Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
30 Mar - 6 Apr 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.4 earthquake - Kec. Alas Barat (2 MMI) on Sunday, 23 September 2018

Light mag. 4.4 earthquake  - Kec. Alas Barat (2 MMI) on Sunday, 23 September 2018
Date & time: Sun, 23 Sep 23:30:22 UTC
Local time at epicenter: 24/09/2018 06:30:22 WIB
Magnitude: 4.4
Depth: 10.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 8.27°S / 116.77°E (Indonesia)
Nearest volcano: Rinjani (37 km)
Primary data source: BMKG
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
(80.8 km WSW from epicenter) [Map] / MMI II (Very weak shaking) (via app)
(168.3 km W from epicenter) [Map] / not felt (via app)
(24.7 km SSW from epicenter) [Map] / MMI IV (Light shaking) (via app)
Budi - Amlapura / not felt
Labuhan lombok (28.7 km SSW from epicenter) [Map] / MMI III (Weak shaking) (via app)
(168 km W from epicenter) [Map] / not felt (via app)
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Thu, 27 Sep 2018
Thu, 27 Sep 10:36 UTCM 3.1 / 13 km - [info]Lombok utara (3 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Mon, 1 Oct 2018
Mon, 1 Oct 02:25 UTCM 3.2 / 10 km - [info]Lombok Barat (2 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Tue, 2 Oct 2018
Tue, 2 Oct 07:49 UTCM 3.2 / 10 km - [info]Mataram (2 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Fri, 5 Oct 2018
Fri, 5 Oct 02:52 UTCM 3.9 / 11 km - [info]Sumbawa (3 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Sat, 6 Oct 2018
Sat, 6 Oct 11:42 UTCM 3.4 / 10 km - [info]Lombok Utara (3 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Sun, 7 Oct 2018
Sun, 7 Oct 17:57 UTCM 5.0 / 10 km - [info]Sumbawa Region, Indonesia[Map]GFZ
Wed, 10 Oct 2018
Wed, 10 Oct 02:16 UTCM 4.6 / 10 km - [info]- 20km NE of Belanting, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Tue, 16 Oct 2018
Tue, 16 Oct 16:01 UTCM 2.9 / 13 km - [info]Kuta (3 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Thu, 18 Oct 2018
Thu, 18 Oct 01:13 UTCM 4.8 / 10 km - [info]Mataram (3 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Tue, 23 Oct 2018
Tue, 23 Oct 21:52 UTCM 4.4 / 10 km - [info]Lombok Utara (2 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Fri, 26 Oct 2018
Fri, 26 Oct 12:30 UTCM 3.0 / 7 km - [info]Lombok Utara (2 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Sat, 27 Oct 2018
Sat, 27 Oct 09:06 UTCM 4.7 / 73 km - [info]Nusa Dua (2 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Sat, 27 Oct 13:31 UTCM 3.7 / 14 km - [info]Lombok Utara (2 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Sun, 28 Oct 2018
Sun, 28 Oct 06:10 UTCM 3.0 / 10 km - [info]Sumbawa (3 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Thu, 1 Nov 2018
Thu, 1 Nov 01:28 UTCM 4.0 / 10 km - [info]Sumbawa (3 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Thu, 1 Nov 22:05 UTCM 3.6 / 10 km - [info]Lombok Barat (3 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Fri, 2 Nov 2018
Fri, 2 Nov 08:21 UTCM 4.0 / 14 km - [info]Lombok Barat (3 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Sun, 4 Nov 2018
Sun, 4 Nov 17:38 UTCM 3.3 / 10 km - [info]Lombok Timur (3 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Mon, 5 Nov 2018
Mon, 5 Nov 18:57 UTCM 3.6 / 18 km - [info]Denpasar (2 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Tue, 6 Nov 2018
Tue, 6 Nov 01:00 UTCM 4.6 / 10 km - [info]Lombok Utara dan Lombok Timur (5 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Tue, 6 Nov 06:12 UTCM 3.4 / 10 km - [info]Lombok Utara (2 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Tue, 6 Nov 06:49 UTCM 4.8 / 10 km - [info]Lombok Timur (3 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Tue, 6 Nov 11:34 UTCM 3.2 / 10 km - [info]Sumbawa Barat (3 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Wed, 7 Nov 2018
Wed, 7 Nov 11:19 UTCM 3.8 / 10 km - [info]Sumbawa (3 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Wed, 7 Nov 18:36 UTCM 4.8 / 10 km - [info]LOMBOK REGION, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Thu, 8 Nov 2018
Thu, 8 Nov 14:58 UTCM 4.0 / 20 km - [info]Sumbawa (3 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Fri, 9 Nov 2018
Fri, 9 Nov 09:22 UTCM 3.4 / 7 km - [info]Lombok Utara (3 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Sun, 11 Nov 2018
Sun, 11 Nov 17:30 UTCM 3.7 / 10 km - [info]Lombok Utara (3 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Mon, 12 Nov 2018
Mon, 12 Nov 00:39 UTCM 2.9 / 10 km - [info]Lombok Utara (2 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Wed, 14 Nov 2018
Wed, 14 Nov 05:29 UTCM 3.6 / 10 km - [info]Lombok Utara (2 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Thu, 15 Nov 2018
Thu, 15 Nov 12:46 UTCM 3.9 / 5 km - [info]Lombok Utara (3 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Fri, 16 Nov 2018
Fri, 16 Nov 22:46 UTCM 3.0 / 9 km - [info]Lombok Utara (2 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Sat, 17 Nov 2018
Sat, 17 Nov 05:41 UTCM 3.9 / 11 km - [info]Lombok Utara (3 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Sat, 17 Nov 05:56 UTCM 2.8 / 10 km - [info]Lombok Utara (2 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Sat, 17 Nov 07:16 UTCM 3.9 / 10 km - [info]Lombok Utara (3 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Sun, 18 Nov 2018
Sun, 18 Nov 06:13 UTCM 3.1 / 10 km - [info]Mataram dan Lombok Barat (3 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Mon, 19 Nov 2018
Mon, 19 Nov 20:14 UTCM 3.6 / 9 km - [info]Taliwang (2 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Wed, 21 Nov 2018
Wed, 21 Nov 16:13 UTCM 2.7 / 10 km - [info]Lombok Utara (2 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Wed, 21 Nov 17:05 UTCM 2.8 / 14 km - [info]Lombok Utara (2 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Thu, 6 Dec 2018
Thu, 6 Dec 01:02 UTCM 5.5 / 10 km - [info]Sumbawa Region, Indonesia[Map]GFZ
Sat, 8 Dec 2018
Sat, 8 Dec 14:00 UTCM 4.2 / 10 km - [info]Lombok Barat dan Lombok Utara (2 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Mon, 10 Dec 2018
Mon, 10 Dec 09:53 UTCM 4.8 / 104.4 km - [info]- 18km S of Pisangkemeng, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Tue, 11 Dec 2018
Tue, 11 Dec 01:17 UTCM 4.0 / 10 km - [info]LOMBOK REGION, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Tue, 18 Dec 2018
Tue, 18 Dec 07:41 UTCM 3.7 / 10 km - [info]Lombok Tengah (3 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Tue, 18 Dec 15:53 UTCM 3.6 / 10 km - [info]Lombok Timur (3 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Fri, 21 Dec 2018
Fri, 21 Dec 10:43 UTCM 5.4 / 18.4 km - [info]Sumbawa Region, Indonesia[Map]GeoAu
Sat, 22 Dec 2018
Sat, 22 Dec 05:58 UTCM 4.5 / 10 km - [info]LOMBOK REGION, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Sat, 22 Dec 23:59 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info]LOMBOK REGION, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Wed, 26 Dec 2018
Wed, 26 Dec 12:22 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info]Lombok Timur (4 MMI)[Map]BMKG
Thu, 27 Dec 2018
Thu, 27 Dec 11:48 UTCM 3.7 / 2 km - [info]Lombok Utara (4 MMI)[Map]BMKG

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: