Recent earthquakes near active or dormant volcanoes (read more)

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes near Active Volcanoes: past 24 hours, Tuesday, Jan 25, 2022 - list, stats and interactive map

Updated Jan 25, 2022 20:03 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
During the past 24 hours, there were 1 quake of magnitude 4.8, 4 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 22 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 51 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake today: 4.8 quake South Pacific Ocean, Tonga, Jan 25, 2022 12:29 pm (GMT +13)
Most recent quake: 1.0 quake 9km WNW of Cobb, CA, Jan 25, 2022 11:43 am (GMT -8)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Volcanoes with recent nearby earthquakes: Clear Lake - Kilauea - Paco - Coso - Rotorua - Furnas - Kolbeinsey Ridge - Talakmau - Bardarbunga - Tahual - Mammoth Mountain - Etna - Chaîne des Puys - Grímsnes - Mayotte Island - Long Valley - Yellowstone - Coatepeque - Miravalles - Mount St. Helens - Ruapehu - La Palma - Maunaloa - Tjörnes Fracture Zone - Hekla - Hrómundartindur - Monte Albano - Hunga Tonga-Hunga Ha'apai - Reykjanes
Latest 24 hoursLatest 48 hours
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 3 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.5 or higher (81 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, January 25, 2022 19:43 GMT (59 earthquakes)
Jan 25, 2022 19:43 GMT
Jan 25, 2022 11:43 am (GMT -8)
1.0

1.4 km
Clear Lake (15 km) - California, USA 9km WNW of Cobb, CA More
Jan 25, 2022 19:38 GMT
Jan 25, 2022 9:38 am (GMT -10)
2.4

32 km
Kilauea (24 km) - Hawai'i 9 Km E of Pāhala, Hawaii More
Jan 25, 2022 19:35 GMT
Jan 26, 2022 3:35 am (GMT +8)
2.6

18 km
Paco (22 km) Philippine Sea, Philippines More
Jan 25, 2022 19:28 GMT
Jan 25, 2022 11:28 am (GMT -8)
2.0

8.5 km
Coso (19 km) 21km E of Little Lake, CA More
Jan 25, 2022 18:51 GMT
Jan 26, 2022 7:51 am (GMT +13)
?

n/a
Rotorua (7 km) - New Zealand Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jan 25, 2022 18:46 GMT
Jan 25, 2022 10:46 am (GMT -8)
1.7

0.6 km
Clear Lake (21 km) - California, USA 1km ENE of The Geysers, CA More
Jan 25, 2022 18:45 GMT
Jan 25, 2022 10:45 am (GMT -8)
0.9

2.3 km
Clear Lake (21 km) - California, USA 1km NNE of The Geysers, CA More
Jan 25, 2022 17:53 GMT
Jan 25, 2022 9:53 am (GMT -8)
1.5

8 km
Coso (19 km) 20km ESE of Little Lake, CA More
Jan 25, 2022 17:01 GMT
Jan 25, 2022 4:01 pm (GMT -1)
2.1
Furnas (20 km) - Sao Miguel Island, Azores North Atlantic Ocean, Portugal More
Jan 25, 2022 16:15 GMT
Jan 25, 2022 4:15 pm (GMT +0)
2.1

10.1 km
Kolbeinsey Ridge (21 km) - North of Iceland, Iceland Iceland: 38.1 Km W of Grímsey More
Jan 25, 2022 15:16 GMT
Jan 25, 2022 10:16 pm (GMT +7)
3.1

10 km
Talakmau (11 km) NORTHERN SUMATRA, INDONESIA
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2022 14:47 GMT
Jan 25, 2022 2:47 pm (GMT +0)
2.1

1.1 km
Bardarbunga (3 km) - Central Iceland Iceland: 2.2 Km NNE of Bárðarbunga More
Jan 25, 2022 12:49 GMT
Jan 25, 2022 4:49 am (GMT -8)
1.1

1.6 km
Clear Lake (21 km) - California, USA 2km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Jan 25, 2022 12:33 GMT
Jan 25, 2022 2:33 am (GMT -10)
1.8

32 km
Kilauea (23 km) - Hawai'i 7 Km NE of Pāhala, Hawaii More
Jan 25, 2022 11:57 GMT
Jan 25, 2022 1:57 am (GMT -10)
2.0

32 km
Kilauea (22 km) - Hawai'i 9 Km ENE of Pāhala, Hawaii 1 reportMore
Jan 25, 2022 11:53 GMT
Jan 25, 2022 5:53 am (GMT -6)
3.5

3 km
Tahual (19 km) - Guatemala San Pedro Pinula, Departamento de Jalapa, 74 km east of Guatemala, Departamento de Guatemala
I FELT IT
More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1 x 1012 joules (284 megawatt hours, equivalent to 244 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel