Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near South America in the past 24 hours on Sunday, December 4, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 4, 2022 13:37 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 6 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 17 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 31 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 34 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, South America was shaken by 6 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 17 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 31 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 34 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A light magnitude 4.4 earthquake occurred in Ucayali, Peru, 20 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.4 | 77 km N of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.4 | 23 km NE of Pucallpa, Provincia de Coronel Portillo, Ucayali, Peru -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near South America (updated )

Past 24 hours85 quakes31 quakes M2+16 quakes M3+7 quakes M4+
Past 7 days825 quakes309 quakes M2+164 quakes M3+52 quakes M4+2 quakes M5+
Past 30 days3,359 quakes1,200 quakes M2+669 quakes M3+172 quakes M4+17 quakes M5+1 quake M6+
Past 90 days9,931 quakes3,456 quakes M2+2,143 quakes M3+579 quakes M4+52 quakes M5+4 quakes M6+
Past 365 days36,255 quakes14,211 quakes M2+9,237 quakes M3+2,101 quakes M4+182 quakes M5+19 quakes M6+1 quake M7+
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 2 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 1.7 or higher (70 out of 88 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, December 4, 2022 GMT (33 quakes)
Dec 4, 2022 10:15 am (GMT -3) (Dec 4, 2022 13:15 GMT)
3.4

18 km
77 km north of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Dec 4, 2022 10:00 am (GMT -3) (Dec 4, 2022 13:00 GMT)
3.0

52 km
80 km southeast of Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Dec 4, 2022 7:31 am (GMT -5) (Dec 4, 2022 12:31 GMT)
2.3

122 km
Norte de Santander, 59 km northwest of Bucaramanga, Santander, Colombia More
Dec 4, 2022 5:56 am (GMT -6) (Dec 4, 2022 11:56 GMT)
3.0

33 km
North Pacific Ocean, La Paz, 97 km southeast of San Salvador, El Salvador
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Dec 4, 2022 8:39 am (GMT -3) (Dec 4, 2022 11:39 GMT)
2.7

112 km
39 km northeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile More
Dec 4, 2022 8:02 am (GMT -3) (Dec 4, 2022 11:02 GMT)
2.9

196 km
198 km west of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina More
Dec 4, 2022 4:28 am (GMT -6) (Dec 4, 2022 10:28 GMT)
2.9

10 km
31 km northwest of Esteli, Nicaragua More
Dec 4, 2022 7:13 am (GMT -3) (Dec 4, 2022 10:13 GMT)
2.8

109 km
19 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile More
Dec 4, 2022 7:11 am (GMT -3) (Dec 4, 2022 10:11 GMT)
3.2

40 km
South Pacific Ocean, 43 km south of Tocopilla, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Dec 4, 2022 5:06 am (GMT -5) (Dec 4, 2022 10:06 GMT)
4.3

10 km
North Pacific Ocean, 127 km south of David, Provincia de Chiriqui, Panama
I FELT IT
More
Dec 4, 2022 5:00 am (GMT -5) (Dec 4, 2022 10:00 GMT)
2.9

19 km
31 km west of Mocoa, Putumayo, Colombia More
Dec 4, 2022 6:50 am (GMT -3) (Dec 4, 2022 09:50 GMT)
2.7

28 km
South Pacific Ocean, 28 km north of Constitucion, Talca, Maule Region, Chile More
Dec 4, 2022 6:06 am (GMT -3) (Dec 4, 2022 09:06 GMT)
3.1

115 km
Tarapaca, 133 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Dec 4, 2022 4:33 am (GMT -4) (Dec 4, 2022 08:33 GMT)
3.0

3.5 km
8.9 km northeast of Mucumpiz, Mérida, Venezuela
I FELT IT
More
Dec 4, 2022 1:30 am (GMT -6) (Dec 4, 2022 07:30 GMT)
2.6

18 km
North Pacific Ocean, 97 km southwest of San Rafael del Sur, Nicaragua More
Dec 4, 2022 1:30 am (GMT -6) (Dec 4, 2022 07:30 GMT)
2.6

18 km
North Pacific Ocean, 97 km southwest of San Rafael del Sur, Nicaragua More
Dec 4, 2022 1:03 am (GMT -6) (Dec 4, 2022 07:03 GMT)
2.9

19 km
NEAR COAST OF NICARAGUA More
Dec 4, 2022 3:16 am (GMT -3) (Dec 4, 2022 06:16 GMT)
2.5

94 km
SAN JUAN (Argentina) More
Dec 3, 2022 11:47 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 4, 2022 05:47 GMT)
2.2

174 km
34 Km Al Sureste De Cuatro Bocas, Costa Rica More
Dec 4, 2022 1:52 am (GMT -3) (Dec 4, 2022 04:52 GMT)
2.7

116 km
LA RIOJA (Argentina) More
Dec 4, 2022 1:41 am (GMT -3) (Dec 4, 2022 04:41 GMT)
2.9

128 km
ANTOFAGASTA, CHILE More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.1 x 1012 joules (299 megawatt hours, equivalent to 257 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Chusmiza, Chile (GO01/C network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Chusmiza, Chile: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

South America Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in South America?

The last earthquake in South America occurred 22 minutes ago: Light mag. 3.4 earthquake - 77 km north of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile, on Sunday, Dec 4, 2022 at 10:15 am (GMT -3).

How many quakes were there in South America today?

In the past 24 hours, South America had 70 quakes up to magnitude 4.4.

What was the strongest quake in South America today?

The strongest earthquake in South America today occurred 20 hours ago: Light mag. 4.4 earthquake - 23 km northeast of Pucallpa, Provincia de Coronel Portillo, Ucayali, Peru, on Saturday, Dec 3, 2022 at 12:22 pm (GMT -5).

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings