Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest earthquakes in Syria - list and map

0 quakes Mag. 2+
Number of quakes vs average, past 24 hours
Updated: Feb 29, 2024 15:36 GMT -
  • 0 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 1 quake below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
Latest today: Mag. 1.0 Earthquake 51 km NW of Tunceli, Tunceli, Turkey -
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
in sec
Showing quakes magnitude 0.5 or higher, within up to 300 km (186 mi) distance (17 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Feb 29, 05:41 pm (Istanbul)
Feb 29, 14:41 GMT

1.0

7 km
278 km (173 mi) to the N 51 km northwest of Tunceli, Tunceli, Turkey More
Feb 29, 05:03 pm (Istanbul)
Feb 29, 14:03 GMT

1.3

7 km
118 km (73 mi) to the N 45 km south of Malatya, Malatya, Turkey More
Feb 29, 04:52 pm (Damascus)
Feb 29, 13:52 GMT

1.9

23 km
13 km northeast of Salqīn, Idlib, Syria More
Feb 29, 04:43 pm (Istanbul)
Feb 29, 13:43 GMT

1.6

19 km
246 km (153 mi) to the W 13 km east of Bozyazı, Mersin, Turkey More
Feb 29, 04:25 pm (Istanbul)
Feb 29, 13:25 GMT

2.0

10.4 km
187 km (116 mi) to the N 16 km northeast of Elbistan, Kahramanmaraş, Turkey More
Feb 29, 04:23 pm (Istanbul)
Feb 29, 13:23 GMT

3.0

7 km
55 km (34 mi) to the N 35 km south of Kahramanmaraş, Kahramanmaraş, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Feb 29, 04:19 pm (Istanbul)
Feb 29, 13:19 GMT

1.5

7 km
58 km (36 mi) to the N 34 km south of Kahramanmaraş, Kahramanmaraş, Turkey More
Feb 29, 04:07 pm (Istanbul)
Feb 29, 13:07 GMT

2.1

7 km
108 km (67 mi) to the NW 42 km northwest of Kahramanmaraş, Kahramanmaraş, Turkey More
Feb 29, 03:18 pm (Istanbul)
Feb 29, 12:18 GMT

1.1

7 km
119 km (74 mi) to the N 44 km south of Malatya, Malatya, Turkey More
Feb 29, 03:09 pm (Istanbul)
Feb 29, 12:09 GMT

2.1

8 km
147 km (91 mi) to the N 13 km southwest of Malatya, Malatya, Turkey More
Feb 29, 02:54 pm (Istanbul)
Feb 29, 11:54 GMT

1.6

7 km
216 km (134 mi) to the NE 39 km northeast of Bingol, Bingöl, Turkey More
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.5 x 109 joules (685 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.59 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Syria Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Quakes, magnitude and depth over time

Past 7 days
14 days
30 days
1 year
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: GEOFON Station Eilat, Israel (EIL/GE network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station GEOFON Station Eilat, Israel: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Number of quakes per year

Note:
The apparent increase in the number of quakes since around 2010 is not because seismic activity has increased, but mostly due to three factors:
1) We only started to systematically collect seismic data for smaller quakes worldwide since 2010.
2) The number of seismic networks around the world and their sensitivity to detect smaller quakes has increased drastically in recent years.
3) Data availability through the internet has increased significantly as well. Many national agencies only started reporting earthquakes publicly in the past 10 years or so.

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 8,700 quakes on average per year in Syria:
  • Mag. 7 or higher: 0.02 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 50 years)
  • Mag. 6 or higher: 0.06 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 16.7 years)
  • Mag. 5 or higher: 1.05 quakes per year
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 16.1 quakes per year
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 96 quakes per year
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 453 quakes per year (or 37.8 quakes per month)
  • Mag. 1 or higher: 853 quakes per year (or 71 quakes per month)
Syria has relatively few earthquakes. However, Syria has had at least 3 quakes above magnitude 6 since 1970, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 15 to 20 years.

Number of recent quakes in or near Syria by magnitude

Past 24 hours
7 days
30 days
90 days
365 days
3 years
10 years
Table
Mag
 
Number of quakes (3 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
-
no quakes Mag 3 or higher
below M2
3 quakes
(100%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (29 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
-
no quakes Mag 3 or higher
2+
11 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (37.93%)
below M2
18 quakes
(62.07%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (167 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
1 quake
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (0.6%)
3+
7 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (4.19%)
2+
47 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (28.14%)
below M2
112 quakes
(67.07%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (548 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
4 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (0.73%)
3+
19 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (3.47%)
2+
145 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (26.46%)
below M2
380 quakes
(69.34%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (4,481 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
26 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (0.58%)
3+
226 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (5.04%)
2+
1,470 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (32.81%)
below M2
2,759 quakes
(61.57%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (6,712 in total as 100%)
7+
1 quake
Mag 7 or higher (0.01%)
6+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (0.03%)
5+
8 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.12%)
4+
123 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (1.83%)
3+
571 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (8.51%)
2+
2,509 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (37.38%)
below M2
3,498 quakes
(52.12%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (8,735 in total as 100%)
7+
1 quake
Mag 7 or higher (0.01%)
6+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (0.02%)
5+
10 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.11%)
4+
154 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (1.76%)
3+
810 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (9.27%)
2+
3,630 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (41.56%)
below M2
4,128 quakes
(47.26%)
Total number<M2M2+M3+M4+M5+M6+M7+
Past 24 hours3 quakes3------
Past 7 days29 quakes1811-----
Past 30 days167 quakes1124771---
Past 90 days548 quakes375145194---
Past 365 days4,481 quakes2,7141,47022626---
Past 3 years6,712 quakes3,4452,509571123821
Past 10 years8,735 quakes4,0753,6308101541021
Magnitude 0.0+, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance, updated

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Magnitude and seismic energy over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: Past 90 days
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 30 days
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 7 days
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 24 hours
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 2023
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 2024 so far

Magnitude and energy distribution

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Magnitude and energy distribution: Past 90 days
Magnitude and energy distribution: 30 days
Magnitude and energy distribution: 7 days
Magnitude and energy distribution: 24 hours
Magnitude and energy distribution: 2023
Magnitude and energy distribution: 2024 so far

Syria Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in Syria?

Syria has relatively few earthquakes. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 8,700 quakes on average per year in Syria. However, Syria has had at least 3 quakes above magnitude 6 since 1970, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 15 to 20 years.

When was the latest earthquake in or near Syria?

The last earthquake in or near Syria occurred 55 minutes ago:

A light magnitude 1.0 earthquake hit 51 km (32 mi) away from Tunceli, Tunceli,  Turkey, in the afternoon of Thursday, Feb 29, 2024 at 5.41 pm local time (Europe/Istanbul GMT +3). The quake had a very shallow depth of 7 km (4.3 mi) and was too small to be felt by people.

How many quakes were there in or near Syria in the past 6 hours?

In the past 6 hours, Syria has had 0 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above.

What was the strongest quake in or near Syria in the past 6 hours?

The strongest earthquake in or near Syria in the past 6 hours occurred 2 hours and 13 minutes ago:

A light magnitude 3.0 earthquake hit 35 km (22 mi) away from Kahramanmaraş, Kahramanmaraş,  Turkey, in the afternoon of Thursday, Feb 29, 2024 at 4.23 pm local time (Europe/Istanbul GMT +3). The quake had a very shallow depth of 7 km (4.3 mi) and was not felt (or at least not reported so).

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near Syria

Strongest in over 100 years

The largest quake that occurred in or near Syria during the past 100 years was a magnitude 7.8 earthquake that hit Gaziantep,  Turkey, 1 year 3 weeks ago on Monday, Feb 6, 2023, at 04:17 am local time (Europe/Istanbul GMT +3).

This was the largest earthquake to have occurred in or near Syria in more than 100 years (since 1900).
Below is a list and map of the largest quakes in or near Syria in recent years and since 1900.
Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap
Feb 20, 2023 17:07 GMT
Feb 20, 2023 08:07 pm (Istanbul)
5.5

10 km
25 km (16 mi) to the NW 23 km west of Antioch, Hatay, Turkey 5 reportsMore
Feb 20, 2023 17:04 GMT
Feb 20, 2023 08:04 pm (Istanbul)
6.3

16 km
22 km (14 mi) to the NW 17 km southwest of Antioch, Hatay, Turkey 1314 reportsMore
Feb 16, 2023 19:47 GMT
Feb 16, 2023 10:47 pm (Istanbul)
5.2

10 km
30 km (19 mi) to the NW Eastern Mediterranean, 33 km west of Antioch, Hatay, Turkey 202 reportsMore
Feb 6, 2023 20:37 GMT
Feb 6, 2023 11:37 pm (Istanbul)
5.3

10 km
48 km (30 mi) to the N 30 km northwest of Gaziantep, Gaziantep, Turkey 19 reportsMore
Feb 6, 2023 02:23 GMT
Feb 6, 2023 05:23 am (Istanbul)
5.2

11 km
47 km (29 mi) to the N 40 km northwest of Gaziantep, Gaziantep, Turkey 5 reportsMore
Feb 6, 2023 01:58 GMT
Feb 6, 2023 04:58 am (Istanbul)
5.1

10 km
30 km (19 mi) to the NW Gaziantep, 32 km east of Osmaniye, Osmaniye, Turkey 3 reportsMore
Feb 6, 2023 01:36 GMT
Feb 6, 2023 04:36 am (Istanbul)
5.6

10 km
21 km (13 mi) to the NW 57 km west of Gaziantep, Gaziantep, Turkey 14 reportsMore
Feb 6, 2023 01:28 GMT
Feb 6, 2023 04:28 am (Istanbul)
6.7

15 km
39 km (24 mi) to the N 40 km west of Gaziantep, Gaziantep, Turkey 422 reportsMore
Feb 6, 2023 01:26 GMT
Feb 6, 2023 04:26 am (Istanbul)
5.6

17 km
34 km (21 mi) to the N 26 km west of Gaziantep, Gaziantep, Turkey More
Feb 6, 2023 01:17 GMT
Feb 6, 2023 04:17 am (Istanbul)
7.8

18 km
44 km (27 mi) to the N 32 km west of Gaziantep, Gaziantep, Turkey 3088 reportsMore
Jul 6, 2020 22:54 GMT
Jul 7, 2020 01:54 am (Damascus)
5.1

4.9 km
46 km east of Dayr az Zawr, Deir ez-Zor, Syria 3 reportsMore
Jul 28, 2016 16:13 GMT
Jul 28, 2016 07:13 pm (Damascus)
5.2

5 km
Homs, 310 km northeast of Damascus, Dimashq, Syria More
Jun 14, 2012 05:52 GMT
Jun 14, 2012 08:52 am (Istanbul)
5.3

5.4 km
4 km (2.5 mi) to the NE 1.8 km northwest of Pınarönü, Şırnak, Turkey More
Jun 17, 2009 04:29 GMT
Jun 17, 2009 07:29 am (Istanbul)
5.0

10.4 km
16 km (9.9 mi) to the NW 22 km southwest of Antioch, Hatay, Turkey More
Feb 15, 2008 10:36 GMT
Feb 15, 2008 01:36 pm (Beirut)
5.1

10 km
30 km (19 mi) to the SW 12 km northeast of Tyros, South Governorate, Lebanon More
Mar 29, 2006 22:05 GMT
Mar 30, 2006 12:05 am (GMT +2)
5.0

27 km
45 km (28 mi) to the W 45 km southwest of Latakia, Latakia, Syria More
Mar 26, 1997 04:22 GMT
Mar 26, 1997 07:22 am (Beirut)
5.0

10 km
20 km (12 mi) to the SW 3.1 km west of Nabatîyé et Tahta, Mohafazat Nabatîyé, Lebanon More
Jan 22, 1997 18:27 GMT
Jan 22, 1997 09:27 pm (Istanbul)
5.3

10 km
35 km (22 mi) to the NW 16 km northwest of Antioch, Hatay, Turkey More
Jan 22, 1997 18:24 GMT
Jan 22, 1997 09:24 pm (Istanbul)
5.1

10 km
35 km (22 mi) to the NW 21 km west of Antioch, Hatay, Turkey More
Jan 22, 1997 17:57 GMT
Jan 22, 1997 08:57 pm (Istanbul)
5.7

10 km
36 km (22 mi) to the NW 19 km west of Antioch, Hatay, Turkey More
Dec 24, 1996 22:16 GMT
Dec 25, 1996 01:16 am (Damascus)
5.5

29 km
49 km southeast of Palmyra, Homs, Syria More
Nov 20, 1994 14:31 GMT
Nov 20, 1994 05:31 pm (Damascus)
5.4

29 km
53 km west of Dayr az Zawr, Deir ez-Zor, Syria More
Mar 16, 1956 19:43 GMT
Mar 16, 1956 10:43 pm (Beirut)
5.5

15 km
12 km (7.5 mi) to the SW 20 km southwest of Zahle, Mohafazat Béqaa, Lebanon More
Mar 16, 1956 19:32 GMT
Mar 16, 1956 10:32 pm (Beirut)
5.3

15 km
36 km (22 mi) to the SW 7 km southeast of Baabda, Mohafazat Mont-Liban, Lebanon More
Mar 24, 1953 21:17 GMT
Mar 25, 1953 12:17 am (Istanbul)
5.5

15 km
9 km (5.6 mi) to the NW 20 km northwest of Kilis, Kilis, Turkey More
Sep 29, 1918 12:07 GMT
Sep 29, 1918 02:07 pm (GMT +2)
6.6

15 km
25 km (16 mi) to the W 33 km northwest of Tartus, Tartus, Syria More
Dec 4, 1905 12:20 GMT
Dec 4, 1905 03:20 pm (Istanbul)
5.6

15 km
49 km (30 mi) to the N 6.3 km northeast of Sanliurfa, Şanlıurfa, Turkey More

Map of largest quakes in or near Syria

[smaller] [bigger]

Earthquakes in or near Syria

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings