Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-20 Oct 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake - BANDA SEA on Saturday, 15 December 2018

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake  - BANDA SEA on Saturday, 15 December 2018
Date & time: Sat, 15 Dec 21:05:42 UTC
Magnitude: 4.6
Depth: 153.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 6.81°S / 130.12°E (Indonesia)
Nearest volcano: Serua (58 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Mon, 17 Dec 2018
Mon, 17 Dec 21:29 UTCM 4.7 / 148 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Sat, 22 Dec 2018
Sat, 22 Dec 17:50 UTCM 3.8 / 121 km - [info]KEP. TANIMBAR REGION, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Sat, 22 Dec 23:06 UTCM 4.0 / 124 km - [info]KEPULAUAN BABAR, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 24 Dec 2018
Mon, 24 Dec 08:50 UTCM 4.5 / 167 km - [info]KEPULAUAN BARAT DAYA, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 24 Dec 22:45 UTCM 4.8 / 154 km - [info] BANDA SEA[Map]EMSC
Thu, 27 Dec 2018
Thu, 27 Dec 22:22 UTCM 4.5 / 186 km - [info] BANDA SEA[Map]EMSC
Sat, 29 Dec 2018
Sat, 29 Dec 21:20 UTCM 4.2 / 98 km - [info] BANDA SEA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 31 Dec 2018
Mon, 31 Dec 00:41 UTCM 4.5 / 147 km - [info]KEP. TANIMBAR REGION, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Tue, 1 Jan 2019
Tue, 1 Jan 19:31 UTCM 4.5 / 170 km - [info] BANDA SEA[Map]EMSC
Thu, 3 Jan 2019
Thu, 3 Jan 22:09 UTCM 4.5 / 184 km - [info]KEPULAUAN BABAR, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Fri, 4 Jan 2019
Fri, 4 Jan 06:22 UTCM 5.4 / 130 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Sat, 5 Jan 2019
Sat, 5 Jan 18:27 UTCM 4.6 / 135 km - [info] BANDA SEA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 7 Jan 2019
Mon, 7 Jan 07:41 UTCM 4.9 / 162 km - [info]KEPULAUAN BABAR, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Sat, 12 Jan 2019
Sat, 12 Jan 20:18 UTCM 4.6 / 166 km - [info] BANDA SEA[Map]EMSC
Sat, 12 Jan 21:48 UTCM 4.7 / 105 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Sun, 13 Jan 2019
Sun, 13 Jan 13:31 UTCM 4.5 / 269 km - [info] BANDA SEA[Map]EMSC
Tue, 15 Jan 2019
Tue, 15 Jan 23:40 UTCM 4.9 / 60 km - [info]KEPULAUAN BABAR, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Sat, 19 Jan 2019
Sat, 19 Jan 11:41 UTCM 4.8 / 129 km - [info]KEPULAUAN BARAT DAYA, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Thu, 24 Jan 2019
Thu, 24 Jan 18:45 UTCM 4.3 / 134 km - [info]KEPULAUAN BABAR, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Thu, 24 Jan 19:18 UTCM 4.9 / 162 km - [info] BANDA SEA[Map]EMSC
Sat, 26 Jan 2019
Sat, 26 Jan 17:07 UTCM 5.0 / 111 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Fri, 1 Feb 2019
Fri, 1 Feb 08:00 UTCM 4.4 / 129 km - [info] BANDA SEA[Map]EMSC
Sat, 9 Feb 2019
Sat, 9 Feb 08:51 UTCM 4.4 / 133 km - [info]KEPULAUAN BARAT DAYA, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 18 Feb 2019
Mon, 18 Feb 15:01 UTCM 4.5 / 200 km - [info]BANDA SEA (Indonesia)[Map]EMSC
Tue, 19 Feb 2019
Tue, 19 Feb 16:55 UTCM 5.0 / 83 km - [info]KEP. TANIMBAR REGION, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Wed, 20 Feb 2019
Wed, 20 Feb 06:50 UTCM 4.6 / 206 km - [info]BANDA SEA (Indonesia)[Map]EMSC
Wed, 20 Feb 16:50 UTCM 4.1 / 137 km - [info]KEPULAUAN BABAR, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Sat, 23 Feb 2019
Sat, 23 Feb 09:36 UTCM 4.5 / 260 km - [info]KEPULAUAN BABAR, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Wed, 27 Feb 2019
Wed, 27 Feb 06:09 UTCM 4.5 / 164 km - [info]Banda Sea (Indonesia)[Map]GFZ
Wed, 27 Feb 15:29 UTCM 4.4 / 161 km - [info]Banda Sea (Indonesia)[Map]BMKG
Thu, 28 Feb 2019
Thu, 28 Feb 08:47 UTCM 4.4 / 110 km - [info]BANDA SEA (Indonesia)[Map]EMSC
Fri, 1 Mar 2019
Fri, 1 Mar 10:21 UTCM 4.5 / 171 km - [info]KEPULAUAN BABAR, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Sat, 2 Mar 2019
Sat, 2 Mar 10:25 UTCM 4.5 / 165 km - [info]Banda Sea (Indonesia)[Map]BMKG
Wed, 6 Mar 2019
Wed, 6 Mar 11:51 UTCM 4.7 / 96 km - [info]Banda Sea (Indonesia)[Map]BMKG
Fri, 8 Mar 2019
Fri, 8 Mar 14:55 UTCM 4.5 / 105 km - [info]Banda Sea (Indonesia)[Map]BMKG
Sat, 9 Mar 2019
Sat, 9 Mar 12:33 UTCM 4.7 / 155 km - [info]Banda Sea (Indonesia)[Map]BMKG
Sun, 10 Mar 2019
Sun, 10 Mar 02:18 UTCM 4.9 / 174 km - [info]Banda Sea (Indonesia)[Map]BMKG
Mon, 11 Mar 2019
Mon, 11 Mar 03:17 UTCM 4.5 / 15 km - [info]Banda Sea (Indonesia)[Map]BMKG
Mon, 11 Mar 11:28 UTCM 4.2 / 197 km - [info]Banda Sea (Indonesia)[Map]BMKG
Mon, 11 Mar 13:03 UTCM 5.1 / 73 km - [info]Banda Sea (Indonesia)[Map]GFZ
Wed, 13 Mar 2019
Wed, 13 Mar 11:02 UTCM 4.8 / 105 km - [info]Banda Sea (Indonesia)[Map]BMKG
Fri, 15 Mar 2019
Fri, 15 Mar 19:35 UTCM 4.5 / 123 km - [info]Banda Sea (Indonesia)[Map]GFZ
Sat, 16 Mar 2019
Sat, 16 Mar 14:58 UTCM 5.0 / 172 km - [info]Tanimbar Islands Reg., Indonesia[Map]BMKG
Sat, 16 Mar 17:23 UTCM 4.7 / 130 km - [info]Banda Sea (Indonesia)[Map]BMKG
Thu, 21 Mar 2019
Thu, 21 Mar 15:54 UTCM 4.0 / 317 km - [info]Banda Sea (Indonesia)[Map]BMKG
Mon, 25 Mar 2019
Mon, 25 Mar 03:32 UTCM 4.7 / 141 km - [info]Banda Sea (Indonesia)[Map]BMKG
Tue, 26 Mar 2019
Tue, 26 Mar 17:37 UTCM 4.8 / 118 km - [info]Banda Sea (Indonesia)[Map]GFZ
Fri, 29 Mar 2019
Fri, 29 Mar 08:54 UTCM 4.8 / 56 km - [info]Banda Sea (Indonesia)[Map]BMKG
Sat, 30 Mar 2019
Sat, 30 Mar 12:13 UTCM 4.5 / 85 km - [info]Banda Sea (Indonesia)[Map]EMSC
Mon, 1 Apr 2019
Mon, 1 Apr 14:25 UTCM 5.0 / 72 km - [info]Banda Sea (Indonesia)[Map]BMKG

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: