Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or near Taiwan: past 30 days

Updated Nov 29, 2021 11:23 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Taiwan was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.1, 8 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, and 1 quake of magnitude 3.4.
Biggest quake: 5.1 quake Philippine Sea, Japan, 86 km east of Hualien City, Taiwan, Nov 24, 2021 5:55 pm (GMT +8)
Most recent quake: 4.0 quake Philippine Sea, 64 km east of Hengchun, Pingtung, Taiwan, Nov 26, 2021 5:15 am (GMT +8)
...Read More
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (10 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, November 25, 2021 21:15 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 26, 2021 5:15 am (GMT +8) (Nov 25, 2021 21:15 GMT)
4.0

120 km
Philippine Sea, 64 km east of Hengchun, Pingtung, Taiwan
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Wednesday, November 24, 2021 09:55 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 24, 2021 5:55 pm (GMT +8) (Nov 24, 2021 09:55 GMT)
5.1

27 km
Philippine Sea, Japan, 86 km east of Hualien City, Taiwan
I FELT IT - 6 reports
MoreMap
Monday, November 22, 2021 14:26 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Nov 22, 2021 11:26 pm (GMT +9) (Nov 22, 2021 14:26 GMT)
4.6

45 km
East China Sea, 49 km east of Kumi Island, Okinawa, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Nov 22, 2021 13:33 GMT
4.5

16 km
Philippine Sea, 142 km southeast of Taitung City, Taiwan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wednesday, November 17, 2021 02:25 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 17, 2021 11:25 am (GMT +9) (Nov 17, 2021 02:25 GMT)
4.9

10 km
Philippine Sea, 81 km southeast of Taipeh, Taipei City, Taiwan MoreMap
Sunday, November 14, 2021 13:05 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 14, 2021 9:05 pm (GMT +8) (Nov 14, 2021 13:05 GMT)
4.9

74 km
Philippine Sea, 33 km southeast of Yilan, Taiwan 14 reportsMoreMap
Friday, November 12, 2021 22:28 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 13, 2021 6:28 am (GMT +8) (Nov 12, 2021 22:28 GMT)
4.5

10 km
South China Sea, 94 km southwest of Hengchun, Pingtung, Taiwan MoreMap
Tuesday, November 9, 2021 18:24 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 10, 2021 3:24 am (GMT +9) (Nov 9, 2021 18:24 GMT)
4.8

26 km
Philippine Sea, 79 km east of Hualien City, Taiwan MoreMap
Monday, November 8, 2021 13:24 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 8, 2021 9:24 pm (GMT +8) (Nov 8, 2021 13:24 GMT)
3.4

31 km
South China Sea, Philippines, 107 km south of Hengchun, Pingtung, Taiwan MoreMap
Saturday, October 30, 2021 16:09 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 31, 2021 12:09 am (GMT +8) (Oct 30, 2021 16:09 GMT)
4.7

10 km
South China Sea, 70 km west of Basco, Batanes, Cagayan Valley, Philippines 1 reportMoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8.6 x 1012 joules (2.4 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 2063 tons of TNT or 0.1 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel