 11:20 UTCM 4.2 / 16 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 27 Oct 18:50 UTCM 4.7 / 15 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 27 Oct 22:09 UTCM 4.0 / 23 km - [info]OFF COAST OF OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 28 Oct 2018
Sun, 28 Oct 16:43 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 29 Oct 2018
Mon, 29 Oct 03:59 UTCM 4.0 / 72 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 29 Oct 19:09 UTCM 4.1 / 84 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 30 Oct 2018
Tue, 30 Oct 02:18 UTCM 4.1 / 59 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: