Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-30 Aug 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
13-29 Aug 2019: Volcanoes of Java - Java (Indonesia)
14-17 Aug 2019: Krakatau Volcano Special - Krakatau volcano (Indonesia)
1-19 Sep 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.4 earthquake - OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO on Thursday, 20 September 2018

Light mag. 4.4 earthquake  - OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO on Thursday, 20 September 2018
Date & time: Thu, 20 Sep 09:57:42 UTC
Magnitude: 4.4
Depth: 20.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 14.45°N / 93.98°W (Mexico)
Nearest volcano: Tacana (215 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
Estimated released energy: 2.5*10^11 J (69.8 MWh / 60 tons of TNT) [learn more]
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Thu, 20 Sep 2018
Thu, 20 Sep 17:13 UTCM 4.2 / 17 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 20 Sep 20:51 UTCM 4.1 / 14 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 20 Sep 22:30 UTCM 4.5 / 53.4 km - [info]- 105km SSW of Pijijiapan, Mexico[Map]USGS
Sat, 22 Sep 2018
Sat, 22 Sep 01:30 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 23 Sep 2018
Sun, 23 Sep 05:38 UTCM 4.0 / 10 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 23 Sep 08:07 UTCM 4.0 / 15 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 24 Sep 2018
Mon, 24 Sep 06:54 UTCM 4.3 / 10 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 26 Sep 2018
Wed, 26 Sep 00:09 UTCM 4.0 / 83 km - [info]CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 27 Sep 2018
Thu, 27 Sep 17:32 UTCM 5.0 / 57 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 29 Sep 2018
Sat, 29 Sep 18:46 UTCM 4.3 / 15 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 3 Oct 2018
Wed, 3 Oct 03:24 UTCM 4.0 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 7 Oct 2018
Sun, 7 Oct 03:52 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 8 Oct 2018
Mon, 8 Oct 22:44 UTCM 4.0 / 20 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 11 Oct 2018
Thu, 11 Oct 04:34 UTCM 4.0 / 11 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 12 Oct 2018
Fri, 12 Oct 03:02 UTCM 4.1 / 87 km - [info]CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 17 Oct 2018
Wed, 17 Oct 00:34 UTCM 4.5 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 17 Oct 01:10 UTCM 4.0 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 18 Oct 2018
Thu, 18 Oct 06:14 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 22 Oct 2018
Mon, 22 Oct 04:32 UTCM 4.0 / 14 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 24 Oct 2018
Wed, 24 Oct 18:08 UTCM 4.3 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 27 Oct 2018
Sat, 27 Oct 18:50 UTCM 4.7 / 15 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 27 Oct 22:09 UTCM 4.0 / 23 km - [info]OFF COAST OF OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 1 Nov 2018
Thu, 1 Nov 11:07 UTCM 4.3 / 24 km - [info]OFF COAST OF OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 3 Nov 2018
Sat, 3 Nov 01:49 UTCM 4.1 / 64 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 3 Nov 20:09 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 4 Nov 2018
Sun, 4 Nov 03:35 UTCM 4.1 / 60 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 4 Nov 06:00 UTCM 4.2 / 100 km - [info] GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Sun, 4 Nov 14:56 UTCM 4.1 / 18 km - [info]OFF COAST OF OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 6 Nov 2018
Tue, 6 Nov 05:01 UTCM 4.6 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 7 Nov 2018
Wed, 7 Nov 06:35 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 13 Nov 2018
Tue, 13 Nov 21:07 UTCM 4.1 / 17 km - [info]OFF COAST OF OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 14 Nov 2018
Wed, 14 Nov 03:15 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 14 Nov 06:24 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 17 Nov 2018
Sat, 17 Nov 00:49 UTCM 4.2 / 62 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 28 Nov 2018
Wed, 28 Nov 13:41 UTCM 4.2 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 2 Dec 2018
Sun, 2 Dec 12:05 UTCM 4.2 / 18 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 9 Dec 2018
Sun, 9 Dec 19:42 UTCM 4.1 / 90 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 13 Dec 2018
Thu, 13 Dec 03:20 UTCM 4.6 / 10 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 13 Dec 07:13 UTCM 4.5 / 21 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 13 Dec 07:37 UTCM 4.3 / 14 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 19 Dec 2018
Wed, 19 Dec 23:38 UTCM 4.2 / 25 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 20 Dec 2018
Thu, 20 Dec 11:02 UTCM 4.2 / 14 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 20 Dec 23:04 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 21 Dec 2018
Fri, 21 Dec 01:59 UTCM 5.0 / 10 km - [info]Near Coast of Chiapas, Mexico[Map]GFZ
Fri, 21 Dec 15:34 UTCM 4.2 / 17 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 25 Dec 2018
Tue, 25 Dec 20:24 UTCM 4.5 / 17 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 26 Dec 2018
Wed, 26 Dec 04:19 UTCM 4.2 / 60 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 27 Dec 2018
Thu, 27 Dec 19:37 UTCM 4.4 / 17 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 27 Dec 21:16 UTCM 4.2 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 29 Dec 2018
Sat, 29 Dec 07:05 UTCM 4.1 / 19 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: