Latest earthquakes in Sweden: list & interactive map

Updated Oct 17, 2021 05:38 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Sweden had 14 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 36 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 2.4 quake 4.7 km west of Kiruna, Norrbotten, Sweden, Sep 28, 2021 3:19 pm (GMT +2)
Most recent quake: 1.3 quake EASTERN GOETALAND SWEDEN Oct 15, 2021 1:05 pm (GMT +2)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (50 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, October 15, 2021 11:05 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 15, 2021 1:05 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 15, 2021 11:05 GMT)
1.3
1101 km (684 mi)EASTERN GOETALAND SWEDEN MoreMap
Thursday, October 14, 2021 17:02 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Oct 14, 2021 7:02 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 14, 2021 17:02 GMT)
2.0
1238 km (769 mi)Gällivare kommun, Norrbotten, Sweden MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 3:07 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 14, 2021 13:07 GMT)
1.1
1040 km (646 mi)Norway: VAERMLAND REGION SWEDEN MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 1:37 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 14, 2021 11:37 GMT)
1.1
1202 km (747 mi)GAEVLEBORG REGION SWEDEN MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 12:00 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 14, 2021 10:00 GMT)
2.0
1120 km (696 mi)Arjeplogs Kommun, Norrbotten, Sweden MoreMap
Wednesday, October 13, 2021 13:38 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Oct 13, 2021 4:38 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 13, 2021 13:38 GMT)
2.1
1301 km (808 mi)Vakka-Suomi, Finland Proper, Finland MoreMap
Oct 13, 2021 3:00 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 13, 2021 13:00 GMT)
2.1
1330 km (826 mi)Gulf of Finland, Estonia MoreMap
Oct 13, 2021 3:05 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 13, 2021 12:05 GMT)
1.7
1297 km (806 mi)Gulf of Bothnia, Finland MoreMap
Oct 13, 2021 11:05 am (GMT +3) (Oct 13, 2021 08:05 GMT)
2.0
1285 km (798 mi)Gulf of Bothnia, Åland Islands MoreMap
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 13:05 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 12, 2021 4:05 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 12, 2021 13:05 GMT)
1.9
1261 km (784 mi)SOUTHWESTERN FINLAND FINLAND MoreMap
Monday, October 11, 2021 17:00 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 11, 2021 7:00 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 11, 2021 17:00 GMT)
2.0
1220 km (758 mi)CENTRAL NORBOTTEN SWEDEN MoreMap
Saturday, October 9, 2021 21:01 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 10, 2021 12:01 am (GMT +3) (Oct 9, 2021 21:01 GMT)
0.6

6.2 km
1339 km (832 mi)KOLARI, FINLAND MoreMap
Friday, October 8, 2021 14:39 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 8, 2021 4:39 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 8, 2021 14:39 GMT)
1.3
1090 km (677 mi)VAESTMANLAND REGION SWEDEN MoreMap
Thursday, October 7, 2021 14:04 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 7, 2021 5:04 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 7, 2021 14:04 GMT)
1.3
1370 km (851 mi)Finland: SOUTHERN GULF OF BOTHNIA MoreMap
Tuesday, October 5, 2021 17:07 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 5, 2021 7:07 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 5, 2021 17:07 GMT)
1.7
1291 km (802 mi)Överkalix Kommun, 130 km north of Luleå, Norrbotten, Sweden MoreMap
Oct 5, 2021 1:40 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 5, 2021 11:40 GMT)
1.8
987 km (613 mi)Värmland, 32 km northwest of Mariestad, Västra Götaland, Sweden MoreMap
Monday, October 4, 2021 18:22 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 4, 2021 9:22 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 4, 2021 18:22 GMT)
1.9
1290 km (802 mi)Gulf of Bothnia, Åland Islands, 40 km southwest of Uusikaupunki, Finland Proper MoreMap
Oct 4, 2021 2:50 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 4, 2021 12:50 GMT)
1.0
1008 km (626 mi)VAERMLAND REGION SWEDEN MoreMap
Saturday, October 2, 2021 21:39 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 3, 2021 12:39 am (GMT +3) (Oct 2, 2021 21:39 GMT)
1.8
1353 km (841 mi)Torniolaakso, 80 km northwest of Rovaniemi, Lapland, Finland MoreMap
Oct 2, 2021 9:22 am (GMT +2) (Oct 2, 2021 07:22 GMT)
2.2
1231 km (765 mi)88 km east of Kiruna, Norrbotten, Sweden MoreMap
Friday, October 1, 2021 10:55 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 1, 2021 12:55 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 1, 2021 10:55 GMT)
1.2
1101 km (684 mi)EASTERN GOETALAND SWEDEN MoreMap
Thursday, September 30, 2021 17:00 GMT (6 earthquakes)
Sep 30, 2021 7:00 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 30, 2021 17:00 GMT)
1.9
1201 km (746 mi)9.4 km northwest of Gällivare, Norrbotten, Sweden MoreMap
Sep 30, 2021 1:53 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 30, 2021 11:53 GMT)
1.6
1014 km (630 mi)Halden, 15 km southeast of Sarpsborg, Viken, Norway MoreMap
Sep 30, 2021 12:17 pm (GMT +1) (Sep 30, 2021 11:17 GMT)
2.2
865 km (537 mi)Baltic Sea, 61 km southwest of Liepāja, Latvia MoreMap
Sep 30, 2021 12:25 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 30, 2021 10:25 GMT)
1.8
1305 km (811 mi)Överkalix Kommun, 124 km north of Luleå, Norrbotten, Sweden MoreMap
Sep 30, 2021 11:59 am (GMT +3) (Sep 30, 2021 08:59 GMT)
1.6
1563 km (971 mi)34 km east of Kokola, Kokkola, Central Ostrobothnia, Finland MoreMap
Sep 30, 2021 3:14 am (GMT +2) (Sep 30, 2021 01:14 GMT)
2.0
1242 km (772 mi)32 km southeast of Gällivare, Norrbotten, Sweden MoreMap
Wednesday, September 29, 2021 00:19 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 29, 2021 2:19 am (GMT +2) (Sep 29, 2021 00:19 GMT)
1.0

6 km
1413 km (878 mi)BOTHNIAN BAY, SWEDEN MoreMap
Tuesday, September 28, 2021 17:00 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Sep 28, 2021 7:00 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 28, 2021 17:00 GMT)
2.3
1210 km (752 mi)16 km northeast of Gällivare, Norrbotten, Sweden MoreMap
Sep 28, 2021 3:54 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 28, 2021 13:54 GMT)
0.6

7.7 km
1256 km (780 mi)NORRBOTTEN, SWEDEN MoreMap
Sep 28, 2021 3:19 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 28, 2021 13:19 GMT)
2.4
1147 km (713 mi)4.7 km west of Kiruna, Norrbotten, Sweden MoreMap
Sep 28, 2021 1:52 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 28, 2021 11:52 GMT)
1.2
1181 km (734 mi)CENTRAL FINNMARK NORWAY MoreMap
Monday, September 27, 2021 23:41 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Sep 28, 2021 1:41 am (GMT +2) (Sep 27, 2021 23:41 GMT)
1.8
1183 km (735 mi)29 km west of Gällivare, Norrbotten, Sweden MoreMap
Sep 27, 2021 4:07 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 27, 2021 14:07 GMT)
1.2
1186 km (737 mi)VAESTMANLAND REGION SWEDEN MoreMap
Sep 27, 2021 12:50 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 27, 2021 10:50 GMT)
2.2
1013 km (629 mi)Kristinehamns Kommun, 44 km southeast of Karlstad, Värmland, Sweden MoreMap
Saturday, September 25, 2021 23:49 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 26, 2021 1:49 am (GMT +2) (Sep 25, 2021 23:49 GMT)
1.5

10 km
1137 km (706 mi)49 km north of Kiruna, Norrbotten, Sweden MoreMap
Friday, September 24, 2021 07:01 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 24, 2021 9:01 am (GMT +2) (Sep 24, 2021 07:01 GMT)
1.3
951 km (591 mi)VAERMLAND REGION SWEDEN MoreMap
Thursday, September 23, 2021 12:15 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Sep 23, 2021 3:15 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 23, 2021 12:15 GMT)
2.0
1339 km (832 mi)Gulf of Finland, 23 km south of Kirkkonummi, Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland MoreMap
Sep 23, 2021 2:00 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 23, 2021 12:00 GMT)
1.6
1329 km (826 mi)Gulf of Finland, 36 km northwest of Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia MoreMap
Sep 23, 2021 2:16 am (GMT +2) (Sep 23, 2021 00:16 GMT)
0.7

10 km
1240 km (771 mi)NORRBOTTEN, SWEDEN MoreMap
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 17:19 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 22, 2021 8:19 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 22, 2021 17:19 GMT)
2.1
1325 km (823 mi)Raaseporin, 37 km south of Lohja, Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland MoreMap
Sep 22, 2021 12:07 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 22, 2021 10:07 GMT)
1.1
1211 km (752 mi)GAEVLEBORG REGION SWEDEN MoreMap
Monday, September 20, 2021 22:29 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Sep 21, 2021 12:29 am (GMT +2) (Sep 20, 2021 22:29 GMT)
1.8
1383 km (859 mi)Sollefteå Kommun, 60 km west of Örnsköldsvik, Västernorrland, Sweden MoreMap
Sep 20, 2021 2:16 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 20, 2021 12:16 GMT)
1.2
1097 km (682 mi)KOPPARBERG REGION SWEDEN MoreMap
Sep 20, 2021 2:02 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 20, 2021 12:02 GMT)
1.1
1028 km (639 mi)VAERMLAND REGION SWEDEN MoreMap
Friday, September 17, 2021 17:03 GMT (5 earthquakes)
Sep 17, 2021 7:03 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 17, 2021 17:03 GMT)
1.6
1229 km (764 mi)23 km east of Gällivare, Norrbotten, Sweden MoreMap
Sep 17, 2021 6:18 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 17, 2021 16:18 GMT)
1.8
1300 km (808 mi)Pajala Kommun, 138 km north of Luleå, Norrbotten, Sweden MoreMap
Sep 17, 2021 4:14 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 17, 2021 14:14 GMT)
1.8
1185 km (736 mi)Hedemora Municipality, Dalarna, 16 km south of Hofors, Gävleborg, Sweden MoreMap
Sep 17, 2021 3:40 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 17, 2021 13:40 GMT)
1.3
904 km (562 mi)Sweden: SKAGERRAK MoreMap
Sep 17, 2021 12:30 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 17, 2021 09:30 GMT)
1.6
1549 km (963 mi)Raahe, 16 km north of Oulainen, Ylivieska, North Ostrobothnia, Finland MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2 x 109 joules (557 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.479 tons of TNT) More info
Show more
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.