Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
15-17 Jun 2019: Treasures of the Saronic Gulf - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-30 Aug 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
13-29 Aug 2019: Volcanoes of Java - Java (Indonesia)
14-17 Aug 2019: Krakatau Volcano Special - Krakatau volcano (Indonesia)
1-19 Sep 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.2 earthquake - OAXACA, MEXICO on Sunday, 30 September 2018

Light mag. 4.2 earthquake  - OAXACA, MEXICO on Sunday, 30 September 2018
Date & time: Sun, 30 Sep 22:17:22 UTC
Magnitude: 4.2
Depth: 8.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 16.2°N / 97.49°W (Mexico)
Nearest volcano: Pico de Orizaba (316 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
Estimated released energy: 1.3*10^11 J (35 MWh / 30.1 tons of TNT) [learn more]
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationSource

"I felt it" reports:
(403.4 km NNW from epicenter) [Map] / MMI IV (Light shaking) (via app)
Spring valley, Ny (3571.9 km NE from epicenter) [Map] / MMI II (Very weak shaking)
(455.5 km NNW from epicenter) [Map] / MMI IV (Light shaking): Como que me iba a caer (via app)
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Mon, 1 Oct 2018
Mon, 1 Oct 04:53 UTCM 4.4 / 28 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 1 Oct 05:38 UTCM 4.2 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 1 Oct 15:47 UTCM 4.3 / 56 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 1 Oct 17:26 UTCM 4.5 / 12 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 1 Oct 21:15 UTCM 4.2 / 8 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 3 Oct 2018
Wed, 3 Oct 02:52 UTCM 4.0 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 10 Oct 2018
Wed, 10 Oct 07:06 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 11 Oct 2018
Thu, 11 Oct 12:28 UTCM 4.1 / 7 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 14 Oct 2018
Sun, 14 Oct 01:32 UTCM 4.7 / 16 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 14 Oct 13:51 UTCM 4.5 / 11 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 15 Oct 2018
Mon, 15 Oct 18:14 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 18 Oct 2018
Thu, 18 Oct 03:50 UTCM 4.0 / 13 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 20 Oct 2018
Sat, 20 Oct 13:51 UTCM 4.0 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 24 Oct 2018
Wed, 24 Oct 01:57 UTCM 4.1 / 6 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 24 Oct 01:59 UTCM 4.0 / 6 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 24 Oct 02:25 UTCM 4.1 / 33 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 25 Oct 2018
Thu, 25 Oct 22:31 UTCM 4.3 / 9 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 26 Oct 2018
Fri, 26 Oct 04:57 UTCM 4.0 / 57 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 26 Oct 05:55 UTCM 4.1 / 15 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 26 Oct 09:48 UTCM 4.7 / 10 km - [info]Near Coast of Guerrero, Mexico[Map]GFZ
Fri, 26 Oct 21:51 UTCM 4.2 / 13 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 27 Oct 2018
Sat, 27 Oct 11:20 UTCM 4.2 / 16 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 28 Oct 2018
Sun, 28 Oct 09:33 UTCM 4.1 / 18 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 28 Oct 16:43 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 4 Nov 2018
Sun, 4 Nov 06:29 UTCM 4.0 / 16 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 5 Nov 2018
Mon, 5 Nov 11:06 UTCM 4.1 / 28 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 6 Nov 2018
Tue, 6 Nov 19:17 UTCM 4.0 / 2 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 7 Nov 2018
Wed, 7 Nov 04:31 UTCM 4.3 / 9 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 8 Nov 2018
Thu, 8 Nov 22:03 UTCM 4.3 / 6 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 9 Nov 2018
Fri, 9 Nov 02:44 UTCM 4.3 / 66 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 12 Nov 2018
Mon, 12 Nov 15:54 UTCM 4.7 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 14 Nov 2018
Wed, 14 Nov 04:28 UTCM 4.0 / 16 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 16 Nov 2018
Fri, 16 Nov 11:27 UTCM 4.0 / 3 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 17 Nov 2018
Sat, 17 Nov 00:35 UTCM 4.0 / 12 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 17 Nov 15:15 UTCM 4.3 / 16 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 17 Nov 21:23 UTCM 4.1 / 7 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 19 Nov 2018
Mon, 19 Nov 05:10 UTCM 4.3 / 10 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 21 Nov 2018
Wed, 21 Nov 10:07 UTCM 4.1 / 37 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 22 Nov 2018
Thu, 22 Nov 03:28 UTCM 4.0 / 72 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 22 Nov 07:05 UTCM 4.0 / 11 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 22 Nov 20:45 UTCM 4.4 / 9 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 24 Nov 2018
Sat, 24 Nov 04:05 UTCM 4.2 / 6 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 28 Nov 2018
Wed, 28 Nov 03:27 UTCM 4.0 / 15 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 6 Dec 2018
Thu, 6 Dec 13:52 UTCM 4.1 / 28 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 7 Dec 2018
Fri, 7 Dec 18:28 UTCM 4.0 / 4 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 8 Dec 2018
Sat, 8 Dec 14:40 UTCM 4.0 / 15 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 8 Dec 16:33 UTCM 4.3 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 8 Dec 18:12 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 10 Dec 2018
Mon, 10 Dec 05:17 UTCM 4.0 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 12 Dec 2018
Wed, 12 Dec 01:13 UTCM 4.1 / 19 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: