Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
30 Mar - 6 Apr 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.0 earthquake - OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO on Friday, 7 December 2018

Light mag. 4.0 earthquake  - OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO on Friday, 7 December 2018
Dec 7 12:40: Magnitude recalculated from 4.5 to 4.0.
Date & time: Fri, 7 Dec 12:14:10 UTC
Magnitude: 4.0
Depth: 10.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 17.06°N / 101.88°W (Mexico)
Nearest volcano: Paricutín (Michoacán-Guanajuato) (273 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Fri, 7 Dec 2018
Fri, 7 Dec 12:14 UTCM 4.0 / 10 km- 71km SSW of Ixtapa, Mexico[Map]USGS

"I felt it" reports:
Zihuat / MMI IV (Light shaking)
Playa la Ropa, Zihuatanejo, Guerrero, MX / MMI IV (Light shaking)
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Fri, 7 Dec 18:05 UTCM 4.1 / 17 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 16 Dec 2018
Sun, 16 Dec 23:07 UTCM 4.3 / 34 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 17 Dec 2018
Mon, 17 Dec 02:19 UTCM 4.1 / 65 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 20 Dec 2018
Thu, 20 Dec 03:12 UTCM 4.1 / 27 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 26 Dec 2018
Wed, 26 Dec 22:43 UTCM 4.0 / 26 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 27 Dec 2018
Thu, 27 Dec 15:37 UTCM 4.4 / 26 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 30 Dec 2018
Sun, 30 Dec 10:08 UTCM 4.5 / 13 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 31 Dec 2018
Mon, 31 Dec 11:31 UTCM 4.2 / 52 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 10 Jan 2019
Thu, 10 Jan 08:31 UTCM 4.2 / 51 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 15 Jan 2019
Tue, 15 Jan 13:58 UTCM 4.1 / 28 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 15 Jan 21:34 UTCM 4.0 / 30 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 16 Jan 2019
Wed, 16 Jan 17:00 UTCM 4.2 / 32 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 22 Jan 2019
Tue, 22 Jan 09:08 UTCM 3.6 / 13 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 27 Jan 2019
Sun, 27 Jan 14:47 UTCM 4.3 / 8 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 28 Jan 2019
Mon, 28 Jan 17:01 UTCM 4.3 / 54 km - [info]OFFSHORE MICHOACAN, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 31 Jan 2019
Thu, 31 Jan 05:26 UTCM 4.3 / 3 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 1 Feb 2019
Fri, 1 Feb 09:53 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 6 Feb 2019
Wed, 6 Feb 22:53 UTCM 4.3 / 63 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 8 Feb 2019
Fri, 8 Feb 11:15 UTCM 4.2 / 46 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 16 Feb 2019
Sat, 16 Feb 09:29 UTCM 4.6 / 10 km - [info]86km SW of La Orilla, Mexico[Map]USGS
Tue, 19 Feb 2019
Tue, 19 Feb 10:27 UTCM 4.2 / 53 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 21 Feb 2019
Thu, 21 Feb 21:10 UTCM 4.1 / 7 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 24 Feb 2019
Sun, 24 Feb 11:01 UTCM 4.1 / 11 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 26 Feb 2019
Tue, 26 Feb 00:59 UTCM 4.1 / 17 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 27 Feb 2019
Wed, 27 Feb 15:27 UTCM 4.4 / 8 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 27 Feb 15:32 UTCM 4.1 / 8 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 28 Feb 2019
Thu, 28 Feb 05:12 UTCM 4.4 / 9 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 28 Feb 05:53 UTCM 4.0 / 4 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 28 Feb 08:55 UTCM 4.1 / 5 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 3 Mar 2019
Sun, 3 Mar 16:34 UTCM 4.2 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 3 Mar 17:26 UTCM 4.2 / 12 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 3 Mar 17:40 UTCM 4.0 / 18 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 9 Mar 2019
Sat, 9 Mar 14:00 UTCM 4.7 / 69 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 9 Mar 19:14 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 10 Mar 2019
Sun, 10 Mar 16:36 UTCM 4.1 / 39 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 20 Mar 2019
Wed, 20 Mar 16:17 UTCM 4.2 / 12 km - [info]Offshore Guerrero, Mexico
I FELT IT
[Map]EMSC
Mon, 25 Mar 2019
Mon, 25 Mar 04:14 UTCM 4.2 / 51 km - [info]Guerrero, Mexico
I FELT IT
[Map]EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: