Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 may 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
: espacios disponibles / : garantizada / : pocos espacios a la izquierda / : una reserva con antelación
News

No existen noticias en esta lista.

 

Aracar volcano

estratovolcán 6082 m / 19,954 feet
El norte de Chile, Bolivia y Argentina, América del sur, -24.25°S / -67.77°W
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5) | Reports
Aracar volcano books
Typical eruption style: explosive
Erupciones del volcán Aracar: 1993 (?)
Fecha / HoraRevista / ProfundidadDistanciaUbicación
Thu, 22 Oct 2020 (UTC)
22 Oct 5:02 pm (GMT -3) (22 Oct 20:02:49 UTC)M 2.7 / 222.4 km27 km62 Km Al SE De Socaire, Chile
22 Oct 10:52 am (GMT -3) (22 Oct 13:52:18 UTC)M 2.6 / 221.7 km23 km133 Km W of San Antonio De Los Cobres, Chile
Mon, 19 Oct 2020 (UTC)
19 Oct 12:25 pm (GMT -3) (19 Oct 15:25:51 UTC)M 2.8 / 222 km19 km128 Km W of San Antonio De Los Cobres, Argentina
19/10/2020 04:17:29 (19 Oct 07:17:29 UTC)M 2.9 / 196 km20 km128 Km W of San Antonio De Los Cobres, Argentina
Mon, 12 Oct 2020 (UTC)
12 Oct 8:51 am (GMT -3) (12 Oct 11:51:38 UTC)M 2.7 / 220.7 km25 km133 Km W of San Antonio De Los Cobres, Chile
Ver los sismos recientes
Aracar volcano is a probably still active stratovolcano in NW Argentina close to the border with Chile. The volcano has a well-preserved 1.5 km wide summit crater with a small crater lake and steep eroded flanks. It is not known whether there has been activity in the Holocene (past 12,000 years).

Background:

The volcano was constructed during 3 eruptive cycles dating back to the Pliocene. The andesitic stratovolcano overlies dacitic lava domes. Lava flows are found at the base of the volcano below 4500 m elevation are relatively well preserved, but there are no lava flows on the upper flanks, which are often an indication of youthful activity. (Source: GVP volcano information)

Possible eruption in 1993
There were reports about ash columns from the summit on 28 March 1993, but it is not known whether these were rockfall dust or eruption plumes.

Latest satellite images


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
 

Más en VolcanoDiscovery

 
Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery y otras fuentes como se ha señalado.
Uso de material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.