Recent and past earthquakes in the Solomon Islands

Updated: Sep 24, 2021 10:19 GMT
Updated Sep 24, 2021 10:19 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Solomon Islands was shaken by 6 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above and 8 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0.
Biggest quake: 5.4 quake Coral Sea, Vanuatu, Sep 12, 2021 1:57 pm (GMT +11)
Biggest quake today: 4.9 quake Solomon Sea, Solomon Islands, 106 km south of Arawa, Papua New Guinea, Sep 24, 2021 5:59 am (GMT +11)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (14 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, September 23, 2021 18:59 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 24, 2021 5:59 am (GMT +11) (Sep 23, 2021 18:59 GMT)
4.9

100 km
70 km (43 mi)Solomon Sea, Solomon Islands, 106 km south of Arawa, Papua New Guinea
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Saturday, September 18, 2021 22:06 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Sep 19, 2021 9:06 am (GMT +11) (Sep 18, 2021 22:06 GMT)
5.0

35 km
64 km (40 mi)Solomon Sea, 97 km south of Arawa, Bougainville, Papua New Guinea
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Sep 18, 2021 04:54 GMT
4.7

10 km
327 km (203 mi)Coral Sea, 76 km south of Kirakira, Solomon Islands
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sep 18, 2021 01:21 GMT
4.5

110 km
55 km (34 mi)28 km east of Lata, Santa Cruz Islands, Temotu Province, Solomon Islands
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Friday, September 17, 2021 18:44 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Sep 18, 2021 5:44 am (GMT +11) (Sep 17, 2021 18:44 GMT)
5.3

10 km
327 km (203 mi)Coral Sea, 83 km south of Kirakira, Solomon Islands
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Sep 17, 2021 04:28 GMT
4.5

10 km
311 km (193 mi)Solomon Sea, 60 km south of Kirakira, Solomon Islands MoreMap
Sep 17, 2021 04:26 GMT
4.5

10 km
328 km (204 mi)Coral Sea, 71 km southeast of Kirakira, Solomon Islands MoreMap
Sep 17, 2021 11:04 am (GMT +11) (Sep 17, 2021 00:04 GMT)
5.0

10 km
357 km (222 mi)Coral Sea, Solomon Islands 1 reportMoreMap
Thursday, September 16, 2021 20:50 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 17, 2021 7:50 am (GMT +11) (Sep 16, 2021 20:50 GMT)
4.4

157 km
17 km (10.6 mi)86 km west of Arawa, Bougainville, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Tuesday, September 14, 2021 23:44 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 15, 2021 10:44 am (GMT +11) (Sep 14, 2021 23:44 GMT)
5.1

33 km
33 km (21 mi)Coral Sea, 41 km northeast of Lata, Solomon Islands MoreMap
Sunday, September 12, 2021 02:57 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 12, 2021 1:57 pm (GMT +11) (Sep 12, 2021 02:57 GMT)
5.4

38 km
199 km (124 mi)Coral Sea, Vanuatu 1 reportMoreMap
Sep 12, 2021 01:26 GMT
4.6

10 km
294 km (183 mi)Solomon Sea, 87 km south of Kirakira, Solomon Islands MoreMap
Sunday, September 5, 2021 20:29 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 6, 2021 7:29 am (GMT +11) (Sep 5, 2021 20:29 GMT)
4.4

222 km
148 km (92 mi)Coral Sea, Vanuatu MoreMap
Saturday, September 4, 2021 18:43 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 5, 2021 5:43 am (GMT +11) (Sep 4, 2021 18:43 GMT)
5.3

52 km
44 km (27 mi)Solomon Sea, 78 km west of Arawa, Bougainville, Papua New Guinea 1 reportMoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3 x 1013 joules (8.39 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 7215 tons of TNT or 0.5 atomic bombs!) More info
Show more
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.