Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest earthquakes in Saudi Arabia - list and map

Latest quake
See all
Mag. 2.7 earthquake 12 km southeast of Aghajari, Khuzestan, Iran -
Strongest since 2023Mag. 5.6 Northern Red Sea Region, Central, Eritrea - Aug 1, 2023 -
Updated: Mar 2, 2024 21:05 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near Saudi Arabia in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake in or near Saudi Arabia, find out which quakes are happening right now!
There were no significant confirmed earthquakes in or near Saudi Arabia in the past 24 hours.
Since 2023, Saudi Arabia has had 5 quakes of magnitudes above 4 and up to 5.6:
  • 0 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
Strongest: Mag. 5.6 Earthquake Northern Red Sea Region, 66 km E of asamara, Central, Eritrea -

Number of quakes per year

Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Hide 18 unconfirmed quakes
Check for new quakes now!
in sec
Pause automatic refreshing
Showing all recent or significant quakes since 2023, magnitude 0 or higher, within up to 300 km (186 mi) distance (174 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Feb 26, 01:42 pm (Tehran)
Feb 26, 10:12 GMT
2.7

19 km
269 km (167 mi) to the NE 12 km southeast of Aghajari, Khuzestan, Iran Info
Feb 26, 10:05 am (Tehran)
Feb 26, 06:35 GMT
2.8

11 km
216 km (134 mi) to the NE 80 km southeast of Bushehr, Bushehr, Iran Info
Tuesday, February 20, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 20, 07:25 am (Tehran)
Feb 20, 03:55 GMT
2.8

7 km
297 km (185 mi) to the NE 13 km south of Dogonbadan, Kohgiluyeh and Boyer-Ahmad, Iran Info
Thursday, February 15, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 15, 06:52 am (GMT +3)
Feb 15, 03:52 GMT
4.5

10 km
143 km (89 mi) to the SW Red Sea, 142 km northwest of Sindi Sarso Island, Jazan Region, Saudi Arabia 1 reportInfo
Tuesday, February 13, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 13, 11:16 pm (Tehran)
Feb 13, 19:46 GMT
2.7

10 km
260 km (162 mi) to the N 48 km southwest of Sūsangerd, Khuzestan, Iran Info
Monday, February 12, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 12, 06:54 pm (Tehran)
Feb 12, 15:24 GMT
2.5

10 km
293 km (182 mi) to the NE 43 km north of Borazjan, Bushehr, Iran Info
Tuesday, February 6, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 6, 07:41 am (Tehran)
Feb 6, 04:11 GMT
2.9

25 km
272 km (169 mi) to the N 22 km southwest of Sūsangerd, Khuzestan, Iran Info
Monday, January 29, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 29, 11:57 am (Tehran)
Jan 29, 08:27 GMT
4.4

10 km
275 km (171 mi) to the NE 1.6 km south of Aghajari, Khuzestan, Iran 1 reportInfo
Wednesday, December 27, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Dec 27, 2023 03:37 pm (GMT +3)
Dec 27, 2023 12:37 GMT
3.8

8 km
232 km (144 mi) to the E 101 km south of Mohr, Fars, Iran Info
Tuesday, December 26, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Dec 26, 2023 02:04 pm (Tehran)
Dec 26, 2023 10:34 GMT
2.8

10 km
260 km (162 mi) to the NE Bushehr, 76 km southwest of Fīrūzābād, Fars, Iran Info
Sunday, December 17, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Dec 18, 2023 02:39 am (Tehran)
Dec 17, 2023 23:09 GMT

2.9

8 km
246 km (153 mi) to the NE Bushehr, 80 km northwest of Mohr, Fars, Iran Info
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.1 x 1013 joules (8.57 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 7371 tons of TNT or 0.5 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Saudi Arabia Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Quakes, magnitude and depth over time

Past 48 hrs
Past 7 days
14 days
30 days
1 year
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: GEOFON Station Eilat, Israel (EIL/GE network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station GEOFON Station Eilat, Israel: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Number of quakes per year

Note:
The apparent increase in the number of quakes since around 2010 is not because seismic activity has increased, but mostly due to three factors:
1) We only started to systematically collect seismic data for smaller quakes worldwide since 2010.
2) The number of seismic networks around the world and their sensitivity to detect smaller quakes has increased drastically in recent years.
3) Data availability through the internet has increased significantly as well. Many national agencies only started reporting earthquakes publicly in the past 10 years or so.

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 256 quakes on average per year in Saudi Arabia:
  • Mag. 7 or higher: 0.02 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 50 years)
  • Mag. 6 or higher: 0.04 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 25 years)
  • Mag. 5 or higher: 0.24 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 4.2 years)
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 2.5 quakes per year
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 4.4 quakes per year
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 9.8 quakes per year
  • Mag. 1 or higher: 24.8 quakes per year
Saudi Arabia has very few earthquakes and most of them are very small (below magnitude 3). Larger quakes with magnitudes above 3 might occur from time to time. However, Saudi Arabia has had at least 2 quakes above magnitude 6 since 1970, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 25 to 30 years.

Number of recent quakes in or near Saudi Arabia by magnitude

3 years
10 years
Mag
 
Number of quakes (224 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
8 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (3.57%)
3+
7 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (3.13%)
2+
52 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (23.21%)
below M2
157 quakes
(70.09%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (256 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.78%)
4+
23 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (8.98%)
3+
19 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (7.42%)
2+
55 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (21.48%)
below M2
157 quakes
(61.33%)

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Magnitude and seismic energy over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: Past 90 days
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 30 days
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 7 days
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 24 hours
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 2023
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 2024 so far

Magnitude and energy distribution

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Magnitude and energy distribution: Past 90 days
Magnitude and energy distribution: 30 days
Magnitude and energy distribution: 7 days
Magnitude and energy distribution: 24 hours
Magnitude and energy distribution: 2023
Magnitude and energy distribution: 2024 so far

Saudi Arabia Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in Saudi Arabia?

Saudi Arabia has very few earthquakes and most of them are very small (below magnitude 3). Larger quakes with magnitudes above 3 might occur from time to time. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 256 quakes on average per year in Saudi Arabia. However, Saudi Arabia has had at least 2 quakes above magnitude 6 since 1970, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 25 to 30 years.

When was the latest earthquake in Saudi Arabia?

The last earthquake in Saudi Arabia occurred 5 days ago and had a magnitude of 2.7:

A light magnitude 2.7 earthquake hit 12.1 km (8 mi) away from Aghajari, Khuzestan,  Iran, around noon of Monday, Feb 26, 2024 at 1.42 pm local time (Asia/Tehran GMT +3:30). The quake had a very shallow depth of 19 km (12 mi) and was not felt (or at least not reported so).

How many quakes were there in Saudi Arabia since 2023?

Since 2023, Saudi Arabia has been shaken by 0 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above and 5 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0.

What was the strongest quake in Saudi Arabia since 2023?

The strongest earthquake in Saudi Arabia since 2023 had a magnitude of 5.6 and occurred 31 weeks ago:

Mag. 5.6 earthquake Northern Red Sea Region, Central, Eritrea - Aug 1, 2023 -

A strong magnitude 5.6 earthquake hit 66 km (41 mi) away from asamara, Central,  Eritrea, in the evening of Tuesday, Aug 1, 2023 at 8.15 pm local time (Africa/Asmara GMT +3). The quake had a very shallow depth of 10 km (6 mi) and was felt by many near the epicenter.

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near Saudi Arabia

Strongest in 10 years

Mag. 5.5 earthquake 59 km north of Dahab, South Sinai, Egypt - Jun 27, 2015 -
The largest quake that occurred in or near Saudi Arabia during the past 10 years was a magnitude 5.5 earthquake that hit Gulf of Aqaba,  Egypt, 9 years ago on Saturday, Jun 27, 2015, at 05:34 pm local time (Africa/Cairo GMT +2).

Strongest since 1900

Mag. 7.2 earthquake Saudi Arabia - Nov 22, 1995 -
28 years ago, Gulf of Aqaba,  Saudi Arabia, was hit by a magnitude 7.2 quake on Wednesday, Nov 22, 1995, at 07:15 am local time (Asia/Riyadh GMT +3). This was the largest earthquake to have occurred in or near Saudi Arabia in more than 100 years (since 1900).
Below is a list and map of the largest quakes in or near Saudi Arabia in recent years and since 1900.
Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap
Feb 15, 03:52 GMT
Feb 15, 06:52 am (GMT +3)
4.5

10 km
143 km (89 mi) to the SW Red Sea, 142 km northwest of Sindi Sarso Island, Jazan Region, Saudi Arabia 1 reportInfo
Jan 9, 2023 21:28 GMT
Jan 10, 2023 12:28 am (GMT +3)
4.9

10 km
73 km (45 mi) to the S Red Sea, 97 km south of Sindi Sarso Island, Jazan Region, Saudi Arabia Info
Jan 9, 2023 17:31 GMT
Jan 9, 2023 08:31 pm (GMT +3)
4.7

10 km
77 km (48 mi) to the S Red Sea, 97 km south of Sindi Sarso Island, Jazan Region, Saudi Arabia Info
Aug 2, 2021 08:31 GMT
Aug 2, 2021 11:31 am (Kuwait)
4.5

10 km
5 km (3.1 mi) to the NE Al Jahra', 63 km southwest of Kuwait, Al Asimah, Kuwait 236 reportsInfo
Nov 11, 2020 14:56 GMT
Nov 11, 2020 05:56 pm (Kuwait)
4.6

10 km
14 km (8.7 mi) to the NE 45 km southwest of Al Aḩmadī, Al Ahmadi Governorate, Kuwait 249 reportsInfo
Mar 8, 2019 17:20 GMT
Mar 8, 2019 08:20 pm (GMT +3)
4.6

10 km
132 km (82 mi) to the SW Red Sea, 253 km west of Abhā, 'Asir Region, Saudi Arabia Info
Mar 6, 2019 21:33 GMT
Mar 7, 2019 12:33 am (GMT +3)
4.5

10 km
134 km (83 mi) to the SW Red Sea, 241 km west of Abhā, 'Asir Region, Saudi Arabia Info
Mar 6, 2019 21:24 GMT
Mar 7, 2019 12:24 am (GMT +3)
4.9

10 km
132 km (82 mi) to the SW Red Sea, 92 km southwest of Abū Zahrah Island, Saudi Arabia Info
May 16, 2016 01:46 GMT
May 16, 2016 03:46 am (Cairo)
5.2

10 km
14 km (8.7 mi) to the NW 22 km northeast of Dahab, South Sinai, Egypt 46 reportsInfo
Jun 27, 2015 15:34 GMT
Jun 27, 2015 05:34 pm (Cairo)
5.5

10 km
13 km (8.1 mi) to the NW 59 km north of Dahab, South Sinai, Egypt 190 reportsInfo
Dec 23, 2013 18:44 GMT
Dec 23, 2013 09:44 pm (GMT +3)
5.3

10 km
139 km (86 mi) to the SW Red Sea, 256 km south of Mekka, Mecca Region, Saudi Arabia Info
May 19, 2009 17:35 GMT
May 19, 2009 08:35 pm (Riyadh)
5.7

5 km
56 km northeast of Umluj, Tabuk Region, Saudi Arabia Info
Nov 2, 1996 13:50 GMT
Nov 2, 1996 04:50 pm (GMT +3)
5.3

10 km
135 km (84 mi) to the SW 252 km south of Jeddah, Mecca Region, Saudi Arabia Info
Feb 21, 1996 04:59 GMT
Feb 21, 1996 07:59 am (Riyadh)
5.3

23 km
9 km (5.6 mi) to the NW Saudi Arabia Info
Nov 23, 1995 18:07 GMT
Nov 23, 1995 09:07 pm (Cairo)
5.7

10 km
19 km (12 mi) to the NW Egypt Info
Nov 22, 1995 22:16 GMT
Nov 23, 1995 01:16 am (Riyadh)
5.4

10 km
8 km (5 mi) to the NW 183 km west of Tabuk, Tabuk Region, Saudi Arabia Info
Nov 22, 1995 04:15 GMT
Nov 22, 1995 07:15 am (Riyadh)
7.2

10 km
3 km (1.9 mi) to the NW Saudi Arabia Info
Aug 3, 1993 16:33 GMT
Aug 3, 1993 07:33 pm (Cairo)
5.7

10 km
18 km (11 mi) to the NW Egypt Info
Aug 3, 1993 12:43 GMT
Aug 3, 1993 03:43 pm (Cairo)
6.1

10 km
24 km (15 mi) to the NW 28 km north of Dahab, South Sinai, Egypt Info
Mar 13, 1993 17:12 GMT
Mar 13, 1993 08:12 pm (GMT +3)
5.7

10 km
128 km (80 mi) to the SW 211 km south of Jeddah, Mecca Region, Saudi Arabia Info
Dec 10, 1988 17:33 GMT
Dec 10, 1988 08:33 pm (GMT +3)
5.6

10 km
87 km (54 mi) to the SW 167 km southwest of Gazan, Jazan Region, Saudi Arabia Info
Mar 13, 1967 19:22 GMT
Mar 13, 1967 10:22 pm (GMT +3)
5.6

20 km
126 km (78 mi) to the SW 228 km southwest of Mekka, Mecca Region, Saudi Arabia Info

Map of largest quakes in or near Saudi Arabia

[smaller] [bigger]

Earthquakes in or near Saudi Arabia

Quakes in nearby regions

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings