Latest and past earthquakes in or near Texas, USA

Updated Oct 19, 2021 22:44 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Texas was shaken by 5 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 18 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 20 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.9 quake Muzquiz, 26 km southwest of Sabinas, Coahuila, Mexico, Oct 16, 2021 10:41 am (GMT -5)
Biggest quake today: 2.9 quake Reeves County, Texas, 50 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA, Oct 19, 2021 5:09 pm (GMT -5)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (43 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, October 19, 2021 22:09 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 19, 2021 5:09 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 19, 2021 22:09 GMT)
2.9

7.4 km
292 km (181 mi)Reeves County, Texas, 50 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 3:23 am (GMT -5) (Oct 19, 2021 08:23 GMT)
2.4

7.8 km
304 km (189 mi)35 Km NW of Toyah, Texas MoreMap
Oct 18, 2021 7:12 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 19, 2021 00:12 GMT)
1.9

8.5 km
704 km (437 mi)16 Km SE of Waynoka, Oklahoma MoreMap
Monday, October 18, 2021 23:27 GMT (8 earthquakes)
Oct 18, 2021 6:27 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 18, 2021 23:27 GMT)
1.6

8.3 km
701 km (436 mi)17 Km SSE of Waynoka, Oklahoma MoreMap
Oct 18, 2021 4:12 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 18, 2021 21:12 GMT)
1.9

7.8 km
832 km (517 mi)9 Km ENE of Orlando, Oklahoma MoreMap
Oct 18, 2021 12:16 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 18, 2021 17:16 GMT)
1.5
836 km (519 mi)Quarry Blast - 4 Km W of Mill Creek, Oklahoma MoreMap
Oct 18, 2021 3:08 am (GMT -5) (Oct 18, 2021 08:08 GMT)
3.2

6.2 km
298 km (185 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 60 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 18, 2021 3:07 am (GMT -5) (Oct 18, 2021 08:07 GMT)
3.5

7.5 km
298 km (185 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 60 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 18, 2021 12:32 am (GMT -5) (Oct 18, 2021 05:32 GMT)
1.8

6.6 km
978 km (608 mi)1 Km NW of Quinton, Oklahoma MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 11:14 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 18, 2021 04:14 GMT)
2.6

7.2 km
293 km (182 mi)37 Km W of Mentone, Texas
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 7:27 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 18, 2021 00:27 GMT)
2.9

7 km
269 km (167 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 56 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sunday, October 17, 2021 19:23 GMT (7 earthquakes)
Oct 17, 2021 2:23 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 17, 2021 19:23 GMT)
1.0

5.1 km
981 km (610 mi)2 Km ENE of Quinton, Oklahoma MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 2:00 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 17, 2021 19:00 GMT)
3.4

7.7 km
291 km (181 mi)Reeves County, Texas, 51 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 1:57 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 17, 2021 18:57 GMT)
0.7

7 km
685 km (426 mi)9 Km NE of Quinlan, Oklahoma MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 12:57 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 17, 2021 17:57 GMT)
0.9

7.9 km
685 km (426 mi)9 Km NE of Quinlan, Oklahoma MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 11:58 am (GMT -5) (Oct 17, 2021 16:58 GMT)
2.9

7.8 km
293 km (182 mi)Reeves County, Texas, 50 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 11:45 am (GMT -5) (Oct 17, 2021 16:45 GMT)
2.0

5 km
839 km (521 mi)5 Km NE of Braman, Oklahoma MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 9:14 am (GMT -5) (Oct 17, 2021 14:14 GMT)
1.4

18 km
722 km (449 mi)11 Km WSW of Cleo Springs, Oklahoma MoreMap
Saturday, October 16, 2021 22:34 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 16, 2021 5:34 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 16, 2021 22:34 GMT)
2.5

12 km
277 km (172 mi)57 Km S of Whites City, New Mexico MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 10:41 am (GMT -5) (Oct 16, 2021 15:41 GMT)
3.9

5 km
422 km (262 mi)Muzquiz, 26 km southwest of Sabinas, Coahuila, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 4:09 am (GMT -6) (Oct 16, 2021 10:09 GMT)
2.7

5.6 km
47 km (29 mi)9.1 mi northwest of Santa Teresa, Rio Arriba County, New Mexico, USA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Friday, October 15, 2021 19:37 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Oct 15, 2021 2:37 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 15, 2021 19:37 GMT)
2.1

6.2 km
290 km (180 mi)51 Km NW of Toyah, Texas MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 1:06 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 15, 2021 18:06 GMT)
1.9

5.4 km
805 km (500 mi)2 Km NW of Renfrow, Oklahoma MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 12:08 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 15, 2021 17:08 GMT)
1.4
949 km (590 mi)Quarry Blast - 6 Km NE of Tulsa, Oklahoma MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 4:55 am (GMT -5) (Oct 15, 2021 09:55 GMT)
2.0

3.9 km
377 km (234 mi)27 Km SSE of Lindsay, Texas MoreMap
Thursday, October 14, 2021 23:22 GMT (11 earthquakes)
Oct 14, 2021 6:22 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 14, 2021 23:22 GMT)
2.7

7.5 km
274 km (170 mi)Culberson County, Texas, 52 mi south of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 5:05 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 14, 2021 22:05 GMT)
3.3

7.5 km
280 km (174 mi)Reeves County, Texas, 36 mi southeast of Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, USA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 4:38 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 14, 2021 21:38 GMT)
1.9
962 km (598 mi)Quarry Blast - 5 Km ESE of Owasso, Oklahoma MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 3:48 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 14, 2021 20:48 GMT)
2.0
802 km (498 mi)Quarry Blast - 10 Km SE of Katie, Oklahoma MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 3:20 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 14, 2021 20:20 GMT)
1.2

5.6 km
893 km (555 mi)6 Km W of Horntown, Oklahoma MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 10:20 am (GMT -5) (Oct 14, 2021 15:20 GMT)
1.6

6.9 km
830 km (516 mi)8 Km NNW of Coyle, Oklahoma MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 6:35 am (GMT -5) (Oct 14, 2021 11:35 GMT)
1.4

6.1 km
774 km (481 mi)2 Km SSE of Meno, Oklahoma MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 1:07 am (GMT -5) (Oct 14, 2021 06:07 GMT)
2.1

7.5 km
284 km (176 mi)52 Km W of Mentone, Texas MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 1:06 am (GMT -5) (Oct 14, 2021 06:06 GMT)
1.1

5.9 km
874 km (543 mi)7 Km NW of Pawnee, Oklahoma MoreMap
Oct 13, 2021 11:26 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 14, 2021 04:26 GMT)
2.1

6.2 km
298 km (185 mi)23 Km WNW of Mentone, Texas MoreMap
Oct 13, 2021 7:26 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 14, 2021 00:26 GMT)
2.1

4 km
840 km (522 mi)20 Km SSE of Gonzales, Texas MoreMap
Wednesday, October 13, 2021 19:51 GMT (6 earthquakes)
Oct 13, 2021 2:51 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 13, 2021 19:51 GMT)
1.0

6 km
830 km (516 mi)8 Km NNW of Coyle, Oklahoma MoreMap
Oct 13, 2021 1:29 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 13, 2021 18:29 GMT)
1.4

7.9 km
704 km (437 mi)17 Km SE of Waynoka, Oklahoma MoreMap
Oct 13, 2021 12:42 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 13, 2021 17:42 GMT)
1.5

6.8 km
829 km (515 mi)9 Km NNW of Coyle, Oklahoma MoreMap
Oct 13, 2021 4:47 am (GMT -5) (Oct 13, 2021 09:47 GMT)
2.1

7 km
269 km (167 mi)58 Km SSW of Whites City, New Mexico MoreMap
Oct 12, 2021 10:19 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 13, 2021 03:19 GMT)
2.0

6.2 km
280 km (174 mi)58 Km S of Whites City, New Mexico MoreMap
Oct 12, 2021 7:19 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 13, 2021 00:19 GMT)
2.2

10.3 km
419 km (260 mi)6 Km S of Ackerly, Texas MoreMap
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 23:58 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 12, 2021 6:58 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 12, 2021 23:58 GMT)
1.3

8 km
862 km (536 mi)4 Km ESE of Morrison, Oklahoma MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8.1 x 1010 joules (22.6 megawatt hours, equivalent to 19.4 tons of TNT) More info
Show more
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.