Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-30 Aug 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
13-29 Aug 2019: Volcanoes of Java - Java (Indonesia)
14-17 Aug 2019: Krakatau Volcano Special - Krakatau volcano (Indonesia)
1-19 Sep 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake - NEW IRELAND REGION, P.N.G. on Saturday, 21 June 2014

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake  - NEW IRELAND REGION, P.N.G. on Saturday, 21 June 2014
Date & time: Sat, 21 Jun 09:24:41 UTC
Magnitude: 4.6
Depth: 24.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 5.64°S / 153.01°E (Papua New Guinea)
Nearest volcano: Rabaul (Tavurvur) (177 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
Estimated released energy: 5*10^11 J (139 MWh / 120 tons of TNT) [learn more]
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationSource
Sat, 21 Jun 2014
Sat, 21 Jun 09:24 UTCM 4.6 / 24.5 km129km S of Taron, Papua New GuineaUSGS

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Mon, 23 Jun 2014
Mon, 23 Jun 15:38 UTCM 4.8 / 10 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Mon, 23 Jun 16:25 UTCM 4.8 / 38.1 km - [info]98km S of Taron, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Fri, 4 Jul 2014
Fri, 4 Jul 15:00 UTCM 6.2 / 10 km - [info][Map]GEONET (NZ)
Fri, 4 Jul 15:00 UTCM 6.4 / 35 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Sat, 5 Jul 2014
Sat, 5 Jul 01:16 UTCM 5.0 / 33 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Sat, 5 Jul 03:34 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Thu, 17 Jul 2014
Thu, 17 Jul 18:08 UTCM 5.2 / 55 km - [info]Solomon Islands[Map]GFZ
Fri, 18 Jul 2014
Fri, 18 Jul 17:49 UTCM 4.7 / 70.2 km - [info]109km SSW of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Mon, 21 Jul 2014
Mon, 21 Jul 06:01 UTCM 4.9 / 26.9 km - [info]207km S of Taron, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Wed, 23 Jul 2014
Wed, 23 Jul 17:23 UTCM 4.8 / 15 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Sat, 26 Jul 2014
Sat, 26 Jul 01:26 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info]4.9 NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Sat, 2 Aug 2014
Sat, 2 Aug 09:52 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Thu, 7 Aug 2014
Thu, 7 Aug 20:20 UTCM 4.8 / 94 km - [info]Solomon Islands[Map]GFZ
Sun, 10 Aug 2014
Sun, 10 Aug 11:40 UTCM 4.8 / 10 km - [info]198km S of Taron, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Tue, 19 Aug 2014
Tue, 19 Aug 13:43 UTCM 4.7 / 58.7 km - [info]75km SSW of Taron, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Fri, 22 Aug 2014
Fri, 22 Aug 01:47 UTCM 4.4 / 51.9 km - [info]135km ESE of Kimbe, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Mon, 25 Aug 2014
Mon, 25 Aug 00:04 UTCM 4.7 / 104.1 km - [info]112km SW of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Fri, 29 Aug 2014
Fri, 29 Aug 13:14 UTCM 5.3 / 62 km - [info]Bougainville Island Region[Map]GeoAu
Fri, 29 Aug 13:14 UTCM 5.3 / 74 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Mon, 15 Sep 2014
Mon, 15 Sep 10:52 UTCM 4.9 / 65.5 km - [info]43km ESE of Taron, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Tue, 16 Sep 2014
Tue, 16 Sep 02:35 UTCM 5.5 / 10 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 23 Sep 2014
Tue, 23 Sep 15:23 UTCM 5.3 / 33 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Fri, 3 Oct 2014
Fri, 3 Oct 21:22 UTCM 4.7 / 54.7 km - [info]119km S of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Fri, 3 Oct 21:25 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Fri, 3 Oct 22:40 UTCM 4.6 / 69.1 km - [info]116km SSW of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sun, 5 Oct 2014
Sun, 5 Oct 05:16 UTCM 4.7 / 61.8 km - [info]117km SSW of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Fri, 10 Oct 2014
Fri, 10 Oct 16:22 UTCM 4.8 / 162.5 km - [info]145km WNW of Arawa, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sun, 12 Oct 2014 (8 earthquakes)
Sun, 12 Oct 04:30 UTCM 4.6 / 42.4 km - [info]111km SSW of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sun, 12 Oct 19:03 UTCM 5.2 / 48 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Sun, 12 Oct 19:34 UTCM 5.1 / 42.3 km - [info]113km S of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sun, 12 Oct 19:41 UTCM 5.2 / 49.5 km - [info]118km S of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sun, 12 Oct 19:54 UTCM 5.1 / 54.3 km - [info]114km S of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sun, 12 Oct 20:58 UTCM 4.9 / 72 km - [info]New Britain Region, PNG[Map]GeoAu
Sun, 12 Oct 21:50 UTCM 4.7 / 53 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Sun, 12 Oct 23:39 UTCM 5.0 / 48 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Mon, 13 Oct 2014
Mon, 13 Oct 10:20 UTCM 4.7 / 60 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Sat, 18 Oct 2014
Sat, 18 Oct 16:42 UTCM 4.7 / 78 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Wed, 22 Oct 2014
Wed, 22 Oct 20:07 UTCM 4.3 / 77 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Sat, 25 Oct 2014
Sat, 25 Oct 20:49 UTCM 4.7 / 62.7 km - [info]138km SSW of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sun, 26 Oct 2014
Sun, 26 Oct 19:47 UTCM 4.9 / 60 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 28 Oct 2014
Tue, 28 Oct 03:47 UTCM 4.3 / 78 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Wed, 5 Nov 2014
Wed, 5 Nov 23:28 UTCM 5.2 / 71 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Sat, 22 Nov 2014
Sat, 22 Nov 09:37 UTCM 4.7 / 216 km - [info] BOUGAINVILLE REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Mon, 24 Nov 2014
Mon, 24 Nov 21:02 UTCM 5.6 / 179 km - [info]Solomon Islands[Map]GFZ
Mon, 24 Nov 22:26 UTCM 4.8 / 94 km - [info] NEW IRELAND REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Wed, 26 Nov 2014
Wed, 26 Nov 16:40 UTCM 5.1 / 42 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Fri, 28 Nov 2014
Fri, 28 Nov 15:03 UTCM 4.9 / 152 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Thu, 4 Dec 2014
Thu, 4 Dec 02:19 UTCM 4.7 / 80.1 km - [info]68km W of Panguna, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sun, 7 Dec 2014
Sun, 7 Dec 01:22 UTCM 6.5 / 15 km - [info]Solomon Islands[Map]GFZ
Sun, 7 Dec 01:40 UTCM 5.3 / 25 km - [info]Solomon Islands[Map]GFZ

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: