Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
15-17 Jun 2019: Treasures of the Saronic Gulf - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-30 Aug 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
13-29 Aug 2019: Volcanoes of Java - Java (Indonesia)
14-17 Aug 2019: Krakatau Volcano Special - Krakatau volcano (Indonesia)
1-19 Sep 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake - 150km NNE of Tobelo, Indonesia on Wednesday, 17 July 2013

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake  - 150km NNE of Tobelo, Indonesia on Wednesday, 17 July 2013
Date & time: Wed, 17 Jul 16:10:51 UTC
Local time at epicenter: Thursday, July 18, 2013 01:10:51
Magnitude: 4.6
Depth: 35.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 2.97°N / 128.553°E (Indonesia)
Nearest volcano: Tarakan (150 km)
Primary data source: USGS
Estimated released energy: 5*10^11 J (139 MWh / 120 tons of TNT) [learn more]
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationSource
Wed, 17 Jul 2013
Wed, 17 Jul 16:10 UTCM 4.7 / 45 kmNorth of Halmahera, IndonesiaGFZ
Wed, 17 Jul 16:10 UTCM 4.7 / 49 kmHALMAHERA, INDONESIAEMSC

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Mon, 22 Jul 2013
Mon, 22 Jul 23:07 UTCM 4.6 / 220.6 km - [info]110km NE of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Wed, 24 Jul 2013
Wed, 24 Jul 05:30 UTCM 3.4 / 62 km - [info]216 km S 34° E of Sarangani (Davao Del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Fri, 26 Jul 2013
Fri, 26 Jul 08:37 UTCM 4.7 / 35.6 km - [info]105km NW of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Fri, 26 Jul 08:37 UTCM 4.6 / 10 km - [info]Northern Molucca Sea[Map]BMKG
Sun, 28 Jul 2013
Sun, 28 Jul 08:39 UTCM 4.5 / 128 km - [info]Talaud Islands, Indonesia[Map]BMKG
Thu, 1 Aug 2013
Thu, 1 Aug 19:23 UTCM 4.2 / 10 km - [info]Halmahera, Indonesia[Map]BMKG
Fri, 2 Aug 2013
Fri, 2 Aug 20:34 UTCM 5.0 / 51 km - [info]North of Halmahera, Indonesia[Map]BMKG
Mon, 5 Aug 2013
Mon, 5 Aug 06:15 UTCM 4.8 / 43.5 km - [info]237km SE of Sarangani, Philippines[Map]USGS
Fri, 9 Aug 2013
Fri, 9 Aug 20:17 UTCM 4.9 / 43.1 km - [info]227km SE of Sarangani, Philippines[Map]USGS
Wed, 14 Aug 2013
Wed, 14 Aug 14:34 UTCM 4.6 / 48.5 km - [info]128km NE of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Sat, 17 Aug 2013
Sat, 17 Aug 21:08 UTCM 5.2 / 225.2 km - [info]130km NNE of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Tue, 20 Aug 2013
Tue, 20 Aug 16:16 UTCM 4.2 / 218 km - [info]Halmahera, Indonesia[Map]BMKG
Thu, 22 Aug 2013
Thu, 22 Aug 19:00 UTCM 4.9 / 37 km - [info]4.9 KEPULAUAN TALAUD, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 26 Aug 2013
Mon, 26 Aug 13:49 UTCM 3.8 / 68 km - [info]Northern Molucca Sea[Map]BMKG
Tue, 27 Aug 2013
Tue, 27 Aug 08:33 UTCM 4.5 / 236.4 km - [info]83km NE of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Thu, 29 Aug 2013
Thu, 29 Aug 15:05 UTCM 4.2 / 10 km - [info]Halmahera, Indonesia[Map]BMKG
Sun, 1 Sep 2013
Sun, 1 Sep 19:34 UTCM 3.4 / 13 km - [info]Northern Molucca Sea[Map]BMKG
Thu, 12 Sep 2013
Thu, 12 Sep 16:45 UTCM 4.6 / 50.6 km - [info]KEPULAUAN TALAUD, INDONESIA[Map]USGS
Sat, 14 Sep 2013
Sat, 14 Sep 05:13 UTCM 4.3 / 55.9 km - [info]60km NE of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Fri, 20 Sep 2013
Fri, 20 Sep 15:08 UTCM 5.4 / 86.9 km - [info]116km WNW of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Thu, 26 Sep 2013
Thu, 26 Sep 15:48 UTCM 3.6 / 10 km - [info]Northern Molucca Sea[Map]BMKG
Fri, 27 Sep 2013
Fri, 27 Sep 19:34 UTCM 4.4 / 216 km - [info]Halmahera, Indonesia[Map]BMKG
Sat, 28 Sep 2013
Sat, 28 Sep 13:21 UTCM 4.5 / 10 km - [info]Halmahera, Indonesia[Map]BMKG
Wed, 2 Oct 2013
Wed, 2 Oct 18:28 UTCM 4.0 / 44 km - [info]Talaud Islands, Indonesia[Map]BMKG
Wed, 2 Oct 19:39 UTCM 4.6 / 92 km - [info]4.6 MOLUCCA SEA[Map]EMSC
Wed, 2 Oct 22:12 UTCM 3.9 / 29 km - [info]Talaud Islands, Indonesia[Map]BMKG
Thu, 3 Oct 2013
Thu, 3 Oct 01:10 UTCM 4.4 / 54 km - [info]Talaud Islands, Indonesia[Map]GFZ
Sun, 6 Oct 2013
Sun, 6 Oct 05:34 UTCM 3.6 / 57 km - [info]326 km S51° E of Sarangani (Davao del Sur)[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sun, 6 Oct 05:34 UTCM 4.5 / 125.6 km - [info]237km N of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Mon, 7 Oct 2013
Mon, 7 Oct 19:07 UTCM 3.3 / 120 km - [info]Northern Molucca Sea[Map]BMKG
Sat, 26 Oct 2013
Sat, 26 Oct 15:52 UTCM 4.5 / 73 km - [info]4.5 MOLUCCA SEA[Map]EMSC
Sun, 27 Oct 2013
Sun, 27 Oct 09:18 UTCM 4.5 / 66.1 km - [info]138km WNW of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Wed, 6 Nov 2013
Wed, 6 Nov 12:36 UTCM 4.3 / 10 km - [info]4.3 HALMAHERA, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Sat, 9 Nov 2013
Sat, 9 Nov 07:48 UTCM 4.6 / 23.7 km - [info]138km NW of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Mon, 18 Nov 2013
Mon, 18 Nov 04:46 UTCM 4.4 / 224 km - [info]110km NE of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Tue, 19 Nov 2013
Tue, 19 Nov 13:32 UTCM 6.1 / 38.8 km - [info]117km NNE of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Fri, 22 Nov 2013
Fri, 22 Nov 18:39 UTCM 4.4 / 53 km - [info]Halmahera, Indonesia[Map]GFZ
Tue, 3 Dec 2013
Tue, 3 Dec 03:41 UTCM 4.3 / 102 km - [info]4.3 MOLUCCA SEA[Map]EMSC
Tue, 3 Dec 14:20 UTCM 4.5 / 54 km - [info]4.5 KEPULAUAN TALAUD, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Tue, 3 Dec 15:31 UTCM 4.8 / 10 km - [info]HALMAHERA, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Tue, 3 Dec 15:36 UTCM 5.1 / 61.9 km - [info]223km SE of Sarangani, Philippines[Map]USGS
Wed, 4 Dec 2013
Wed, 4 Dec 00:48 UTCM 4.7 / 23.6 km - [info]100km NNE of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Thu, 5 Dec 2013
Thu, 5 Dec 01:29 UTCM 4.4 / 10 km - [info]4.4 HALMAHERA, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Sun, 8 Dec 2013
Sun, 8 Dec 07:10 UTCM 4.5 / 45.5 km - [info]105km ENE of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Mon, 9 Dec 2013
Mon, 9 Dec 01:29 UTCM 4.5 / 187 km - [info]4.5 NORTH OF HALMAHERA, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 9 Dec 08:47 UTCM 5.6 / 52 km - [info]115km NNE of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Wed, 11 Dec 2013
Wed, 11 Dec 05:59 UTCM 4.5 / 72 km - [info]4.5 MOLUCCA SEA[Map]EMSC
Tue, 17 Dec 2013
Tue, 17 Dec 22:03 UTCM 4.5 / 60 km - [info]4.5 KEPULAUAN TALAUD, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Tue, 17 Dec 22:43 UTCM 4.6 / 35 km - [info]231km NNW of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Thu, 19 Dec 2013
Thu, 19 Dec 00:22 UTCM 4.2 / 53.6 km - [info]231km NNW of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: