Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-20 Oct 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.8 earthquake - 2km SW of Marihatag, Philippines on Wednesday, 3 April 2013

Light mag. 4.8 earthquake  - 2km SW of Marihatag, Philippines on Wednesday, 3 April 2013
Date & time: Wed, 3 Apr 16:27:27 UTC
Local time at epicenter: Thu, 4 Apr 2013 00:27 (Asia/Manila)
Magnitude: 4.8
Depth: 74.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 8.7809°N / 126.282°E (Philippines)
Nearest volcano: Paco (123 km)
Primary data source: USGS
Estimated released energy: 1*10^12 J (278 MWh / 239 tons of TNT) [learn more]
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationSource
Wed, 3 Apr 2013
Wed, 3 Apr 16:27 UTCM 4.8 / 40 km4.8 MINDANAO, PHILIPPINESEMSC
Wed, 3 Apr 16:27 UTCM 4.8 / 10 kmMindanao, PhilippinesGFZ

"I felt it" reports:
Concepcion, Philippines / MMI IV (Light shaking): not 8 hours ago, just a few mins ago. about 10:30am April 4, 2013
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Thu, 4 Apr 2013
Thu, 4 Apr 04:27 UTCM 4.8 / 63 km - [info]035 km S 76° E of Marihatag (Surigao del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sun, 7 Apr 2013
Sun, 7 Apr 15:35 UTCM 3.6 / 5 km - [info]117 km N 69° E of Bayabas (Surigao del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Tue, 9 Apr 2013
Tue, 9 Apr 18:25 UTCM 3.5 / 14 km - [info]028 km S 20° E of General Luna (Surigao del Norte)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Tue, 9 Apr 21:28 UTCM 3.4 / 13 km - [info]022 km N 17° E of Tandag (Surigao del Norte)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Fri, 12 Apr 2013
Fri, 12 Apr 20:53 UTCM 4.0 / 8 km - [info]010 km S 51° W of Surigao City[Map]PHILVOLCS
Mon, 15 Apr 2013
Mon, 15 Apr 19:40 UTCM 3.1 / 17 km - [info]021 km S 62° E of Cortes (Surigao del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sun, 21 Apr 2013
Sun, 21 Apr 10:39 UTCM 3.4 / 1 km - [info]005 km S 58° W of Kitcharao (Agusan del Norte)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Fri, 26 Apr 2013
Fri, 26 Apr 14:30 UTCM 4.5 / 1 km - [info]080 km N 75° E of Bislig City (Surigao del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Fri, 26 Apr 14:45 UTCM 3.4 / 38 km - [info]026 km N 85° E of Anda (Bohol)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sun, 28 Apr 2013
Sun, 28 Apr 14:04 UTCM 2.6 / 1 km - [info]095 km S 8° W of Tandag (Surigao del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Mon, 6 May 2013
Mon, 6 May 08:39 UTCM 3.4 / 28 km - [info]045 km N 50° E of Cortes (Surigao Del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Tue, 7 May 2013
Tue, 7 May 10:30 UTCM 3.0 / 32 km - [info]055 km N 87° E of Bislig City (Surigao Del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Wed, 8 May 2013
Wed, 8 May 23:19 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info]4.9 PHILIPPINE ISLANDS REGION[Map]EMSC
Mon, 13 May 2013
Mon, 13 May 22:15 UTCM 3.4 / 25 km - [info]047 km S 62° E of General Luna (Surigao Del Norte)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Tue, 21 May 2013
Tue, 21 May 20:22 UTCM 4.4 / 10 km - [info]4.4 PHILIPPINE ISLANDS REGION[Map]EMSC
Thu, 23 May 2013
Thu, 23 May 07:45 UTCM 4.5 / 65.7 km - [info]26km SSE of Union, Philippines[Map]USGS
Fri, 24 May 2013
Fri, 24 May 11:41 UTCM 4.6 / 76.6 km - [info]27km ENE of Cagwait, Philippines[Map]USGS
Thu, 30 May 2013
Thu, 30 May 01:23 UTCM 3.2 / 20 km - [info]020 km N 11° W of Tandag (Surigao del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Tue, 4 Jun 2013
Tue, 4 Jun 21:07 UTCM 3.1 / 8 km - [info]029 km N 87° W of Tandag (Surigao Del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Wed, 5 Jun 2013
Wed, 5 Jun 08:35 UTCM 4.7 / 67 km - [info]4.7 MINDANAO, PHILIPPINES[Map]EMSC
Fri, 7 Jun 2013
Fri, 7 Jun 08:51 UTCM 3.3 / 23 km - [info]041 km N 70° E of Tandag (Surigao del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sun, 9 Jun 2013
Sun, 9 Jun 18:24 UTCM 3.6 / 3 km - [info]085 km S 86° E of Cagwait (Surigao del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Wed, 12 Jun 2013
Wed, 12 Jun 13:09 UTCM 4.3 / 14 km - [info]103 km N 76° E of Tandag (Surigao del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sun, 16 Jun 2013
Sun, 16 Jun 19:35 UTCM 4.0 / 15 km - [info]056 km S 63° E of Tagbilaran City[Map]PHILVOLCS
Mon, 17 Jun 2013
Mon, 17 Jun 13:28 UTCM 3.1 / 13 km - [info]030 km N 43° E of Butuan City[Map]PHILVOLCS
Tue, 18 Jun 2013
Tue, 18 Jun 02:23 UTCM 3.3 / 57 km - [info]015 km S 04° E of Carmen (Surigao del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Wed, 19 Jun 2013
Wed, 19 Jun 08:30 UTCM 4.7 / 57 km - [info]4.7 MINDANAO, PHILIPPINES[Map]EMSC
Tue, 25 Jun 2013
Tue, 25 Jun 12:51 UTCM 2.8 / 3 km - [info]031 km N 59° E of Cortes (Surigao del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Thu, 27 Jun 2013
Thu, 27 Jun 11:18 UTCM 3.3 / 1 km - [info]036km N 24° W of Cagayan de Oro City[Map]PHILVOLCS
Tue, 2 Jul 2013
Tue, 2 Jul 14:26 UTCM 3.2 / 1 km - [info]043 km S 15° E of Surigao City[Map]PHILVOLCS
Tue, 2 Jul 16:05 UTCM 3.5 / 18 km - [info]067 km N 52° E of Banganga (Davao Oriental)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Thu, 4 Jul 2013
Thu, 4 Jul 07:35 UTCM 3.6 / 28 km - [info]111 km N 65° E of Baganga (Davao Oriental)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Thu, 4 Jul 16:32 UTCM 4.8 / 96 km - [info]4.8 MINDANAO, PHILIPPINES[Map]EMSC
Fri, 5 Jul 2013
Fri, 5 Jul 14:16 UTCM 2.9 / 60 km - [info]012 km S 58° W of Esperanza (Agusan del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Mon, 8 Jul 2013
Mon, 8 Jul 04:56 UTCM 4.3 / 15 km - [info]078 km N 71° E of Bayabas (Surigao del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Mon, 8 Jul 16:10 UTCM 2.6 / 2 km - [info]019 km S 36° E of General Luna (Surigao del Norte)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Wed, 10 Jul 2013
Wed, 10 Jul 23:00 UTCM 4.3 / 32 km - [info]027 km S 45° E of Tandag (Surigao del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sat, 13 Jul 2013
Sat, 13 Jul 17:34 UTCM 3.2 / 27 km - [info]011 km N 37° W of Bislig City (Surigao del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sun, 14 Jul 2013
Sun, 14 Jul 05:34 UTCM 3.2 / 27 km - [info]011 km N 37° W of Bislig City (Surigao del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Tue, 23 Jul 2013
Tue, 23 Jul 05:19 UTCM 2.6 / 34 km - [info]028 km N 23° E of Tandag (Surigao del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Wed, 24 Jul 2013
Wed, 24 Jul 03:30 UTCM 3.2 / 32 km - [info]023 km N 77° E of Cateel (Davao Oriental)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Wed, 24 Jul 03:37 UTCM 3.2 / 32 km - [info]023 km N 77° E of Cateel (Davao Oriental)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Thu, 25 Jul 2013
Thu, 25 Jul 10:01 UTCM 3.0 / 3 km - [info]037 km S 80° E of Cortes (Surigao Del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Fri, 26 Jul 2013
Fri, 26 Jul 11:26 UTCM 3.3 / 55 km - [info]053 km S 51° E of Iligan City (Misamis Oriental)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Fri, 26 Jul 13:01 UTCM 3.0 / 37 km - [info]063 km S 39° E of Iligan City (Misamis Oriental)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sat, 27 Jul 2013
Sat, 27 Jul 03:23 UTCM 3.0 / 19 km - [info]024 km S 88° E of Cateel (Davao Oriental)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sun, 28 Jul 2013
Sun, 28 Jul 16:27 UTCM 3.1 / 26 km - [info]007 km N 27° E of Talacogon (Agusan del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Wed, 31 Jul 2013
Wed, 31 Jul 11:50 UTCM 3.0 / 2 km - [info]006km N 25° E of Jabonga (Agusan del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Wed, 31 Jul 14:52 UTCM 4.3 / 22 km - [info]007km N 85° W of Lingig (Surigao del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sun, 4 Aug 2013
Sun, 4 Aug 21:35 UTCM 3.5 / 34 km - [info]004km N 62° W of Cortes (Surigao Del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: