Latest earthquakes in Vanuatu - list and map

Updated 15 Jan 2021 17:41 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Vanuatu was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 6.0 or above, 4 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, and 8 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0.
Biggest quake: 6.1 quake Coral Sea, 44 km east of Norsup, Malampa Province, Vanuatu, 10 Jan 2021 5:48 pm (GMT +11)
Most recent quake: 4.7 quake Coral Sea, 24 km northwest of Pentecost Island, Penama Province, Vanuatu, 12 Jan 2021 8:30 am (GMT +11)
Look up past earthquakes:
Show quakes
Filter by magnitude:
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
[smaller] [bigger]

Earthquake list

all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Showing quakes past 30 days, magnitude 0.1 or higher (14 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Mon, 11 Jan 2021 (GMT)
12 Jan 2021 8:30 am (GMT +11) (11 Jan 2021 21:30:38 GMT)
4.7

151 km
Aoba (15 km) - VanuatuCoral Sea, 24 km northwest of Pentecost Island, Penama Province, Vanuatu
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Sun, 10 Jan 2021 (GMT)
10 Jan 2021 5:48 pm (GMT +11) (10 Jan 2021 06:48:20 GMT)
6.1

166 km
(38 km)Coral Sea, 44 km east of Norsup, Malampa Province, Vanuatu
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
Sat, 9 Jan 2021 (GMT)
9 Jan 2021 12:39 pm (GMT +11) (9 Jan 2021 01:39:39 GMT)
5.3

183 km
Ambrym (29 km) - VanuatuCoral Sea, 37 km east of Malakula Island, Malampa Province, Vanuatu
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Fri, 8 Jan 2021 (GMT)
8 Jan 2021 4:01 pm (GMT +11) (8 Jan 2021 05:01:06 GMT)
6.1

136 km
(50 km)South Pacific Ocean, 59 km south of Aneityum Island, Tafea Province, Vanuatu 7 reportsMoreMap
Tue, 5 Jan 2021 (GMT)
5 Jan 2021 2:11 pm (GMT +11) (5 Jan 2021 03:11:55 GMT)
4.9

180 km
(33 km)Coral Sea, 72 km north of Port-Olry, Sanma Province, Vanuatu MoreMap
Sat, 2 Jan 2021 (GMT)
2 Jan 2021 8:34 pm (GMT +11) (2 Jan 2021 09:34:13 GMT)
4.5

10 km
(172 km)Coral Sea, 155 km southwest of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu MoreMap
Sun, 27 Dec 2020 (GMT)
28 Dec 2020 2:16 am (GMT +11) (27 Dec 2020 15:16:26 GMT)
5.4

10 km
(183 km)Coral Sea, 158 km southwest of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu MoreMap
Sat, 26 Dec 2020 (GMT)
27 Dec 2020 5:52 am (GMT +11) (26 Dec 2020 18:52:34 GMT)
4.6

65 km
(90 km)Coral Sea, 67 km south of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu MoreMap
Fri, 25 Dec 2020 (GMT)
26 Dec 2020 7:47 am (GMT +11) (25 Dec 2020 20:47:48 GMT)
5.0

10 km
(181 km)Coral Sea, 157 km southwest of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu MoreMap
26 Dec 2020 5:53 am (GMT +11) (25 Dec 2020 18:53:23 GMT)
4.9

26 km
(81 km)South Pacific Ocean, 24 km south of Aneityum Island, Tafea Province, Vanuatu MoreMap
25 Dec 2020 2:35 pm (GMT +11) (25 Dec 2020 03:35:50 GMT)
4.6

133 km
(54 km)Coral Sea, 97 km southeast of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu MoreMap
Tue, 22 Dec 2020 (GMT)
22 Dec 2020 05:03:02 GMT
4.5

246 km
Traitor's Head (19 km) - VanuatuCoral Sea, 78 km north of Isangel, Tafea Province, Vanuatu MoreMap
Sun, 20 Dec 2020 (GMT)
21 Dec 2020 7:43 am (GMT +11) (20 Dec 2020 20:43:51 GMT)
5.3

10 km
Traitor's Head (177 km) - VanuatuCoral Sea, 180 km north of , Lifou, Province des îles Loyauté, New Caledonia MoreMap
20 Dec 2020 13:12:58 GMT
4.5

219 km
(91 km)Coral Sea, 94 km east of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu MoreMap
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.1 x 1014 joules (57 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 49005 tons of TNT or 3.1 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:

Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Why is there advertising on this site?

Support us - Help us upgrade our server!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
Our server is reaching its limits and we need financing to increase capacity in order to deal with huge activity peaks when quakes occur. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every penny counts and every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features and in upgrading our software, please make a donation (PayPal or Online cc payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you! With best regards from the VolcanoDiscovery team.
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: