Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or near Spain: past 7 days

Updated Sep 28, 2021 05:37 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Spain was shaken by 8 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 145 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 114 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.7 quake Alboran Sea, 36 km north of Al Hoceima, Morocco, Sep 24, 2021 2:31 am (GMT +2)
Biggest quake today: 3.2 quake La Palma Island, 11 km south of Los Llanos de Aridane, Spain, Sep 27, 2021 7:05 am (GMT +1)
Most recent quake: 2.3 quake Alboran Sea, 34 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco, Sep 28, 2021 5:01 am (GMT +1)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 2.6 or higher (37 out of 267 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, September 28, 2021 04:01 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 28, 2021 5:01 am (GMT +1) (Sep 28, 2021 04:01 GMT)
2.3

17 km
Alboran Sea, 34 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
Sep 28, 2021 5:57 am (GMT +2) (Sep 28, 2021 03:57 GMT)
2.8

74 km
7.7 km northeast of Mijas, Malaga, Andalusia, Spain MoreMap
Monday, September 27, 2021 22:14 GMT (12 earthquakes)
Sep 27, 2021 9:14 pm (GMT -1) (Sep 27, 2021 22:14 GMT)
2.4

20 km
551 km (342 mi)North Atlantic Ocean, 85 km west of Peniche, Leiria, Portugal MoreMap
Sep 27, 2021 8:44 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 27, 2021 18:44 GMT)
2.9

10 km
143 km (89 mi)38 km southeast of Fuenlabrada, Madrid, Spain 10 reportsMoreMap
Sep 27, 2021 5:27 pm (GMT +1) (Sep 27, 2021 16:27 GMT)
2.6

16 km
382 km (237 mi)Alboran Sea, 35 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
Sep 27, 2021 3:57 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 27, 2021 13:57 GMT)
2.6

27 km
379 km (235 mi)Alboran Sea, 48 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
Sep 27, 2021 12:43 pm (GMT +1) (Sep 27, 2021 11:43 GMT)
2.6

14 km
382 km (237 mi)Alboran Sea, 37 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
Sep 27, 2021 11:08 am (GMT +1) (Sep 27, 2021 10:08 GMT)
2.6

12 km
382 km (237 mi)Alboran Sea, 34 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
Sep 27, 2021 10:18 am (GMT +1) (Sep 27, 2021 09:18 GMT)
2.9

15 km
377 km (234 mi)Alboran Sea, 53 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
Sep 27, 2021 8:21 am (GMT +2) (Sep 27, 2021 06:21 GMT)
3.1

5 km
190 km (118 mi)18 km west of Toulouse, Upper Garonne, Occitanie, France
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sep 27, 2021 7:05 am (GMT +1) (Sep 27, 2021 06:05 GMT)
3.2

10 km
4 km (2.5 mi)La Palma Island, 11 km south of Los Llanos de Aridane, Spain
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Sep 27, 2021 7:52 am (GMT +2) (Sep 27, 2021 05:52 GMT)
2.7

11 km
532 km (331 mi)Spain: NW MONDARIZ-BALNEARIO.PO 4 reportsMoreMap
Sep 27, 2021 6:09 am (GMT +1) (Sep 27, 2021 05:09 GMT)
2.7

10 km
2 km (1.2 mi)La Palma Island, 12 km southeast of Los Llanos de Aridane, Spain MoreMap
Sep 27, 2021 5:17 am (GMT +1) (Sep 27, 2021 04:17 GMT)
2.6

10 km
3 km (1.9 mi)La Palma Island, 14 km southeast of Los Llanos de Aridane, Spain MoreMap
Sunday, September 26, 2021 16:22 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Sep 26, 2021 5:22 pm (GMT +1) (Sep 26, 2021 16:22 GMT)
3.1

10 km
380 km (236 mi)Alboran Sea, 41 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sep 26, 2021 5:05 pm (GMT +1) (Sep 26, 2021 16:05 GMT)
2.6

5 km
378 km (235 mi)Alboran Sea, 34 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sep 26, 2021 2:19 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 26, 2021 12:19 GMT)
2.6

10 km
189 km (117 mi)24 km west of Caravaca, Murcia, Spain MoreMap
Sep 26, 2021 2:46 am (GMT +1) (Sep 26, 2021 01:46 GMT)
2.6

13 km
1 km (0.6 mi)La Palma Island, 12 km southeast of Los Llanos de Aridane, Spain MoreMap
Saturday, September 25, 2021 08:16 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Sep 25, 2021 9:16 am (GMT +1) (Sep 25, 2021 08:16 GMT)
2.6

10 km
388 km (241 mi)Alboran Sea, 32 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
Sep 25, 2021 6:22 am (GMT +1) (Sep 25, 2021 05:22 GMT)
2.6

12 km
4 km (2.5 mi)La Palma Island, 14 km southeast of Los Llanos de Aridane, Spain MoreMap
Sep 25, 2021 2:42 am (GMT +1) (Sep 25, 2021 01:42 GMT)
2.8

11 km
2 km (1.2 mi)La Palma Island, 12 km southeast of Los Llanos de Aridane, Spain MoreMap
Friday, September 24, 2021 23:48 GMT (6 earthquakes)
Sep 25, 2021 12:48 am (GMT +1) (Sep 24, 2021 23:48 GMT)
2.7

11 km
2 km (1.2 mi)La Palma Island, 12 km southeast of Los Llanos de Aridane, Spain 1 reportMoreMap
Sep 24, 2021 12:04 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 24, 2021 10:04 GMT)
2.6

8.6 km
240 km (149 mi)16 km southwest of Lourdes, Hautes-Pyrénées, Occitanie, France
I FELT IT - 5 reports
MoreMap
Sep 24, 2021 6:49 am (GMT +2) (Sep 24, 2021 04:49 GMT)
2.0

5 km
304 km (189 mi)5.9 km north of Torrevieja, Alicante, Valencia, Spain 32 reportsMoreMap
Sep 24, 2021 6:24 am (GMT +2) (Sep 24, 2021 04:24 GMT)
2.7

10 km
366 km (227 mi)Alboran Sea, 41 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
Sep 24, 2021 3:32 am (GMT +1) (Sep 24, 2021 02:32 GMT)
2.3

10 km
433 km (269 mi)Monchique Municipality, 23 km north of Portimão, Faro, Portugal 3 reportsMoreMap
Sep 24, 2021 2:31 am (GMT +2) (Sep 24, 2021 00:31 GMT)
3.7

2 km
367 km (228 mi)Alboran Sea, 36 km north of Al Hoceima, Morocco
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Thursday, September 23, 2021 21:08 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Sep 23, 2021 11:08 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 23, 2021 21:08 GMT)
2.0
271 km (168 mi)4.9 km south of Murcia, Spain 3 reportsMoreMap
Sep 23, 2021 4:15 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 23, 2021 14:15 GMT)
2.6

20 km
374 km (232 mi)Alboran Sea, 41 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
Sep 23, 2021 1:07 pm (GMT +1) (Sep 23, 2021 12:07 GMT)
2.6

13 km
4 km (2.5 mi)La Palma Island, 15 km southeast of Los Llanos de Aridane, Spain 2 reportsMoreMap
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 23:14 GMT (5 earthquakes)
Sep 23, 2021 12:14 am (GMT +1) (Sep 22, 2021 23:14 GMT)
2.7
380 km (236 mi)Alboran Sea, 37 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sep 22, 2021 9:58 pm (GMT +1) (Sep 22, 2021 20:58 GMT)
3.0

10 km
3 km (1.9 mi)La Palma Island, 10.2 km southeast of Los Llanos de Aridane, Spain
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Sep 22, 2021 4:48 pm (GMT -1) (Sep 22, 2021 17:48 GMT)
2.7

25 km
412 km (256 mi)North Atlantic Ocean, 62 km southeast of Faro, Portugal MoreMap
Sep 22, 2021 4:06 am (GMT -1) (Sep 22, 2021 05:06 GMT)
3.3

24 km
806 km (501 mi)Portugal: ATLÁNTICO
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Sep 22, 2021 1:18 am (GMT -1) (Sep 22, 2021 02:18 GMT)
3.5

50 km
581 km (361 mi)AZORES-CABO DE SAN VICENTE
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tuesday, September 21, 2021 14:09 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 21, 2021 4:09 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 21, 2021 14:09 GMT)
2.6

22 km
370 km (230 mi)Alboran Sea, 38 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco MoreMap
Sep 21, 2021 9:08 am (GMT +1) (Sep 21, 2021 08:08 GMT)
3.0

1 km
7 km (4.3 mi)La Palma Island, 4.9 km south of Los Llanos de Aridane, Spain
I FELT IT - 4 reports
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 7 x 1010 joules (19.4 megawatt hours, equivalent to 16.6 tons of TNT) More info
Show more
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.