Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes worldwide in the past 24 hours on Wednesday, December 7, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 7, 2022 11:34 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 39 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 101 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 236 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 584 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, there were 4 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 39 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 101 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 236 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 584 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A strong magnitude 5.2 earthquake hit Philippine Sea, Philippines, 6 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.6 | South Pacific Ocean, 79 km E of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 5.2 | Philippine Sea, 48 km N of Daet, Province of Camarines Norte, Bicol, Philippines -

Recent quakes above magnitude 3.0 worldwide (updated )

Past 24 hours145 quakes101 quakes M3+40 quakes M4+4 quakes M5+
Past 7 days1,160 quakes823 quakes M3+302 quakes M4+32 quakes M5+3 quakes M6+
Past 30 days4,867 quakes3,403 quakes M3+1,275 quakes M4+173 quakes M5+12 quakes M6+4 quakes M7+
Past 90 days14,765 quakes10,327 quakes M3+3,954 quakes M4+443 quakes M5+34 quakes M6+7 quakes M7+
Past 365 days64,138 quakes46,555 quakes M3+15,695 quakes M4+1,746 quakes M5+129 quakes M6+13 quakes M7+
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Hide 5 unconfirmed quakes
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 3.6 or higher (95 out of 964 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, December 7, 2022 GMT (47 quakes)
Dec 7, 2022 11:29 GMT
Dec 7, 2022 7:29 pm (GMT +8)
?

n/a
68 km southwest of Mandurah, Western Australia (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT
More
Dec 7, 2022 11:23 GMT
Dec 8, 2022 12:23 am (GMT +13)
2.6

14 km
South Pacific Ocean, 79 km east of Palmerston North, New Zealand More
Dec 7, 2022 11:14 GMT
Dec 7, 2022 5:14 am (GMT -6)
2.9

26 km
North Pacific Ocean, 71 km southwest of San Salvador, El Salvador More
Dec 7, 2022 11:09 GMT
Dec 7, 2022 8:09 am (GMT -3)
2.8

84 km
10.4 km north of Parral, Linares, Maule Region, Chile More
Dec 7, 2022 11:06 GMT
Dec 7, 2022 12:06 pm (GMT +1)
3.0

10 km
Adriatic Sea, 39 km northwest of Ancona, The Marches, Italy
I FELT IT
More
Dec 7, 2022 11:04 GMT
Dec 7, 2022 7:04 pm (GMT +8)
2.5

9 km
Cordillera, 22 km east of Vigan, Province of Ilocos Sur, Philippines More
Dec 7, 2022 11:03 GMT
Dec 7, 2022 7:03 pm (GMT +8)
2.4

2 km
Philippine Sea, 108 km northeast of Tandag, Philippines More
Dec 7, 2022 10:56 GMT
Dec 7, 2022 5:56 pm (GMT +7)
2.9

10 km
Indian Ocean, 38 km south of Banjar, West Java, Indonesia More
Dec 7, 2022 10:50 GMT
Dec 7, 2022 2:20 pm (GMT +3:30)
?

n/a
Southern Iran (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Dec 7, 2022 10:47 GMT
Dec 7, 2022 6:47 pm (GMT +8)
2.9

28 km
Flores Sea, 36 km west of Labuan Bajo, East Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia More
Dec 7, 2022 10:38 GMT
Dec 7, 2022 6:38 pm (GMT +8)
2.6

17 km
South China Sea, 36 km southwest of Vigan, Province of Ilocos Sur, Philippines More
Dec 7, 2022 10:24 GMT
Dec 7, 2022 7:24 pm (GMT +9)
2.6

4 km
Aru Sea, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 7, 2022 10:19 GMT
Dec 7, 2022 3:19 pm (GMT +5)
3.3

10 km
Republican Subordination, 78 km east of Duschanbe, Dushanbe, Tajikistan
I FELT IT
More
Dec 7, 2022 10:18 GMT
Dec 7, 2022 7:18 am (GMT -3)
3.1

225 km
138 km south of San Pedro de Atacama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Dec 7, 2022 10:15 GMT
Dec 7, 2022 6:15 pm (GMT +8)
3.7

1 km
Philippine Sea, 53 km north of Daet, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Dec 7, 2022 10:14 GMT
Dec 7, 2022 5:14 am (GMT -5)
?

n/a
5.8 km west of Santiago de Cuba (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 12 reports
More
Dec 7, 2022 09:52 GMT
Dec 7, 2022 4:52 am (GMT -5)
?

n/a
Caribbean Sea, 17 km south of Santiago de Cuba (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 21 reports
More
Dec 7, 2022 09:40 GMT
Dec 7, 2022 5:40 pm (GMT +8)
3.8

10 km
57 km north of Yining, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Dec 7, 2022 09:20 GMT
Dec 7, 2022 4:20 pm (GMT +7)
4.7

10 km
5.9 km north of Romanovo, Altai Krai, Russia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 7, 2022 09:02 GMT
Dec 7, 2022 5:02 pm (GMT +8)
4.4

10 km
87 km east of Hoxtolgay, Tacheng Diqu, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Dec 7, 2022 08:57 GMT
Dec 7, 2022 4:57 pm (GMT +8)
3.8

10 km
Indian Ocean, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.7 x 1013 joules (7.51 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 6464 tons of TNT or 0.4 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake anywhere in the world?

The last earthquake in the world occurred 11 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.6 earthquake - South Pacific Ocean, 79 km east of Palmerston North, New Zealand, on Thursday, Dec 8, 2022 at 12:23 am (GMT +13).

Where did the last earthquake happen in the world?

The last quake above magnitude 4 today occurred 2 hours and 14 minutes ago Kazakhstan: SOUTHWESTERN SIBERIA, RUSSIA.
Smaller quakes below magnitude 4 are much more frequent and happen somewhere in the world every few minutes. However, many (if not most) of them go unrecorded, because not all areas in the world are covered by sensitive-enough seismic networks able to detect them.

Where do most earthquakes occur in the world?

By far, most earthquakes in the world occur along the margins of the Pacific Ocean, followed by the vast Alpine-Himalayan mountain belts that stretch from southern Europe through Turkey, the Caucasus, Iran, Pakistan, to northern India, Nepal and southern China.
Most of these regions are in oceanic or continental collision zones where tectonic plates collide with each other and release energy in form of earthquakes.

How many quakes were there in the world today?

In the past 24 hours, there have been 95 quakes up to magnitude 5.2.

What was the strongest quake in the world today?

The strongest earthquake in the world today occurred 6 hours ago: Strong mag. 5.2 earthquake - Philippine Sea, 48 km north of Daet, Philippines, on Wednesday, Dec 7, 2022 at 1:05 pm (GMT +8).

What category of earthquake is considered an emergency?

Most earthquakes are small and cause no damage, but occasionally, there are bigger ones that can cause considerable damage to people and infrastructure. How much damage a quake does depends a lot on a number of factors including:
- magnitude
- depth beneath the surface
- duration and motion of the shaking
- local geology
- population density
- overall building standards of the affected area
- risk awareness and preparedness
Quakes below magnitude 5 rarely cause damage, while quakes above around magnitude 7 almost always result in extensive damage, even in areas with very good building standards such as in the western US or Japan. Quakes from magnitudes 8 often result in wide-spread or even catastrophic destruction.

What kind of damage can an earthquake do?

The ground shaking of earthquakes can cause soil liquefaction, landslides and avalanches, the opening of fissures in the ground, deformation of the ground, cracks in walls and other structures leading to their collapse. As secondary and often even more severe damage, this can lead to fires, gas leaks, or even tsunamis if the sea floor is moved in a way to displace a large mass of water.

How dangerous are earthquakes?

Earthquakes are among the (if not THE) most dangerous type of natural disaster.
According to data from the World Health Organization (WHO), quakes caused nearly 750,000 deaths globally in the period 1998-2017, more than half of all deaths related to natural disasters.

How many people are affected by earthquakes every year?

Each day, many thousands of people feel an earthquake somewhere. Stronger quakes can be felt by millions of people.
According to data from the World Health Organization (WHO), nearly 750,000 people were killed by quakes and more than 125 million people injured, made homeless or displaced or otherwise seriously affected by earthquakes during the 20 years from 1998-2017.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings