Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes worldwide in the past 24 hours on Sunday, November 27, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Nov 27, 2022 03:19 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 8 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 49 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 75 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 226 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 335 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, there were 8 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 49 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 75 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 226 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 335 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A strong magnitude 5.6 earthquake occurred in North Pacific Ocean, Northern Mariana Islands, 21 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.0 | New Zealand -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 5.6 | North Pacific Ocean, Northern Mariana Islands -

Recent quakes above magnitude 3.0 worldwide (updated )

Past 24 hours132 quakes75 quakes M3+49 quakes M4+8 quakes M5+
Past 7 days1,099 quakes733 quakes M3+312 quakes M4+49 quakes M5+4 quakes M6+1 quake M7+
Past 30 days4,754 quakes3,327 quakes M3+1,243 quakes M4+166 quakes M5+14 quakes M6+4 quakes M7+
Past 90 days17,467 quakes12,875 quakes M3+4,120 quakes M4+425 quakes M5+40 quakes M6+7 quakes M7+
Past 365 days64,489 quakes46,889 quakes M3+15,713 quakes M4+1,741 quakes M5+132 quakes M6+14 quakes M7+
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Hide 7 unconfirmed quakes
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 1 or higher (611 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, November 27, 2022 GMT (75 quakes)
Nov 27, 2022 03:16 GMT
Nov 27, 2022 4:16 pm (GMT +13)
2.0

7.4 km
New Zealand More
Nov 27, 2022 03:14 GMT
Nov 26, 2022 10:14 pm (GMT -5)
?

n/a
10.4 mi northeast of Clinton, Sampson County, North Carolina, USA (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT
More
Nov 27, 2022 03:04 GMT
Nov 27, 2022 12:04 pm (GMT +9)
3.3

102 km
Banda Sea, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Nov 27, 2022 03:02 GMT
Nov 27, 2022 6:02 am (GMT +3)
2.0

3.8 km
35 km southeast of Seydişehir, Konya, Turkey More
Nov 27, 2022 03:01 GMT
Nov 26, 2022 9:01 pm (GMT -6)
?

n/a
1 mi west of Jackson, Hinds County, Mississippi, USA (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Nov 27, 2022 02:59 GMT
Nov 27, 2022 3:59 am (GMT +1)
2.0

1 km
Zagreb County, 24 km west of Zagreb, HR.21.3186885, City of Zagreb, Croatia More
Nov 27, 2022 02:58 GMT
Nov 27, 2022 3:58 pm (GMT +13)
1.5

12 km
New Zealand More
Nov 27, 2022 02:58 GMT
Nov 27, 2022 4:58 am (GMT +2)
1.5

5 km
Greece More
Nov 27, 2022 02:53 GMT
Nov 26, 2022 6:53 pm (GMT -8)
?

n/a
37 mi southeast of Oceanside, San Diego County, California, USA (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Nov 27, 2022 02:52 GMT
Nov 26, 2022 8:52 pm (GMT -6)
3.0

3 km
North Pacific Ocean, Departamento de Rio San Juan, 145 km west of Liberia, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Nov 27, 2022 02:51 GMT
Nov 27, 2022 3:51 pm (GMT +13)
1.7

68 km
Bay of Plenty, 32 km north of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Nov 27, 2022 02:50 GMT
Nov 26, 2022 7:50 pm (GMT -7)
5.2

10 km
South Pacific Ocean
I FELT IT
More
Nov 27, 2022 02:48 GMT
Nov 26, 2022 8:48 pm (GMT -6)
1.3

6 km
2 Km Al Sur De Volcán Telica, Nicaragua More
Nov 27, 2022 02:37 GMT
Nov 27, 2022 2:37 am (GMT +0)
1.2

1.5 km
Iceland: 3.8 Km SSW of Herðubreið More
Nov 27, 2022 02:35 GMT
Nov 27, 2022 10:35 am (GMT +8)
3.1

2 km
16 km southeast of Batac City, Province of Ilocos Norte, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Nov 27, 2022 02:29 GMT
Nov 26, 2022 7:29 pm (GMT -7)
4.1

16 km
North Pacific Ocean, 58 km south of Collantes, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Nov 27, 2022 02:28 GMT
Nov 26, 2022 4:28 pm (GMT -10)
2.4

30 km
North Pacific Ocean, 42 mi southwest of Hilo, Hawaii County, USA More
Nov 27, 2022 02:26 GMT
Nov 27, 2022 10:26 am (GMT +8)
2.5

93 km
Lombok Island, 17 km east of Matalam, Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia More
Nov 27, 2022 02:25 GMT
Nov 26, 2022 6:25 pm (GMT -8)
?

n/a
16 mi north of Gardnerville Ranchos, Douglas County, Nevada, USA (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Nov 27, 2022 02:25 GMT
Nov 26, 2022 8:25 pm (GMT -6)
1.6

25 km
22 Km Al Noroeste De Cuatro Bocas, Costa Rica More
Nov 27, 2022 02:25 GMT
Nov 26, 2022 8:25 pm (GMT -6)
2.6

14 km
North Pacific Ocean, 89 km southwest of Nicaragua, Nicaragua More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.3 x 1013 joules (14.7 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 12647 tons of TNT or 0.8 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake anywhere in the world?

The last earthquake in the world occurred 3 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.0 earthquake - New Zealand on Sunday, Nov 27, 2022 at 4:16 pm (GMT +13).

Where did the last earthquake happen in the world?

The last quake above magnitude 4 today occurred 28 minutes ago in South Pacific Ocean.
Smaller quakes below magnitude 4 are much more frequent and happen somewhere in the world every few minutes. However, many (if not most) of them go unrecorded, because not all areas in the world are covered by sensitive-enough seismic networks able to detect them.

Where do most earthquakes occur in the world?

By far, most earthquakes in the world occur along the margins of the Pacific Ocean, followed by the vast Alpine-Himalayan mountain belts that stretch from southern Europe through Turkey, the Caucasus, Iran, Pakistan, to northern India, Nepal and southern China.
Most of these regions are in oceanic or continental collision zones where tectonic plates collide with each other and release energy in form of earthquakes.

How many quakes were there in the world today?

In the past 24 hours, there have been 611 quakes up to magnitude 5.6.

What was the strongest quake in the world today?

The strongest earthquake in the world today occurred 21 hours ago: Strong mag. 5.6 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, Northern Mariana Islands, on Saturday, Nov 26, 2022 at 4:05 pm (GMT +10).

What category of earthquake is considered an emergency?

Most earthquakes are small and cause no damage, but occasionally, there are bigger ones that can cause considerable damage to people and infrastructure. How much damage a quake does depends a lot on a number of factors including:
- magnitude
- depth beneath the surface
- duration and motion of the shaking
- local geology
- population density
- overall building standards of the affected area
- risk awareness and preparedness
Quakes below magnitude 5 rarely cause damage, while quakes above around magnitude 7 almost always result in extensive damage, even in areas with very good building standards such as in the western US or Japan. Quakes from magnitudes 8 often result in wide-spread or even catastrophic destruction.

What kind of damage can an earthquake do?

The ground shaking of earthquakes can cause soil liquefaction, landslides and avalanches, the opening of fissures in the ground, deformation of the ground, cracks in walls and other structures leading to their collapse. As secondary and often even more severe damage, this can lead to fires, gas leaks, or even tsunamis if the sea floor is moved in a way to displace a large mass of water.

How dangerous are earthquakes?

Earthquakes are among the (if not THE) most dangerous type of natural disaster.
According to data from the World Health Organization (WHO), quakes caused nearly 750,000 deaths globally in the period 1998-2017, more than half of all deaths related to natural disasters.

How many people are affected by earthquakes every year?

Each day, many thousands of people feel an earthquake somewhere. Stronger quakes can be felt by millions of people.
According to data from the World Health Organization (WHO), nearly 750,000 people were killed by quakes and more than 125 million people injured, made homeless or displaced or otherwise seriously affected by earthquakes during the 20 years from 1998-2017.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings