Past earthquakes in or near Taiwan: September 2021

Updated Nov 28, 2021 17:04 GMT -
During Sep 2021, Taiwan was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 5 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, and 1 quake of magnitude 3.4.
Biggest quake: 5.2 quake Philippine Sea, 66 km east of Hualien City, Taiwan, Sep 6, 2021 10:00 pm (GMT +8)
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (8 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, September 28, 2021 02:14 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 28, 2021 10:14 am (GMT +8) (Sep 28, 2021 02:14 GMT)
3.4

126 km
Philippine Sea, 67 km north of Basco, Batanes, Cagayan Valley, Philippines MoreMap
Saturday, September 25, 2021 22:21 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 26, 2021 6:21 am (GMT +8) (Sep 25, 2021 22:21 GMT)
5.0

44 km
39 km northeast of Hualien City, Taiwan 21 reportsMoreMap
Sunday, September 19, 2021 04:46 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 19, 2021 1:46 pm (GMT +9) (Sep 19, 2021 04:46 GMT)
4.3

100 km
Philippine Sea, 61 km east of Yilan, Taiwan MoreMap
Wednesday, September 15, 2021 10:50 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 15, 2021 6:50 pm (GMT +8) (Sep 15, 2021 10:50 GMT)
4.5

20 km
Taitung, 51 km northeast of Taitung City, Taiwan 1 reportMoreMap
Monday, September 13, 2021 10:41 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 13, 2021 6:41 pm (GMT +8) (Sep 13, 2021 10:41 GMT)
4.9

47 km
18 km north of Puli, Nantou, Taiwan 14 reportsMoreMap
Friday, September 10, 2021 05:45 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 10, 2021 2:45 pm (GMT +9) (Sep 10, 2021 05:45 GMT)
4.8

68 km
Philippine Sea, 68 km east of Hualien City, Taiwan 1 reportMoreMap
Monday, September 6, 2021 14:00 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 6, 2021 10:00 pm (GMT +8) (Sep 6, 2021 14:00 GMT)
5.2

42 km
Philippine Sea, 66 km east of Hualien City, Taiwan 14 reportsMoreMap
Thursday, September 2, 2021 10:57 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 2, 2021 6:57 pm (GMT +8) (Sep 2, 2021 10:57 GMT)
4.3

10 km
49 km northeast of Tainan City, Taiwan 2 reportsMoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 9.1 x 1012 joules (2.53 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 2177 tons of TNT or 0.1 atomic bombs!) More info
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel