Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
15-17 Jun 2019: Treasures of the Saronic Gulf - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-30 Aug 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
13-29 Aug 2019: Volcanoes of Java - Java (Indonesia)
14-17 Aug 2019: Krakatau Volcano Special - Krakatau volcano (Indonesia)
1-19 Sep 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake - 46km SSE of Ndoi Island, Fiji on Sunday, 7 April 2013

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake  - 46km SSE of Ndoi Island, Fiji on Sunday, 7 April 2013
Date & time: Sun, 7 Apr 16:43:37 UTC
Local time at epicenter: Mon, 8 Apr 2013 04:43
Magnitude: 4.6
Depth: 547.3 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 21.0472°S / 178.562°W (Fiji)
Nearest volcano: Unnamed 21.15°S/175.75°W (292 km)
Primary data source: USGS
Estimated released energy: 5*10^11 J (139 MWh / 120 tons of TNT) [learn more]
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationSource
Sun, 7 Apr 2013
Sun, 7 Apr 16:43 UTCM 4.7 / 548 km4.7 FIJI REGIONEMSC
Sun, 7 Apr 16:43 UTCM 4.7 / 548 kmFiji Islands RegionGFZ

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Tue, 9 Apr 2013
Tue, 9 Apr 11:33 UTCM 4.8 / 529 km - [info]40km SE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Mon, 15 Apr 2013
Mon, 15 Apr 00:06 UTCM 4.6 / 415 km - [info]4.6 FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Fri, 19 Apr 2013
Fri, 19 Apr 08:57 UTCM 4.8 / 575.8 km - [info]31km SSW of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Fri, 17 May 2013
Fri, 17 May 11:14 UTCM 4.7 / 595.5 km - [info]16km SSW of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Sun, 19 May 2013
Sun, 19 May 20:38 UTCM 4.8 / 341.3 km - [info]119km E of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Tue, 28 May 2013
Tue, 28 May 08:45 UTCM 5.0 / 408.4 km - [info]120km SE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Fri, 7 Jun 2013
Fri, 7 Jun 23:57 UTCM 4.8 / 583.7 km - [info]63km SSW of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Tue, 11 Jun 2013
Tue, 11 Jun 13:02 UTCM 4.9 / 559.5 km - [info]42km SSW of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Tue, 11 Jun 22:37 UTCM 4.6 / 566 km - [info]125km SW of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Sat, 15 Jun 2013
Sat, 15 Jun 11:48 UTCM 4.5 / 481.6 km - [info]97km ENE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Sat, 13 Jul 2013
Sat, 13 Jul 00:03 UTCM 4.5 / 498.9 km - [info]84km SSW of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Sat, 20 Jul 2013
Sat, 20 Jul 01:49 UTCM 4.4 / 516.7 km - [info]47km SSE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Thu, 25 Jul 2013
Thu, 25 Jul 04:28 UTCM 4.3 / 596.4 km - [info]124km SW of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Tue, 30 Jul 2013
Tue, 30 Jul 03:00 UTCM 4.7 / 363.3 km - [info]184km SE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Sun, 18 Aug 2013
Sun, 18 Aug 14:49 UTCM 4.4 / 573.7 km - [info]5km S of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Mon, 2 Sep 2013
Mon, 2 Sep 20:02 UTCM 4.8 / 609 km - [info]4.8 FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Tue, 3 Sep 2013
Tue, 3 Sep 06:00 UTCM 4.4 / 593.7 km - [info]FIJI REGION[Map]USGS
Wed, 4 Sep 2013
Wed, 4 Sep 05:47 UTCM 4.7 / 469.6 km - [info]71km ENE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Sat, 7 Sep 2013
Sat, 7 Sep 12:59 UTCM 4.6 / 507.1 km - [info]93km NE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Sat, 7 Sep 15:22 UTCM 4.7 / 516.1 km - [info]61km ENE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Thu, 12 Sep 2013
Thu, 12 Sep 06:18 UTCM 4.5 / 594.8 km - [info]15km N of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Fri, 13 Sep 2013
Fri, 13 Sep 03:56 UTCM 4.6 / 584.3 km - [info]60km E of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Sun, 15 Sep 2013
Sun, 15 Sep 02:05 UTCM 4.3 / 562.9 km - [info]35km S of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Mon, 16 Sep 2013
Mon, 16 Sep 00:14 UTCM 4.3 / 515.2 km - [info]107km ENE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Fri, 20 Sep 2013
Fri, 20 Sep 01:55 UTCM 4.7 / 587.7 km - [info]19km NNE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Thu, 26 Sep 2013
Thu, 26 Sep 11:23 UTCM 4.6 / 604.4 km - [info]140km SSW of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Fri, 27 Sep 2013
Fri, 27 Sep 15:17 UTCM 4.4 / 545.6 km - [info]92km ENE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Mon, 30 Sep 2013
Mon, 30 Sep 10:08 UTCM 4.7 / 627.1 km - [info]65km SW of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Mon, 30 Sep 19:06 UTCM 4.7 / 636 km - [info]4.7 FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Tue, 1 Oct 2013
Tue, 1 Oct 20:03 UTCM 4.6 / 609.4 km - [info]96km SW of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Sat, 5 Oct 2013
Sat, 5 Oct 20:50 UTCM 4.8 / 580.1 km - [info]133km SSW of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Tue, 8 Oct 2013
Tue, 8 Oct 01:39 UTCM 4.7 / 592.1 km - [info]4km NW of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Wed, 9 Oct 2013
Wed, 9 Oct 01:01 UTCM 4.2 / 427.8 km - [info]107km ENE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Tue, 15 Oct 2013
Tue, 15 Oct 03:03 UTCM 4.9 / 412.7 km - [info]156km E of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Sat, 19 Oct 2013
Sat, 19 Oct 04:50 UTCM 4.5 / 587.4 km - [info]26km SE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Mon, 28 Oct 2013
Mon, 28 Oct 11:56 UTCM 4.5 / 514 km - [info]84km E of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Fri, 1 Nov 2013
Fri, 1 Nov 03:24 UTCM 5.1 / 543.2 km - [info]26km ESE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Sun, 24 Nov 2013
Sun, 24 Nov 11:09 UTCM 5.2 / 596.8 km - [info]135km SSW of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Sun, 15 Dec 2013
Sun, 15 Dec 01:14 UTCM 4.8 / 547 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Sun, 15 Dec 06:30 UTCM 4.4 / 395.6 km - [info]122km SE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Mon, 16 Dec 2013
Mon, 16 Dec 06:31 UTCM 4.9 / 539.3 km - [info]82km ENE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Tue, 17 Dec 2013
Tue, 17 Dec 17:02 UTCM 5.4 / 583.8 km - [info]16km S of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Thu, 19 Dec 2013
Thu, 19 Dec 11:09 UTCM 5.3 / 545 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GeoAu
Sat, 28 Dec 2013
Sat, 28 Dec 18:24 UTCM 4.8 / 541.5 km - [info]154km ENE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Tue, 31 Dec 2013
Tue, 31 Dec 10:45 UTCM 4.6 / 570.9 km - [info]52km NE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: