Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
15-17 Jun 2019: Treasures of the Saronic Gulf - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-30 Aug 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
13-29 Aug 2019: Volcanoes of Java - Java (Indonesia)
14-17 Aug 2019: Krakatau Volcano Special - Krakatau volcano (Indonesia)
1-19 Sep 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.7 earthquake - 61km ENE of Ndoi Island, Fiji on Saturday, 7 September 2013

Light mag. 4.7 earthquake  - 61km ENE of Ndoi Island, Fiji on Saturday, 7 September 2013
Date & time: Sat, 7 Sep 15:22:29 UTC
Local time at epicenter: Saturday, September 07, 2013 03:22:29
Magnitude: 4.7
Depth: 516.1 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 20.3777°S / 178.1836°W (Fiji)
Nearest volcano: Unnamed 21.15°S/175.75°W (267 km)
Primary data source: USGS
Estimated released energy: 7.1*10^11 J (197 MWh / 169 tons of TNT) [learn more]
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationSource
Sat, 7 Sep 2013
Sat, 7 Sep 15:22 UTCM 4.9 / 514 kmFiji Islands RegionGFZ
Sat, 7 Sep 15:22 UTCM 4.9 / 516 km FIJI REGIONEMSC

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Thu, 12 Sep 2013
Thu, 12 Sep 06:18 UTCM 4.5 / 594.8 km - [info]15km N of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Fri, 13 Sep 2013
Fri, 13 Sep 03:56 UTCM 4.6 / 584.3 km - [info]60km E of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Sun, 15 Sep 2013
Sun, 15 Sep 02:05 UTCM 4.3 / 562.9 km - [info]35km S of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Mon, 16 Sep 2013
Mon, 16 Sep 00:14 UTCM 4.3 / 515.2 km - [info]107km ENE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Fri, 20 Sep 2013
Fri, 20 Sep 01:55 UTCM 4.7 / 587.7 km - [info]19km NNE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Fri, 27 Sep 2013
Fri, 27 Sep 15:17 UTCM 4.4 / 545.6 km - [info]92km ENE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Mon, 30 Sep 2013
Mon, 30 Sep 10:08 UTCM 4.7 / 627.1 km - [info]65km SW of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Mon, 30 Sep 19:06 UTCM 4.7 / 636 km - [info]4.7 FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Tue, 1 Oct 2013
Tue, 1 Oct 20:03 UTCM 4.6 / 609.4 km - [info]96km SW of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Sat, 5 Oct 2013
Sat, 5 Oct 05:29 UTCM 4.5 / 581.4 km - [info]87km NNE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Tue, 8 Oct 2013
Tue, 8 Oct 01:39 UTCM 4.7 / 592.1 km - [info]4km NW of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Wed, 9 Oct 2013
Wed, 9 Oct 01:01 UTCM 4.2 / 427.8 km - [info]107km ENE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Tue, 15 Oct 2013
Tue, 15 Oct 03:03 UTCM 4.9 / 412.7 km - [info]156km E of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Fri, 18 Oct 2013
Fri, 18 Oct 18:01 UTCM 4.9 / 302.7 km - [info]221km NW of Nuku`alofa, Tonga[Map]USGS
Sat, 19 Oct 2013
Sat, 19 Oct 04:50 UTCM 4.5 / 587.4 km - [info]26km SE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Mon, 28 Oct 2013
Mon, 28 Oct 11:56 UTCM 4.5 / 514 km - [info]84km E of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Tue, 29 Oct 2013
Tue, 29 Oct 11:01 UTCM 5.1 / 571.3 km - [info]81km NNE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Fri, 1 Nov 2013
Fri, 1 Nov 03:24 UTCM 5.1 / 543.2 km - [info]26km ESE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Thu, 5 Dec 2013
Thu, 5 Dec 13:45 UTCM 4.5 / 441 km - [info]4.5 FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Sat, 14 Dec 2013
Sat, 14 Dec 05:23 UTCM 4.3 / 353 km - [info]213km ENE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Sun, 15 Dec 2013
Sun, 15 Dec 01:14 UTCM 4.8 / 547 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Mon, 16 Dec 2013
Mon, 16 Dec 06:31 UTCM 4.9 / 539.3 km - [info]82km ENE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Tue, 17 Dec 2013
Tue, 17 Dec 17:02 UTCM 5.4 / 583.8 km - [info]16km S of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Thu, 19 Dec 2013
Thu, 19 Dec 11:09 UTCM 5.3 / 545 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GeoAu
Sat, 28 Dec 2013
Sat, 28 Dec 18:24 UTCM 4.8 / 541.5 km - [info]154km ENE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Tue, 31 Dec 2013
Tue, 31 Dec 10:45 UTCM 4.6 / 570.9 km - [info]52km NE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: