Latest earthquakes in or near South Africa, past 30 days

Updated 5 Mar 2021 20:08 GMT -
During the past 30 days, South Africa was shaken by 4 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 39 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 3.1 quake 6.3 km south of Stilfontein, South Africa, 1 Mar 2021 2:37 pm (GMT +2)
Biggest quake today: 2.8 quake 16 km northwest of Kriel, South Africa, 5 Mar 2021 12:51 pm (GMT +2)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (43 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Fri, 5 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
5 Mar 2021 12:51 pm (GMT +2) (5 Mar 2021 10:51:10 GMT)
2.8

10 km
(1951 km)16 km northwest of Kriel, South Africa MoreMap
Wed, 3 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
3 Mar 2021 11:10 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 21:10:04 GMT)
2.5

10 km
(2004 km)11 km northwest of Westonaria, South Africa MoreMap
Tue, 2 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
2 Mar 2021 6:49 am (GMT +2) (2 Mar 2021 04:49:48 GMT)
2.4

10 km
(1912 km)9.9 km north of Ermelo, South Africa 1 reportMoreMap
Mon, 1 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
1 Mar 2021 6:04 pm (GMT +2) (1 Mar 2021 16:04:51 GMT)
2.8

10 km
(2130 km)38 km east of Hlotse, Leribe, Lesotho 1 reportMoreMap
1 Mar 2021 2:37 pm (GMT +2) (1 Mar 2021 12:37:56 GMT)
3.1

10 km
(2100 km)6.3 km south of Stilfontein, South Africa
I FELT IT - 12 reports
MoreMap
Sat, 27 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
27 Feb 2021 9:17 pm (GMT +2) (27 Feb 2021 19:17:24 GMT)
2.6

10 km
(2169 km)Thabo Mofutsanyana District Municipality, 35 km northeast of Thaba Nchu, South Africa MoreMap
27 Feb 2021 5:07 pm (GMT +2) (27 Feb 2021 15:07:06 GMT)
2.4

10 km
(1935 km)27 km northeast of Delmas, South Africa MoreMap
27 Feb 2021 4:46 pm (GMT +2) (27 Feb 2021 14:46:39 GMT)
2.3

10 km
(1884 km)Gert Sibande District Municipality, 15 km southwest of Belfast, Sudafrica MoreMap
27 Feb 2021 10:24 am (GMT +2) (27 Feb 2021 08:24:06 GMT)
2.6

10 km
(1421 km)Gaza Province, 463 km north of Maputo, Mozambique MoreMap
Fri, 26 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
27 Feb 2021 12:01 am (GMT +2) (26 Feb 2021 22:01:08 GMT)
2.8

10 km
(2022 km)14 km southwest of Westonaria, South Africa MoreMap
Wed, 24 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
24 Feb 2021 4:36 pm (GMT +0) (24 Feb 2021 16:36:58 GMT)
2.0

10 km
(1930 km)18 km south of Witbank, Nkangala District Municipality, Mpumalanga, South Africa MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 8:47 am (GMT +0) (24 Feb 2021 08:47:33 GMT)
2.4

10 km
(1932 km)32 km southwest of Witbank, South Africa 1 reportMoreMap
24 Feb 2021 5:07 am (GMT +0) (24 Feb 2021 05:07:47 GMT)
2.3

10 km
(1880 km)35 km east of Middelburg, South Africa MoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
23 Feb 2021 10:11 pm (GMT +2) (23 Feb 2021 20:11:59 GMT)
2.3

10 km
(2163 km)65 km west of De Aar, South Africa MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 3:02 pm (GMT +0) (23 Feb 2021 15:02:38 GMT)
2.6

10 km
(1936 km)City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality, Gauteng, 22 km northeast of Delmas, South Africa MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 3:29 pm (GMT +2) (23 Feb 2021 13:29:38 GMT)
2.2

10 km
(1908 km)62 km north of Rustenburg, Bojanala Platinum, North West, South Africa MoreMap
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
22 Feb 2021 4:11 pm (GMT +2) (22 Feb 2021 14:11:14 GMT)
2.7

10 km
(1964 km)9.1 km south of Kriel, Nkangala District Municipality, Mpumalanga, South Africa MoreMap
Sun, 21 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
21 Feb 2021 7:05 pm (GMT +2) (21 Feb 2021 17:05:58 GMT)
2.5

10 km
(1989 km)5.6 km east of Randfontein, South Africa MoreMap
Sat, 20 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
20 Feb 2021 4:55 pm (GMT +2) (20 Feb 2021 14:55:06 GMT)
2.9

10 km
(1933 km)21 km south of Witbank, Nkangala District Municipality, Mpumalanga, South Africa MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 1:27 pm (GMT +2) (20 Feb 2021 11:27:56 GMT)
2.8

10 km
(1943 km)15 km north of Kriel, Nkangala District Municipality, Mpumalanga, South Africa MoreMap
Fri, 19 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
19 Feb 2021 8:24 pm (GMT +2) (19 Feb 2021 18:24:14 GMT)
2.5

10 km
(2016 km)10.4 km east of Carletonville, South Africa MoreMap
19 Feb 2021 5:03 pm (GMT +2) (19 Feb 2021 15:03:13 GMT)
2.7

10 km
(2410 km)15 km west of Postmasburg, South Africa MoreMap
19 Feb 2021 12:13 pm (GMT +2) (19 Feb 2021 10:13:59 GMT)
2.4

10 km
(2398 km)Pixley ka Seme District Municipality, 101 km southeast of Upington, South Africa MoreMap
Thu, 18 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
18 Feb 2021 3:09 pm (GMT +2) (18 Feb 2021 13:09:02 GMT)
2.3

10 km
(1933 km)30 km northeast of Delmas, South Africa MoreMap
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
17 Feb 2021 3:17 pm (GMT +2) (17 Feb 2021 13:17:40 GMT)
3.1

10 km
(1930 km)Alfred Nzo District Municipality, Eastern Cape, 18 km southwest of Kokstad, South Africa MoreMap
17 Feb 2021 2:06 am (GMT +2) (17 Feb 2021 00:06:04 GMT)
2.7

10 km
(2095 km)2.2 km southwest of Stilfontein, South Africa MoreMap
Tue, 16 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
16 Feb 2021 11:44 pm (GMT +2) (16 Feb 2021 21:44:00 GMT)
2.9

10 km
(2016 km)5.3 km northeast of Carletonville, South Africa MoreMap
16 Feb 2021 6:00 pm (GMT +2) (16 Feb 2021 16:00:23 GMT)
2.5

10 km
(2102 km)Orange Free State, 16 km southeast of Stilfontein, South Africa MoreMap
16 Feb 2021 3:48 pm (GMT +2) (16 Feb 2021 13:48:04 GMT)
2.7

10 km
(2395 km)10.8 km north of Postmasburg, South Africa MoreMap
Mon, 15 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
15 Feb 2021 3:58 pm (GMT +2) (15 Feb 2021 13:58:11 GMT)
2.8

10 km
(2350 km)9.1 km southwest of Kathu, South Africa MoreMap
15 Feb 2021 1:53 pm (GMT +2) (15 Feb 2021 11:53:11 GMT)
2.9

10 km
(1954 km)Nkangala District Municipality, 23 km northwest of Bethal, South Africa MoreMap
Sun, 14 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
14 Feb 2021 4:02 pm (GMT +2) (14 Feb 2021 14:02:01 GMT)
2.8

10 km
(1944 km)13 km north of Kriel, Nkangala District Municipality, Mpumalanga, South Africa MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 9:13 am (GMT +2) (14 Feb 2021 07:13:14 GMT)
3.1

10 km
(2096 km)2.7 km south of Stilfontein, South Africa 1 reportMoreMap
Sat, 13 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
13 Feb 2021 1:54 pm (GMT +2) (13 Feb 2021 11:54:15 GMT)
2.4

10 km
(2347 km)5.6 km southwest of Kathu, South Africa 1 reportMoreMap
Fri, 12 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
12 Feb 2021 9:51 am (GMT +2) (12 Feb 2021 07:51:59 GMT)
3.1

10 km
(1604 km)Maputo, 54 km southwest of Chokwé, Chokwe District, Gaza Province, Mozambique MoreMap
Thu, 11 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
11 Feb 2021 10:40 am (GMT +2) (11 Feb 2021 08:40:09 GMT)
2.5

10 km
(2358 km)16 km south of Kathu, South Africa 1 reportMoreMap
Wed, 10 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
10 Feb 2021 4:58 pm (GMT +2) (10 Feb 2021 14:58:00 GMT)
2.7

10 km
(2396 km)7.6 km northeast of Postmasburg, South Africa MoreMap
10 Feb 2021 6:23 am (GMT +0) (10 Feb 2021 06:23:17 GMT)
2.3

10 km
(2219 km)17 km west of Senekal, South Africa MoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Feb 2021 3:34 pm (GMT +2) (9 Feb 2021 13:34:00 GMT)
2.7

10 km
(1913 km)17 km northwest of Vryheid, South Africa MoreMap
Mon, 8 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
8 Feb 2021 11:54 pm (GMT +2) (8 Feb 2021 21:54:31 GMT)
2.6

10 km
(1990 km)6.7 km east of Randfontein, South Africa 2 reportsMoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
7 Feb 2021 7:38 pm (GMT +2) (7 Feb 2021 17:38:11 GMT)
2.9

10 km
(1990 km)5.2 km east of Randfontein, South Africa 10 reportsMoreMap
7 Feb 2021 5:30 pm (GMT +2) (7 Feb 2021 15:30:42 GMT)
2.6

10 km
(2203 km)Lejweleputswa District Municipality, Orange Free State, 46 km south of Wolmaransstad, South Africa MoreMap
Thu, 4 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
4 Feb 2021 2:20 pm (GMT +2) (4 Feb 2021 12:20:33 GMT)
2.7

10 km
(1916 km)22 km west of Witbank, Nkangala District Municipality, Mpumalanga, South Africa MoreMap
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Interactive map
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.4 x 1010 joules (9.58 megawatt hours, equivalent to 8.24 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:

Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrsMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 daysMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 daysMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.