Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
30 Mar - 6 Apr 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.7 earthquake - 4.7 FIJI REGION on Tuesday, 12 August 2014

Light mag. 4.7 earthquake  - 4.7  FIJI REGION on Tuesday, 12 August 2014
Date & time: Tue, 12 Aug 11:06:54 UTC
Magnitude: 4.7
Depth: 290.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 20.59°S / 177.05°W (Fiji)
Nearest volcano: Unnamed 21.15°S/175.75°W (149 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Tue, 12 Aug 2014
Tue, 12 Aug 11:06 UTCM 4.7 / 289 kmFiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Tue, 12 Aug 11:06 UTCM 4.5 / 266.6 km162km E of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Thu, 21 Aug 2014
Thu, 21 Aug 10:39 UTCM 4.5 / 528.8 km - [info]42km S of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Mon, 25 Aug 2014
Mon, 25 Aug 22:47 UTCM 4.5 / 183 km - [info] TONGA[Map]EMSC
Thu, 4 Sep 2014
Thu, 4 Sep 17:11 UTCM 4.9 / 123 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Sun, 7 Sep 2014
Sun, 7 Sep 04:35 UTCM 4.6 / 560.5 km - [info]93km SSW of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Mon, 8 Sep 2014
Mon, 8 Sep 05:02 UTCM 4.4 / 574 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Mon, 8 Sep 21:36 UTCM 5.0 / 486 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Tue, 16 Sep 2014
Tue, 16 Sep 01:08 UTCM 5.0 / 618 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Fri, 19 Sep 2014
Fri, 19 Sep 18:15 UTCM 4.7 / 519 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Tue, 23 Sep 2014
Tue, 23 Sep 04:12 UTCM 4.6 / 655 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Fri, 26 Sep 2014
Fri, 26 Sep 10:21 UTCM 4.7 / 677 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Tue, 30 Sep 2014
Tue, 30 Sep 10:39 UTCM 4.8 / 215 km - [info] TONGA[Map]EMSC
Sun, 5 Oct 2014
Sun, 5 Oct 17:16 UTCM 5.4 / 2 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Sat, 11 Oct 2014
Sat, 11 Oct 07:28 UTCM 4.6 / 551.3 km - [info]60km S of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Sat, 11 Oct 07:44 UTCM 4.5 / 587.1 km - [info]90km NE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Mon, 13 Oct 2014
Mon, 13 Oct 09:40 UTCM 4.8 / 599 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Sat, 18 Oct 2014
Sat, 18 Oct 18:17 UTCM 4.4 / 638 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Fri, 31 Oct 2014
Fri, 31 Oct 09:07 UTCM 4.4 / 380.8 km - [info]126km SE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Sat, 1 Nov 2014
Sat, 1 Nov 18:57 UTCM 7.0 / 409 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Sat, 1 Nov 18:57 UTCM 6.2 / 467.4 km - [info]New Zealand[Map]GEONET (NZ)
Tue, 4 Nov 2014
Tue, 4 Nov 01:08 UTCM 4.7 / 432.5 km - [info]136km NE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Sun, 9 Nov 2014
Sun, 9 Nov 16:04 UTCM 4.6 / 533.3 km - [info]86km S of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Tue, 25 Nov 2014
Tue, 25 Nov 23:37 UTCM 4.5 / 544.6 km - [info]167km NE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Thu, 27 Nov 2014
Thu, 27 Nov 15:05 UTCM 5.1 / 111 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Tue, 2 Dec 2014
Tue, 2 Dec 06:16 UTCM 4.5 / 547 km - [info]32km SE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Thu, 11 Dec 2014
Thu, 11 Dec 22:27 UTCM 5.6 / 600 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Sat, 13 Dec 2014
Sat, 13 Dec 21:51 UTCM 4.5 / 489 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Sun, 14 Dec 2014
Sun, 14 Dec 12:41 UTCM 5.4 / 239 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Mon, 15 Dec 2014
Mon, 15 Dec 02:22 UTCM 4.7 / 531 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Mon, 15 Dec 05:53 UTCM 4.9 / 217 km - [info] TONGA[Map]EMSC
Tue, 16 Dec 2014
Tue, 16 Dec 20:44 UTCM 4.8 / 614 km - [info]4.8 FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Thu, 18 Dec 2014
Thu, 18 Dec 07:47 UTCM 5.1 / 242 km - [info] TONGA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 29 Dec 2014
Mon, 29 Dec 23:37 UTCM 5.2 / 500 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Tue, 30 Dec 2014
Tue, 30 Dec 21:17 UTCM 6.1 / 598.2 km - [info]37km NNE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Wed, 31 Dec 2014
Wed, 31 Dec 00:06 UTCM 5.2 / 600 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Wed, 31 Dec 00:06 UTCM 5.9 / 600 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Wed, 31 Dec 02:59 UTCM 4.7 / 593.8 km - [info]36km NNE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: