Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
30 Mar - 6 Apr 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.0 earthquake - 138 km al SUROESTE de CIHUATLAN, JAL on Thursday, 12 February 2015

Light mag. 4.0 earthquake  - 138 km al SUROESTE de  CIHUATLAN, JAL on Thursday, 12 February 2015
Date & time: Thu, 12 Feb 17:40:10 UTC
Magnitude: 4.0
Depth: 9.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 18.8°N / 105.79°W (Mexico)
Nearest volcano: Mascota (226 km)
Primary data source: SSN
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
Cehuatlan / MMI IV (Light shaking)
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Sat, 14 Feb 2015
Sat, 14 Feb 07:06 UTCM 3.6 / 25 km - [info]36 km al SUR de CIHUATLAN, JAL[Map]SSN
Sat, 14 Feb 12:31 UTCM 3.1 / 82 km - [info]19 km al SURESTE de EL GRULLO, JAL[Map]SSN
Sat, 14 Feb 19:03 UTCM 3.5 / 10 km - [info]31 km al NORESTE de MANZANILLO, COL[Map]SSN
Sun, 15 Feb 2015
Sun, 15 Feb 19:08 UTCM 3.2 / 16 km - [info]55 km al SUROESTE de CD DE ARMERIA, COL[Map]SSN
Thu, 19 Feb 2015
Thu, 19 Feb 19:15 UTCM 3.6 / 16 km - [info]138 km al OESTE de CIHUATLAN, JAL[Map]SSN
Sun, 22 Feb 2015
Sun, 22 Feb 11:27 UTCM 3.7 / 46 km - [info]15 km al ESTE de EL GRULLO, JAL[Map]SSN
Sun, 22 Feb 14:23 UTCM 6.2 / 10 km - [info]Off Coast of Jalisco, Mexico[Map]GFZ
Sun, 22 Feb 14:36 UTCM 5.3 / 6 km - [info]228 km al OESTE de CIHUATLAN, JAL[Map]SSN
Tue, 24 Feb 2015
Tue, 24 Feb 22:56 UTCM 3.5 / 10 km - [info]134 km al OESTE de CIHUATLAN, JAL[Map]SSN
Thu, 26 Feb 2015
Thu, 26 Feb 18:51 UTCM 3.6 / 5 km - [info]36 km al SUROESTE de CD DE ARMERIA, COL[Map]SSN
Sun, 1 Mar 2015
Sun, 1 Mar 18:07 UTCM 3.8 / 1 km - [info]6 km al NORESTE de MANZANILLO, COL[Map]SSN
Wed, 4 Mar 2015
Wed, 4 Mar 04:19 UTCM 3.8 / 16 km - [info]83 km al SUR de TECOMAN, COL[Map]SSN
Mon, 9 Mar 2015
Mon, 9 Mar 10:33 UTCM 3.6 / 26 km - [info]27 km al NOROESTE de COQUIMATLAN, COL[Map]SSN
Tue, 10 Mar 2015
Tue, 10 Mar 03:15 UTCM 3.8 / 14 km - [info]36 km al SUROESTE de MANZANILLO, COL[Map]SSN
Tue, 10 Mar 22:21 UTCM 3.7 / 16 km - [info]119 km al SUROESTE de MANZANILLO, COL[Map]SSN
Wed, 11 Mar 2015
Wed, 11 Mar 17:39 UTCM 3.0 / 13 km - [info]7 km al NORESTE de TECOMAN, COL[Map]SSN
Fri, 13 Mar 2015
Fri, 13 Mar 05:56 UTCM 3.4 / 15 km - [info]37 km al SURESTE de CASIMIRO CASTILLO, JAL[Map]SSN
Sun, 15 Mar 2015
Sun, 15 Mar 19:24 UTCM 3.4 / 33 km - [info]13 km al SURESTE de CIHUATLAN, JAL[Map]SSN
Wed, 18 Mar 2015
Wed, 18 Mar 00:56 UTCM 3.8 / 11 km - [info]62 km al SUR de TECOMAN, COL[Map]SSN
Wed, 18 Mar 07:11 UTCM 3.4 / 13 km - [info]56 km al SUR de TECOMAN, COL[Map]SSN
Mon, 23 Mar 2015
Mon, 23 Mar 06:43 UTCM 3.7 / 29 km - [info]25 km al NOROESTE de VILLA DE ALVAREZ, COL[Map]SSN
Wed, 25 Mar 2015
Wed, 25 Mar 00:29 UTCM 3.2 / 10 km - [info]28 km al OESTE de CIHUATLAN, JAL[Map]SSN
Fri, 27 Mar 2015
Fri, 27 Mar 22:02 UTCM 4.1 / 56 km - [info]43 km al NOROESTE de CIHUATLAN, JAL[Map]SSN
Wed, 1 Apr 2015
Wed, 1 Apr 22:41 UTCM 3.4 / 22 km - [info]34 km al SUROESTE de CD DE ARMERIA, COL[Map]SSN
Thu, 2 Apr 2015
Thu, 2 Apr 15:25 UTCM 2.9 / 13 km - [info]36 km al NOROESTE de COQUIMATLAN, COL[Map]SSN
Thu, 2 Apr 18:13 UTCM 3.4 / 10 km - [info]15 km al NOROESTE de COQUIMATLAN, COL[Map]SSN
Sun, 5 Apr 2015
Sun, 5 Apr 17:17 UTCM 3.8 / 73 km - [info]7 km al OESTE de COQUIMATLAN, COL[Map]SSN
Tue, 7 Apr 2015
Tue, 7 Apr 18:06 UTCM 3.8 / 15 km - [info]24 km al SUROESTE de MANZANILLO, COL[Map]SSN
Wed, 8 Apr 2015
Wed, 8 Apr 11:30 UTCM 3.5 / 9 km - [info]36 km al SURESTE de EL GRULLO, JAL[Map]SSN
Thu, 9 Apr 2015
Thu, 9 Apr 13:38 UTCM 3.4 / 42 km - [info]18 km al NOROESTE de VILLA DE ALVAREZ, COL[Map]SSN
Sat, 11 Apr 2015
Sat, 11 Apr 16:53 UTCM 3.7 / 56 km - [info]10 km al ESTE de CIHUATLAN, JAL[Map]SSN
Wed, 15 Apr 2015
Wed, 15 Apr 19:46 UTCM 3.8 / 10 km - [info]86 km al OESTE de CIHUATLAN, JAL[Map]SSN
Sun, 19 Apr 2015
Sun, 19 Apr 15:34 UTCM 4.0 / 66 km - [info]17 km al SUR de CASIMIRO CASTILLO, JAL[Map]SSN
Wed, 22 Apr 2015
Wed, 22 Apr 07:24 UTCM 3.7 / 5 km - [info]11 km al SURESTE de MANZANILLO, COL[Map]SSN
Thu, 23 Apr 2015
Thu, 23 Apr 02:29 UTCM 3.6 / 6 km - [info]18 km al NORESTE de MANZANILLO, COL[Map]SSN
Mon, 27 Apr 2015
Mon, 27 Apr 01:01 UTCM 3.5 / 9 km - [info]78 km al OESTE de CIHUATLAN, JAL[Map]SSN
Mon, 27 Apr 19:46 UTCM 3.3 / 8 km - [info]55 km al OESTE de CIHUATLAN, JAL[Map]SSN
Wed, 29 Apr 2015
Wed, 29 Apr 17:45 UTCM 3.3 / 70 km - [info]32 km al NORESTE de MANZANILLO, COL[Map]SSN
Thu, 30 Apr 2015
Thu, 30 Apr 17:49 UTCM 3.7 / 36 km - [info]29 km al NOROESTE de CIHUATLAN, JAL[Map]SSN
Mon, 4 May 2015
Mon, 4 May 11:19 UTCM 3.8 / 5 km - [info]69 km al OESTE de CIHUATLAN, JAL[Map]SSN
Thu, 14 May 2015
Thu, 14 May 08:52 UTCM 3.9 / 5 km - [info]22 km al NOROESTE de COQUIMATLAN, COL[Map]SSN
Fri, 15 May 2015
Fri, 15 May 07:23 UTCM 4.2 / 27 km - [info]32 km al NOROESTE de CIHUATLAN, JAL[Map]SSN
Sat, 16 May 2015
Sat, 16 May 04:14 UTCM 3.7 / 9 km - [info]16 km al ESTE de CASIMIRO CASTILLO, JAL[Map]SSN
Sat, 16 May 17:51 UTCM 3.7 / 30 km - [info]103 km al NOROESTE de CIHUATLAN, JAL[Map]SSN
Sun, 17 May 2015
Sun, 17 May 20:18 UTCM 3.7 / 18 km - [info]61 km al NOROESTE de CIHUATLAN, JAL[Map]SSN
Fri, 22 May 2015
Fri, 22 May 23:54 UTCM 3.7 / 99 km - [info]36 km al SURESTE de EL GRULLO, JAL[Map]SSN
Sun, 24 May 2015
Sun, 24 May 17:38 UTCM 3.7 / 18 km - [info]71 km al NOROESTE de CIHUATLAN, JAL[Map]SSN
Mon, 25 May 2015
Mon, 25 May 21:47 UTCM 3.5 / 2 km - [info]17 km al ESTE de MANZANILLO, COL[Map]SSN
Tue, 26 May 2015
Tue, 26 May 09:40 UTCM 3.6 / 5 km - [info]17 km al ESTE de MANZANILLO, COL[Map]SSN
Tue, 26 May 22:11 UTCM 3.8 / 16 km - [info]46 km al SUROESTE de CIHUATLAN, JAL[Map]SSN

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: