Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours:
14-29 Sep 2018: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
26 Sep - 1 Oct 2018: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
26 Sep - 10 Oct 2018: Volcanoes and Cultures - Adventures in the South Sea - Vanuatu (South Sea)
30 Sep - 7 Oct 2018: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
30 Sep - 10 Oct 2018: The Volcanoes of Ambrym - the Grand Traverse - Vanuatu (South Sea)
6-13 Oct 2018: Pearl of the Aegean - Santorini - Santorini Island, Greece
13-20 Oct 2018: Almonds, olives and volcanoes - Nisyros Island, Greece
13-29 Nov 2018: Volcano Special: Ibu - Dukono - Lokon - Halmahera (Indonesia)
17-30 Nov 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
8-21 Dec 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake - 112km SSE of Kuril\'sk, Russia on Wednesday, 25 February 2015

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake  - 112km SSE of Kuril\'sk, Russia on Wednesday, 25 February 2015
Date & time: Wed, 25 Feb 02:19:27 UTC
Local time at epicenter: Wednesday, February 25, 2015 12:19:27
Magnitude: 4.6
Depth: 59.8 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 44.3857°N / 148.6559°E [Map]
Nearest volcano: Grozny (92 km)
Primary data source: USGS
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Wed, 25 Feb
Wed, 25 Feb 02:19 UTCM 4.6 / 49 km KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Thu, 26 Feb
Thu, 26 Feb 07:26 UTCM 4.6 / 30 km - [info] (153 km) EAST OF KURIL ISLANDS
[Map]
EMSC
Mon, 9 Mar
Mon, 9 Mar 16:53 UTCM 3.9 / 140 km - [info]unnamed (25 km) KURIL ISLANDS
[Map]
EMSC
Tue, 17 Mar
Tue, 17 Mar 15:48 UTCM 4.7 / 10 km - [info]Lvinaya Past (6 km) KURIL ISLANDS
[Map]
EMSC
Thu, 26 Mar
Thu, 26 Mar 15:47 UTCM 3.9 / 60 km - [info] (77 km) KURIL ISLANDS
[Map]
EMSC
Fri, 10 Apr
Fri, 10 Apr 10:20 UTCM 3.9 / 33 km - [info] (110 km) EAST OF KURIL ISLANDS
[Map]
EMSC
Sat, 18 Apr
Sat, 18 Apr 05:01 UTCM 4.3 / 51 km - [info] (133 km) KURIL ISLANDS
[Map]
EMSC
Wed, 22 Apr
Wed, 22 Apr 04:00 UTCM 3.8 / 50 km - [info] (54 km) KURIL ISLANDS
[Map]
EMSC
Tue, 19 May
Tue, 19 May 23:45 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info] (151 km)East of Kuril Islands
[Map]
GFZ
Sat, 30 May
Sat, 30 May 09:21 UTCM 5.2 / 10 km - [info] (117 km)East of Kuril Islands
[Map]
GFZ
Fri, 19 Jun
Fri, 19 Jun 03:18 UTCM 4.7 / 60 km - [info] (59 km) KURIL ISLANDS
[Map]
EMSC
Fri, 19 Jun 03:18 UTCM 4.7 / 69 km - [info] (70 km)Kuril Islands
[Map]
GFZ
Fri, 26 Jun
Fri, 26 Jun 18:30 UTCM 5.0 / 90 km - [info] (49 km)Kuril Islands
[Map]
GFZ
Wed, 1 Jul
Wed, 1 Jul 03:16 UTCM 4.5 / 47.4 km - [info] (130 km)- 151km SSE of Kuril'sk, Russia
[Map]
USGS
Wed, 1 Jul 03:16 UTCM 4.6 / 10 km - [info]Golets-Tornyi (7 km)Kuril Islands
[Map]
GFZ
Tue, 7 Jul
Tue, 7 Jul 05:10 UTCM 6.3 / 53 km - [info] (123 km)East of Kuril Islands
[Map]
GFZ
Sagamihara (1187.1 km SW from epicenter) / not felt
Wed, 8 Jul
Wed, 8 Jul 20:23 UTCM 3.8 / 60 km - [info] (47 km) KURIL ISLANDS
[Map]
EMSC
Fri, 10 Jul
Fri, 10 Jul 03:15 UTCM 4.3 / 100 km - [info] (56 km) KURIL ISLANDS
[Map]
EMSC
Sat, 11 Jul
Sat, 11 Jul 11:27 UTCM 5.1 / 48 km - [info] (111 km)East of Kuril Islands
[Map]
GFZ
Sat, 1 Aug
Sat, 1 Aug 13:25 UTCM 4.1 / 33 km - [info]unnamed (11 km) KURIL ISLANDS
[Map]
EMSC
Sun, 2 Aug
Sun, 2 Aug 07:50 UTCM 4.8 / 122 km - [info]Grozny (26 km)Kuril Islands
[Map]
GFZ
Fri, 7 Aug
Fri, 7 Aug 20:43 UTCM 4.7 / 60 km - [info] (73 km) KURIL ISLANDS
[Map]
EMSC
Mon, 10 Aug
Mon, 10 Aug 14:59 UTCM 4.6 / 40 km - [info] (126 km) KURIL ISLANDS
[Map]
EMSC
Sat, 15 Aug
Sat, 15 Aug 18:04 UTCM 3.9 / 70 km - [info] (71 km) KURIL ISLANDS
[Map]
EMSC
Thu, 27 Aug
Thu, 27 Aug 19:10 UTCM 5.0 / 134 km - [info]Bogatyr Ridge (17 km)Kuril Islands
[Map]
GFZ
Wed, 2 Sep
Wed, 2 Sep 08:23 UTCM 4.6 / 50 km - [info] (106 km) KURIL ISLANDS
[Map]
EMSC
Wed, 9 Sep
Wed, 9 Sep 05:43 UTCM 5.3 / 58 km - [info] (81 km)Kuril Islands
[Map]
GFZ
Athens (Greece) (9349 km W from epicenter)(no details): a 4.1 occurred simultaneously to the 04:44:47 -- 4.7 -- PAPUA, INDONESIA earthquake near the east coast of Honshu island, Japan, with an epicentre close to 37.85 N, 140.80 E (via EMSC)
Sat, 12 Sep
Sat, 12 Sep 02:29 UTCM 4.7 / 46 km - [info] (123 km) EAST OF KURIL ISLANDS
[Map]
EMSC
Wed, 7 Oct
Wed, 7 Oct 04:16 UTCM 4.3 / 68 km - [info] (68 km) KURIL ISLANDS
[Map]
EMSC
Wed, 14 Oct
Wed, 14 Oct 00:43 UTCM 4.4 / 60 km - [info] (46 km) KURIL ISLANDS
[Map]
EMSC
Thu, 5 Nov
Thu, 5 Nov 02:50 UTCM 4.9 / 34 km - [info] (94 km)Kuril Islands
[Map]
GFZ
Thu, 12 Nov
Thu, 12 Nov 01:34 UTCM 4.5 / 5 km - [info] (98 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO
[Map]
NIED
Thu, 12 Nov 13:19 UTCM 2.7 / 8.6 km - [info] (119 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO
[Map]
NIED
Sat, 14 Nov
Sat, 14 Nov 15:34 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info] (135 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO
[Map]
NIED
Thu, 19 Nov
Thu, 19 Nov 10:29 UTCM 4.3 / 110 km - [info] (37 km) KURIL ISLANDS
[Map]
EMSC
Thu, 19 Nov 21:46 UTCM 3.3 / 59.7 km - [info] (68 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO
[Map]
NIED
Fri, 20 Nov
Fri, 20 Nov 00:50 UTCM 3.8 / 57.1 km - [info] (93 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO
[Map]
NIED
Fri, 20 Nov 12:43 UTCM 3.0 / 94.7 km - [info] (68 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO
[Map]
NIED
Tue, 24 Nov
Tue, 24 Nov 21:45 UTCM 3.4 / 132.1 km - [info] (76 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO
[Map]
NIED
Thu, 26 Nov
Thu, 26 Nov 22:28 UTCM 4.1 / 0.5 km - [info] (95 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO
[Map]
NIED
Wed, 2 Dec
Wed, 2 Dec 20:00 UTCM 5.0 / 10 km - [info] (126 km)Kuril Islands
[Map]
GFZ
Fri, 4 Dec
Fri, 4 Dec 10:34 UTCM 3.5 / 35 km - [info] (97 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO
[Map]
NIED
Sun, 6 Dec
Sun, 6 Dec 19:12 UTCM 4.8 / 9.8 km - [info] (105 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO
[Map]
NIED
Mon, 7 Dec
Mon, 7 Dec 12:41 UTCM 4.6 / 70 km - [info] (92 km) KURIL ISLANDS
[Map]
EMSC
Sat, 12 Dec
Sat, 12 Dec 21:47 UTCM 3.3 / 114.6 km - [info] (38 km)NEAR ETOROFU ISLAND
[Map]
NIED
Tue, 22 Dec
Tue, 22 Dec 12:01 UTCM 4.4 / 61.3 km - [info] (94 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO
[Map]
NIED
Mon, 28 Dec
Mon, 28 Dec 15:21 UTCM 3.0 / 165.1 km - [info] (76 km)NEAR KUNASHIRI ISLAND[Map]NIED
Wed, 30 Dec
Wed, 30 Dec 15:31 UTCM 4.2 / 154 km - [info]Bogatyr Ridge (13 km) KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Wed, 30 Dec 21:03 UTCM 3.2 / 107 km - [info] (77 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO[Map]NIED

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

 
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: