Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or near Great Britain, United Kingdom: past 30 days

Updated Oct 17, 2021 07:38 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Great Britain had 7 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 10 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 2.8 quake English Channel, 27 km north of Caen, Calvados, Normandy, France, Sep 23, 2021 1:38 pm (GMT +2)
Most recent quake: 2.2 quake English Channel, 17 km northwest of Fécamp, Seine-Maritime, Normandy, France, Oct 13, 2021 1:44 pm (GMT +2)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
Hide 6 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (23 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, October 13, 2021 11:44 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 13, 2021 1:44 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 13, 2021 11:44 GMT)
2.2
491 km (305 mi)English Channel, 17 km northwest of Fécamp, Seine-Maritime, Normandy, France MoreMap
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 14:27 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 12, 2021 3:27 pm (GMT +1) (Oct 12, 2021 14:27 GMT)
1.1

7 km
1001 km (622 mi)United Kingdom: MULL,ARGYLL AND BUTE MoreMap
Oct 12, 2021 1:15 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 12, 2021 11:15 GMT)
2.2

2 km
503 km (313 mi)English Channel, 19 km northwest of Fécamp, Seine-Maritime, Normandy, France 1 reportMoreMap
Sunday, October 10, 2021 08:08 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 10, 2021 9:08 am (GMT +1) (Oct 10, 2021 08:08 GMT)
?

n/a
694 km (431 mi)Doncaster, England, United Kingdom (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 50 reports
MoreMap
Friday, October 8, 2021 10:18 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 8, 2021 12:18 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 8, 2021 10:18 GMT)
1.5
487 km (303 mi)16 km west of Saint-Lô, Manche, Normandy, France MoreMap
Thursday, October 7, 2021 10:17 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 7, 2021 12:17 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 7, 2021 10:17 GMT)
2.1

2 km
410 km (255 mi)9.8 km northwest of Argentan, Orne, Normandy, France MoreMap
Wednesday, October 6, 2021 09:38 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 6, 2021 11:38 am (GMT +2) (Oct 6, 2021 09:38 GMT)
1.6
477 km (296 mi)7.5 km southeast of Granville, Manche, Normandy, France MoreMap
Monday, October 4, 2021 09:33 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 4, 2021 9:33 am (GMT +0) (Oct 4, 2021 09:33 GMT)
2.0
1067 km (663 mi)Norwegian Sea, 86 km west of Indre Solund Island, Vestland, Norway 1 reportMoreMap
Friday, October 1, 2021 12:01 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 1, 2021 2:01 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 1, 2021 12:01 GMT)
1.7
452 km (281 mi)8.4 km southwest of Caen, Calvados, Normandy, France 2 reportsMoreMap
Oct 1, 2021 12:22 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 1, 2021 10:22 GMT)
1.8
464 km (288 mi)5.3 km southwest of Villedieu-les-Poêles, Manche, Normandy, France MoreMap
Oct 1, 2021 11:50 am (GMT +2) (Oct 1, 2021 09:50 GMT)
2.2
415 km (258 mi)Calvados, 15 km northwest of Argentan, Orne, Normandy, France MoreMap
Thursday, September 30, 2021 04:05 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 30, 2021 5:05 am (GMT +1) (Sep 30, 2021 04:05 GMT)
?

n/a
537 km (334 mi)6.1 km northwest of London, England, United Kingdom (unconfirmed) 6 reportsMoreMap
Tuesday, September 28, 2021 12:09 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 28, 2021 2:09 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 28, 2021 12:09 GMT)
1.9
500 km (311 mi)7.3 km northwest of Coutances, Manche, Normandy, France MoreMap
Sep 28, 2021 12:05 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 28, 2021 10:05 GMT)
1.4
449 km (279 mi)France: Near Saint-Lô (quarry Blast) MoreMap
Monday, September 27, 2021 17:45 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 27, 2021 6:45 pm (GMT +1) (Sep 27, 2021 17:45 GMT)
?

n/a
756 km (470 mi)82 km southeast of Liverpool, England, United Kingdom (unconfirmed) 2 reportsMoreMap
Saturday, September 25, 2021 20:40 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 25, 2021 9:40 pm (GMT +1) (Sep 25, 2021 20:40 GMT)
?

n/a
677 km (421 mi)1.3 km west of Birmingham, England, United Kingdom (unconfirmed) 2 reportsMoreMap
Sep 25, 2021 4:38 pm (GMT +1) (Sep 25, 2021 15:38 GMT)
?

n/a
722 km (449 mi)Somerset, 24 km south of Bristol, England, United Kingdom (unconfirmed) 8 reportsMoreMap
Friday, September 24, 2021 12:59 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 24, 2021 2:59 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 24, 2021 12:59 GMT)
1.8
469 km (291 mi)15 km northwest of Caen, Calvados, Normandy, France MoreMap
Thursday, September 23, 2021 14:59 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 23, 2021 3:59 pm (GMT +1) (Sep 23, 2021 14:59 GMT)
0.7

2 km
1004 km (624 mi)United Kingdom: ST FILLANS,P AND K MoreMap
Sep 23, 2021 1:38 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 23, 2021 11:38 GMT)
2.8
476 km (296 mi)English Channel, 27 km north of Caen, Calvados, Normandy, France MoreMap
Monday, September 20, 2021 11:09 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 20, 2021 1:09 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 20, 2021 11:09 GMT)
2.1
415 km (258 mi)Calvados, 16 km northwest of Argentan, Orne, Normandy, France MoreMap
Saturday, September 18, 2021 21:33 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 18, 2021 10:33 pm (GMT +1) (Sep 18, 2021 21:33 GMT)
?

n/a
784 km (487 mi)Neath Port Talbot, 65 km northeast of Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom (unconfirmed) 6 reportsMoreMap
Friday, September 17, 2021 10:07 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 17, 2021 12:07 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 17, 2021 10:07 GMT)
1.8
473 km (294 mi)8.3 km southeast of Saint-Lô, Manche, Normandy, France MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.8 x 109 joules (505 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.435 tons of TNT) More info
Show more
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.