Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
15-17 Jun 2019: Treasures of the Saronic Gulf - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-30 Aug 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
13-29 Aug 2019: Volcanoes of Java - Java (Indonesia)
14-17 Aug 2019: Krakatau Volcano Special - Krakatau volcano (Indonesia)
1-19 Sep 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.1 earthquake - VERACRUZ, MEXICO on Friday, 19 October 2018

Light mag. 4.1 earthquake  - VERACRUZ, MEXICO on Friday, 19 October 2018
Date & time: Fri, 19 Oct 13:45:01 UTC
Magnitude: 4.1
Depth: 144.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 17.34°N / 94.6°W (Mexico)
Nearest volcano: El Chichón (146 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
Estimated released energy: 8.9*10^10 J (24.8 MWh / 21.3 tons of TNT) [learn more]
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Thu, 25 Oct 2018
Thu, 25 Oct 02:09 UTCM 4.1 / 65 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 29 Oct 2018
Mon, 29 Oct 03:59 UTCM 4.0 / 72 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 30 Oct 2018
Tue, 30 Oct 02:18 UTCM 4.1 / 59 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 30 Oct 18:39 UTCM 4.7 / 118 km - [info]VERACRUZ, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 2 Nov 2018
Fri, 2 Nov 12:53 UTCM 4.0 / 144 km - [info]VERACRUZ, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 9 Nov 2018
Fri, 9 Nov 02:44 UTCM 4.3 / 66 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 10 Nov 2018
Sat, 10 Nov 22:10 UTCM 4.1 / 142 km - [info]VERACRUZ, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 11 Nov 2018
Sun, 11 Nov 14:40 UTCM 4.2 / 26 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 11 Nov 23:57 UTCM 4.1 / 62 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 22 Nov 2018
Thu, 22 Nov 03:28 UTCM 4.0 / 72 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 2 Dec 2018
Sun, 2 Dec 14:02 UTCM 4.2 / 50 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 4 Dec 2018
Tue, 4 Dec 06:31 UTCM 4.2 / 134 km - [info]VERACRUZ, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 11 Dec 2018
Tue, 11 Dec 09:19 UTCM 4.1 / 125 km - [info]VERACRUZ, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 13 Dec 2018
Thu, 13 Dec 00:50 UTCM 4.2 / 112 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 13 Dec 02:32 UTCM 4.3 / 86 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 14 Dec 2018
Fri, 14 Dec 17:01 UTCM 4.2 / 116 km - [info]CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 15 Dec 2018
Sat, 15 Dec 19:26 UTCM 4.3 / 139 km - [info]CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 15 Dec 22:00 UTCM 4.1 / 72 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 16 Dec 2018
Sun, 16 Dec 22:47 UTCM 4.1 / 122 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 19 Dec 2018
Wed, 19 Dec 08:01 UTCM 4.0 / 28 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 22 Dec 2018
Sat, 22 Dec 01:24 UTCM 4.2 / 127 km - [info]VERACRUZ, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 22 Dec 18:00 UTCM 4.2 / 129 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 23 Dec 2018
Sun, 23 Dec 15:41 UTCM 4.1 / 125 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 25 Dec 2018
Tue, 25 Dec 21:24 UTCM 4.1 / 133 km - [info]VERACRUZ, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 26 Dec 2018
Wed, 26 Dec 19:35 UTCM 4.0 / 71 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 26 Dec 22:28 UTCM 4.2 / 127 km - [info]VERACRUZ, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 27 Dec 2018
Thu, 27 Dec 05:12 UTCM 4.2 / 134 km - [info]VERACRUZ, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 27 Dec 09:00 UTCM 4.5 / 104 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 28 Dec 2018
Fri, 28 Dec 00:45 UTCM 4.1 / 25 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 30 Dec 2018
Sun, 30 Dec 14:28 UTCM 4.0 / 126 km - [info]VERACRUZ, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 31 Dec 2018
Mon, 31 Dec 10:13 UTCM 4.5 / 195 km - [info]Chiapas, Mexico[Map]GFZ

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: