Barva volcano

Complex volcano 2906 m / 9,534 ft
Costa Rica, 10.14°N / -84.1°W
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)

Mostrar mapa interactivo
Typical eruption style: sin especificar
Erupciones del volcán Barva: 6050 BC ± 1000 years

Fecha / HoraRevista / Prof.Distancia/Ubicación
martes, 19 octubre 2021 14:55 GMT (1 terremoto)
19 oct 2021 08:55 (GMT -6) (19 oct 2021 14:55 GMT)
3.2

101 km
19 km (12 mi)
Costa Rica: 17 Km Al Oeste De Guapiles, Pococi.
domingo, 17 octubre 2021 03:22 GMT (1 terremoto)
16 oct 2021 21:22 (GMT -6) (17 oct 2021 03:22 GMT)
3.5

77 km
18 km (11 mi)
Costa Rica: 1 Km Al Sur De San Pedro, Poas.
sábado, 16 octubre 2021 14:53 GMT (1 terremoto)
16 oct 2021 08:53 (GMT -6) (16 oct 2021 14:53 GMT)
3.5

5 km
38 km (24 mi)
3 Km Al Oeste De Picagres, Mora, Costa Rica
jueves, 14 octubre 2021 10:45 GMT (2 sismos)
14 oct 2021 04:45 (GMT -6) (14 oct 2021 10:45 GMT)
3.8

5 km
21 km (13 mi)
COSTA RICA
14 oct 2021 04:45 (GMT -6) (14 oct 2021 10:45 GMT)
3.1

5 km
24 km (15 mi)
17 Km Al Noroeste De Vara Blanca, Costa Rica

Background

The central and least known of three massive volcanoes towering over the capital city of San José, Volcán Barva (Barba) is a complex volcano with multiple summit and flank vents. Its three principal summits visible from the Central Valley give it the common local name of Las Tres Marías. The voluminous andesitic-to-dacitic Tiribí Tuff, exposed in the Central Valley of Costa Rica, was erupted about 322,000 years ago from the Barva summit caldera. Four pyroclastic cones are constructed within the 2 x 3 km caldera at the central and NW part of the summit. The SW peak contains four cones, one of which has a crater lake. Satellitic cones are found on the northern and southern flanks. Lava flows blanket the south side of Barva volcano. The Los Angeles flow, one of the most recent, descends nearly to the city of Heredia. A large plinian eruption occurred at Barva during the early Holocene. Eruptions were reported in 1760 or 1766, 1776? (also a mudflow), and 1867, but later visits to the summit did not provide evidence of eruptions during historical time.
---
Smithsonian / GVP volcano information


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Mostrar más
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Más en VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery y otras fuentes como se ha señalado.
Uso de material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.