Latest earthquakes in Venezuela

Updated 26 Feb 2021 07:52 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Venezuela was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.6, 12 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 25 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 25 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 2 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 5.6 quake Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo Region, Guyana, 139 km east of Boa Vista, Brazil, 31 Jan 2021 3:05 pm (GMT -4)
Most recent quake: 2.5 quake 66 km north of Barquisimeto, Municipio Iribarren, Lara, Venezuela, 24 Feb 2021 8:38 pm (GMT -4)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakespast 30 days, magnitude 0.1 or higher (65 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thu, 25 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
24 Feb 2021 8:38 pm (GMT -4) (25 Feb 2021 00:38:00 GMT)
2.5

16 km
(822 km)66 km north of Barquisimeto, Municipio Iribarren, Lara, Venezuela MoreMap
Wed, 24 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
24 Feb 2021 17:59:52 GMT
4.1
(1065 km)Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo Region, Guyana, 123 km east of Boa Vista, Brazil
I FELT IT
MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 14:42:54 GMT
3.8
(1056 km)Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo Region, Guyana, 115 km east of Boa Vista, Brazil
I FELT IT
MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 5:31 am (GMT -4) (24 Feb 2021 09:31:00 GMT)
2.7

3 km
(550 km)28 km west of Machiques, Zulia, Venezuela
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
23 Feb 2021 7:00 pm (GMT -4) (23 Feb 2021 23:00:00 GMT)
2.5

21 km
(816 km)33 km north of Barquisimeto, Municipio Iribarren, Lara, Venezuela MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 5:03 am (GMT -4) (23 Feb 2021 09:03:00 GMT)
2.5

5 km
(768 km)8.6 km southeast of Acarigua, Municipio Paez, Portuguesa, Venezuela MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 2:59 am (GMT -4) (23 Feb 2021 06:59:00 GMT)
2.9

9.1 km
(773 km)Caribbean Sea, 110 km north of Maracaibo, Zulia, Venezuela
I FELT IT
MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 9:31 pm (GMT -4) (23 Feb 2021 01:31:00 GMT)
3.1

14 km
(415 km)Monagas, 48 km northeast of El Tigre, Anzoategui, Venezuela
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
22 Feb 2021 6:34 am (GMT -4) (22 Feb 2021 10:34:00 GMT)
4.0

1.5 km
(644 km)33 km north of Valera, Trujillo, Venezuela
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 2:29 am (GMT -5) (22 Feb 2021 07:29:57 GMT)
4.5

146 km
(243 km)Los Santos, 24 km south of Bucaramanga, Departamento de Santander, Colombia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
21 Feb 2021 10:34 pm (GMT -4) (22 Feb 2021 02:34:00 GMT)
2.8

12 km
(800 km)76 km northwest of Barquisimeto, Municipio Iribarren, Lara, Venezuela MoreMap
Sun, 21 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
21 Feb 2021 6:40 pm (GMT -4) (21 Feb 2021 22:40:00 GMT)
3.1

19 km
(222 km)Caribbean Sea, 41 km southwest of Guiria, Municipio Valdez, Sucre, Venezuela
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
21 Feb 2021 5:34 pm (GMT -4) (21 Feb 2021 21:34:00 GMT)
2.5

5 km
(812 km)58 km north of Barquisimeto, Municipio Iribarren, Lara, Venezuela MoreMap
21 Feb 2021 3:52 pm (GMT -4) (21 Feb 2021 19:52:00 GMT)
2.7

13 km
(797 km)75 km northwest of Barquisimeto, Municipio Iribarren, Lara, Venezuela MoreMap
Fri, 19 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
19 Feb 2021 4:03 pm (GMT -4) (19 Feb 2021 20:03:00 GMT)
3.4

5 km
(733 km)13 km northwest of Valencia, Carabobo, Venezuela
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
19 Feb 2021 19:02:00 GMT
2.0
(1064 km)Guyana MoreMap
19 Feb 2021 18:28:15 GMT
4.1
(1064 km)Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo Region, Guyana, 119 km east of Boa Vista, Brazil
I FELT IT
MoreMap
19 Feb 2021 15:55:41 GMT
4.4
(225 km)Fuente de Oro, 18 km south of Granada, Departamento del Meta, Colombia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
19 Feb 2021 08:51:46 GMT
3.4
(1064 km)Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo Region, Guyana, 124 km east of Boa Vista, Brazil
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Thu, 18 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
18 Feb 2021 07:06:14 GMT
3.1
(1064 km)Guyana MoreMap
18 Feb 2021 03:55:54 GMT
4.0
(1064 km)Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo Region, Guyana, 124 km east of Boa Vista, Brazil MoreMap
17 Feb 2021 11:52 pm (GMT -4) (18 Feb 2021 03:52:00 GMT)
2.7

5 km
(831 km)Lara, 37 km west of San Felipe, Yaracuy, Venezuela MoreMap
18 Feb 2021 03:47:43 GMT
1.8
(1081 km)Guyana MoreMap
18 Feb 2021 03:47:41 GMT
1.9
(1064 km)Guyana MoreMap
Sun, 14 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
13 Feb 2021 9:37 pm (GMT -4) (14 Feb 2021 01:37:00 GMT)
2.8

5 km
(758 km)4.5 km north of Quibor, Municipio Jiménez, Lara, Venezuela MoreMap
Sat, 13 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
13 Feb 2021 04:37:00 GMT
2.7

56 km
(881 km)Caribbean Sea, Venezuela, 46 km southeast of Aruba Island MoreMap
Fri, 12 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
12 Feb 2021 8:27 am (GMT -4) (12 Feb 2021 12:27:00 GMT)
3.1

9.3 km
(190 km)26 km west of Guiria, Municipio Valdez, Sucre, Venezuela MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 11:53:00 GMT
3.2

5 km
(87 km)Caribbean Sea, 73 km southwest of Georgetown, Saint George, Grenada MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 02:11:00 GMT
3.4

5 km
(256 km)Sucre, 59 km northeast of Maturin, Monagas, Venezuela MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 8:57 pm (GMT -5) (12 Feb 2021 01:57:26 GMT)
4.5

146 km
(252 km)Piedecuesta, 33 km south of Bucaramanga, Departamento de Santander, Colombia MoreMap
Wed, 10 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Feb 2021 10:26 pm (GMT -4) (10 Feb 2021 02:26:00 GMT)
3.1

5 km
(385 km)Monagas, 51 km north of Ciudad Guayana, Municipio Caroni, Bolivar, Venezuela 1 reportMoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
9 Feb 2021 11:21 am (GMT -4) (9 Feb 2021 15:21:00 GMT)
2.9

35 km
(364 km)Monagas, 40 km west of Tucupita, Delta Amacuro, Venezuela MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 10:14:18 GMT
2.2
(1065 km)Guyana MoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
7 Feb 2021 23:08:06 GMT
4.0
(1085 km)Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo Region, Guyana, 119 km east of Boa Vista, Brazil MoreMap
7 Feb 2021 22:40:46 GMT
4.3
(1078 km)Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo Region, Guyana, 121 km east of Boa Vista, Brazil MoreMap
7 Feb 2021 4:25 pm (GMT -4) (7 Feb 2021 20:25:00 GMT)
3.0

35 km
(586 km)Municipio Cardenal Quintero, Merida, 31 km west of Barinitas, Venezuela MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 10:37 pm (GMT -4) (7 Feb 2021 02:37:00 GMT)
3.0

19 km
(398 km)25 km east of San Cristobal, Tachira, Venezuela MoreMap
Fri, 5 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
5 Feb 2021 2:53 am (GMT -5) (5 Feb 2021 07:53:35 GMT)
4.5

166 km
(252 km)Cepita, 28 km southeast of Piedecuesta, Departamento de Santander, Colombia 1 reportMoreMap
4 Feb 2021 8:48 pm (GMT -4) (5 Feb 2021 00:48:00 GMT)
2.5

5.6 km
(675 km)Caribbean Sea, 32 km north of El Limon, Venezuela MoreMap
Thu, 4 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
4 Feb 2021 5:48 am (GMT -4) (4 Feb 2021 09:48:00 GMT)
2.7

5 km
(789 km)56 km northeast of Carora, Municipio Torres, Lara, Venezuela MoreMap
3 Feb 2021 8:55 pm (GMT -4) (4 Feb 2021 00:55:00 GMT)
2.5

5 km
(743 km)Lara, 33 km west of Araure, Portuguesa, Venezuela MoreMap
Wed, 3 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
3 Feb 2021 6:07 pm (GMT -4) (3 Feb 2021 22:07:00 GMT)
2.7

3.1 km
(674 km)Caribbean Sea, 32 km north of El Limon, Venezuela MoreMap
3 Feb 2021 5:55 pm (GMT -4) (3 Feb 2021 21:55:00 GMT)
2.6

4.7 km
(676 km)Caribbean Sea, 32 km north of El Limon, Venezuela MoreMap
3 Feb 2021 4:40 pm (GMT -4) (3 Feb 2021 20:40:00 GMT)
2.8

1.6 km
(671 km)Caribbean Sea, 33 km north of El Limon, Venezuela MoreMap
3 Feb 2021 3:06 pm (GMT -4) (3 Feb 2021 19:06:00 GMT)
2.6

3.3 km
(675 km)Caribbean Sea, 29 km north of El Limon, Venezuela MoreMap
Tue, 2 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
2 Feb 2021 04:26:30 GMT
3.9
(1064 km)Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo Region, Guyana, 130 km east of Boa Vista, Brazil MoreMap
Mon, 1 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
1 Feb 2021 11:16:18 GMT
2.7
(1073 km)Guyana MoreMap
Sun, 31 Jan 2021 (GMT) (11 earthquakes)
31 Jan 2021 20:03:45 GMT
3.8
(1101 km)Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo Region, Guyana, 120 km east of Boa Vista, Brazil 2 reportsMoreMap
31 Jan 2021 19:48:46 GMT
3.9
(1101 km)Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo Region, Guyana, 127 km east of Boa Vista, Brazil MoreMap
31 Jan 2021 19:36:48 GMT
3.8
(1101 km)Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo Region, Guyana, 119 km east of Boa Vista, Brazil MoreMap
31 Jan 2021 19:34:45 GMT
3.2
(1101 km)Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo Region, Guyana, 134 km east of Boa Vista, Brazil MoreMap
31 Jan 2021 19:32:31 GMT
3.7
(1102 km)Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo Region, Guyana, 122 km east of Boa Vista, Brazil 1 reportMoreMap
31 Jan 2021 19:24:30 GMT
3.3
(1102 km)Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo Region, Guyana, 121 km east of Boa Vista, Brazil MoreMap
31 Jan 2021 19:22:53 GMT
2.8
(1073 km)Guyana MoreMap
31 Jan 2021 19:22:52 GMT
2.9
(1101 km)Guyana 1 reportMoreMap
31 Jan 2021 19:20:41 GMT
3.4
(1101 km)Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo Region, Guyana, 121 km east of Boa Vista, Brazil MoreMap
31 Jan 2021 3:05 pm (GMT -4) (31 Jan 2021 19:05:14 GMT)
5.6

10 km
(1071 km)Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo Region, Guyana, 139 km east of Boa Vista, Brazil 248 reportsMoreMap
31 Jan 2021 2:43 pm (GMT -4) (31 Jan 2021 18:43:00 GMT)
2.5

4.1 km
(637 km)Barinas, 28 km north of Barinas, Venezuela 8 reportsMoreMap
Sat, 30 Jan 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
30 Jan 2021 1:44 am (GMT -4) (30 Jan 2021 05:44:00 GMT)
4.0

35 km
(195 km)35 km west of Guiria, Municipio Valdez, Sucre, Venezuela 3 reportsMoreMap
29 Jan 2021 10:43 pm (GMT -4) (30 Jan 2021 02:43:00 GMT)
3.1

5 km
(827 km)Lara, 30 km north of Yaritagua, Municipio Peña, Yaracuy, Venezuela MoreMap
Fri, 29 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
29 Jan 2021 3:23 pm (GMT -4) (29 Jan 2021 19:23:38 GMT)
4.7

21 km
(355 km)Apure, 68 km southeast of Pamplona, Departamento de Norte de Santander, Colombia MoreMap
Thu, 28 Jan 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
28 Jan 2021 7:08 pm (GMT -4) (28 Jan 2021 23:08:00 GMT)
3.0

24 km
(223 km)Caribbean Sea, 49 km southeast of Guiria, Municipio Valdez, Sucre, Venezuela MoreMap
28 Jan 2021 2:40 pm (GMT -4) (28 Jan 2021 18:40:00 GMT)
3.7

27 km
(189 km)10.3 km west of Guiria, Municipio Valdez, Sucre, Venezuela MoreMap
28 Jan 2021 12:24 am (GMT -4) (28 Jan 2021 04:24:00 GMT)
3.8

2.8 km
(210 km)Caribbean Sea, 41 km west of Point Fortin, Trinidad & Tobago 6 reportsMoreMap
Wed, 27 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
27 Jan 2021 6:23 pm (GMT -4) (27 Jan 2021 22:23:00 GMT)
3.7

29 km
(154 km)Caribbean Sea, 34 km north of Guiria, Municipio Valdez, Sucre, Venezuela 1 reportMoreMap
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Interactive map
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.9 x 1013 joules (5.24 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 4505 tons of TNT or 0.3 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:

Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrsMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 daysMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 daysMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || Français | Deutsch
Follow us:
Follow us on facebookFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel