Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-20 Oct 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake - 159km NW of Tobelo, Indonesia on Tuesday, 2 April 2013

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake  - 159km NW of Tobelo, Indonesia on Tuesday, 2 April 2013
Date & time: Tue, 2 Apr 17:26:38 UTC
Local time at epicenter: Wed, 3 Apr 2013 01:26
Magnitude: 4.6
Depth: 38.4 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 2.6438°N / 126.9°E (Indonesia)
Nearest volcano: Tarakan (137 km)
Primary data source: USGS
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Tue, 2 Apr 2013
Tue, 2 Apr 17:26 UTCM 4.3 / 10 kmNorthern Molucca Sea[Map]GFZ
Tue, 2 Apr 17:26 UTCM 4.6 / 40 km MOLUCCA SEA[Map]EMSC

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Wed, 3 Apr 2013
Wed, 3 Apr 05:26 UTCM 4.2 / 239 km - [info]240 km S 34° E of Sarangani (Davao Del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sat, 6 Apr 2013
Sat, 6 Apr 07:37 UTCM 4.8 / 136 km - [info]62km W of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Wed, 10 Apr 2013
Wed, 10 Apr 19:59 UTCM 5.0 / 66 km - [info] MOLUCCA SEA[Map]EMSC
Thu, 11 Apr 2013
Thu, 11 Apr 06:39 UTCM 4.6 / 65 km - [info]160km NNE of Bitung, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Tue, 16 Apr 2013
Tue, 16 Apr 07:05 UTCM 4.4 / 69 km - [info]4.4 MOLUCCA SEA[Map]EMSC
Thu, 18 Apr 2013
Thu, 18 Apr 13:03 UTCM 4.0 / 7 km - [info]259 km S 22° E of Sarangani (Davao del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sat, 4 May 2013
Sat, 4 May 06:27 UTCM 5.0 / 34.5 km - [info]134km ENE of Bitung, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Mon, 6 May 2013
Mon, 6 May 12:30 UTCM 4.3 / 62 km - [info]4.3 MOLUCCA SEA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 13 May 2013
Mon, 13 May 23:10 UTCM 4.9 / 155.5 km - [info]147km NNE of Laikit, Laikit II (Dimembe), Indonesia[Map]USGS
Thu, 16 May 2013
Thu, 16 May 03:20 UTCM 4.5 / 10 km - [info]Talaud Islands, Indonesia[Map]GFZ
Thu, 16 May 12:42 UTCM 4.4 / 50 km - [info]4.4 KEPULAUAN TALAUD, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Thu, 16 May 13:45 UTCM 4.3 / 46 km - [info]4.3 KEPULAUAN TALAUD, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 20 May 2013
Mon, 20 May 23:07 UTCM 4.7 / 229.4 km - [info]133km NNE of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Fri, 24 May 2013
Fri, 24 May 02:17 UTCM 4.9 / 20 km - [info]4.9 NORTH OF HALMAHERA, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Sat, 8 Jun 2013
Sat, 8 Jun 22:55 UTCM 4.3 / 224 km - [info]4.3 HALMAHERA, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Sun, 16 Jun 2013
Sun, 16 Jun 13:01 UTCM 4.5 / 101.3 km - [info]97km NW of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Wed, 19 Jun 2013
Wed, 19 Jun 05:47 UTCM 4.8 / 190.6 km - [info]52km WNW of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Wed, 19 Jun 19:33 UTCM 5.2 / 214 km - [info]HALMAHERA, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Thu, 20 Jun 2013
Thu, 20 Jun 00:58 UTCM 4.4 / 146.6 km - [info]113km N of Bitung, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Wed, 3 Jul 2013
Wed, 3 Jul 15:59 UTCM 4.7 / 104.6 km - [info]109km NW of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Tue, 9 Jul 2013
Tue, 9 Jul 14:02 UTCM 4.5 / 54 km - [info]4.5 HALMAHERA, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Wed, 17 Jul 2013
Wed, 17 Jul 15:27 UTCM 4.8 / 34.4 km - [info]147km NNE of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Wed, 17 Jul 15:48 UTCM 4.6 / 31.4 km - [info]140km NNE of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Wed, 17 Jul 16:10 UTCM 4.6 / 35 km - [info]150km NNE of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Mon, 22 Jul 2013
Mon, 22 Jul 23:07 UTCM 4.6 / 220.6 km - [info]110km NE of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Tue, 23 Jul 2013
Tue, 23 Jul 02:19 UTCM 4.4 / 173 km - [info]252 km S 06° E of Sarangani (Davao del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Tue, 23 Jul 02:19 UTCM 4.8 / 147.5 km - [info]144km NNE of Bitung, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Wed, 24 Jul 2013
Wed, 24 Jul 07:20 UTCM 3.2 / 58 km - [info]219 km S 12° E of Sarangani (Davao del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Fri, 26 Jul 2013
Fri, 26 Jul 08:37 UTCM 4.7 / 35.6 km - [info]105km NW of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Fri, 26 Jul 08:37 UTCM 4.6 / 10 km - [info]Northern Molucca Sea[Map]BMKG
Mon, 29 Jul 2013
Mon, 29 Jul 04:28 UTCM 4.5 / 63 km - [info]Talaud Islands, Indonesia[Map]BMKG
Wed, 31 Jul 2013
Wed, 31 Jul 21:47 UTCM 4.6 / 221 km - [info]Halmahera, Indonesia[Map]BMKG
Thu, 1 Aug 2013
Thu, 1 Aug 19:23 UTCM 4.2 / 10 km - [info]Halmahera, Indonesia[Map]BMKG
Fri, 2 Aug 2013
Fri, 2 Aug 20:34 UTCM 5.0 / 51 km - [info]North of Halmahera, Indonesia[Map]BMKG
Sat, 3 Aug 2013
Sat, 3 Aug 17:19 UTCM 3.9 / 28 km - [info]Halmahera, Indonesia[Map]BMKG
Sun, 11 Aug 2013
Sun, 11 Aug 13:02 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info]Talaud Islands, Indonesia[Map]BMKG
Fri, 16 Aug 2013
Fri, 16 Aug 12:03 UTCM 4.1 / 32 km - [info]234 km S 19° E of Sarangani (Davao del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sat, 17 Aug 2013
Sat, 17 Aug 03:35 UTCM 4.3 / 154 km - [info]Talaud Islands, Indonesia[Map]BMKG
Sat, 17 Aug 09:10 UTCM 3.7 / 10 km - [info]Northern Molucca Sea[Map]BMKG
Sat, 17 Aug 21:08 UTCM 5.2 / 225.2 km - [info]130km NNE of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Tue, 20 Aug 2013
Tue, 20 Aug 16:16 UTCM 4.2 / 218 km - [info]Halmahera, Indonesia[Map]BMKG
Mon, 26 Aug 2013
Mon, 26 Aug 13:49 UTCM 3.8 / 68 km - [info]Northern Molucca Sea[Map]BMKG
Tue, 27 Aug 2013
Tue, 27 Aug 08:33 UTCM 4.5 / 236.4 km - [info]83km NE of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Thu, 29 Aug 2013
Thu, 29 Aug 15:05 UTCM 4.2 / 10 km - [info]Halmahera, Indonesia[Map]BMKG
Sun, 1 Sep 2013
Sun, 1 Sep 11:50 UTCM 4.2 / 21 km - [info]Northern Molucca Sea[Map]BMKG
Sun, 1 Sep 19:34 UTCM 3.4 / 13 km - [info]Northern Molucca Sea[Map]BMKG
Mon, 9 Sep 2013
Mon, 9 Sep 14:21 UTCM 4.4 / 107 km - [info]Halmahera, Indonesia[Map]BMKG
Fri, 13 Sep 2013
Fri, 13 Sep 18:44 UTCM 4.6 / 116.1 km - [info]67km W of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Sat, 14 Sep 2013
Sat, 14 Sep 05:13 UTCM 4.3 / 55.9 km - [info]60km NE of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Fri, 20 Sep 2013
Fri, 20 Sep 15:08 UTCM 5.4 / 86.9 km - [info]116km WNW of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: