Chaîne des Puys volcano

Lava dome(s), Pyroclastic cone(s), Maar(s) 1464 m / 4802 ft
Massif Central, France, 45.78°N / 2.97°E
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)

The Chaîne des Puys in the Massif Central of southern France is one of Europe's youngest volcanic fields. It consists of numerous cinder cones and maars roughly arranged on a N-S trending line. The last activity occurred only about 6000 years ago, which is why the volcanoes should be considered still active although there are no signs at present of any new activity to be expected in any near future.

Mostrar mapa interactivo
Typical eruption style: explosive, monogenetic
Erupciones del volcán Chaîne des Puys: approx. 6000 years ago near Besse-en-Chandesse

Fecha / HoraRevista / Prof.Distancia/Ubicación
miércoles, 22 septiembre 2021 14:59 GMT (1 terremoto)
22 sep 2021 16:59 (GMT +2) (22 sep 2021 14:59 GMT)
1.6
34 km (21 mi)
18 km al norte de Riom, Puy-de-Dôme, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, Francia
lunes, 20 septiembre 2021 16:09 GMT (1 terremoto)
20 sep 2021 18:09 (GMT +2) (20 sep 2021 16:09 GMT)
1.6
39 km (24 mi)
20 km al oeste de Vichy, Allier, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, Francia
miércoles, 15 septiembre 2021 09:40 GMT (2 sismos)
15 sep 2021 11:40 (GMT +2) (15 sep 2021 09:40 GMT)
1.5
28 km (17 mi)
5.8 km al noroeste de Issoire, Puy-de-Dôme, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, Francia
15 sep 2021 11:12 (GMT +2) (15 sep 2021 09:12 GMT)
1.5
47 km (29 mi)
Puy-de-Dôme, 23 km al sureste de Montluçon, Francia
martes, 14 septiembre 2021 12:04 GMT (1 terremoto)
14 sep 2021 14:04 (GMT +2) (14 sep 2021 12:04 GMT)
2.2
28 km (17 mi)
5.4 km al noroeste de Issoire, Puy-de-Dôme, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, Francia

Background

The Chaîne des Puys form a N-S-trending chain of basaltic and trachytic cinder cones, basaltic maars, and trachytic lava domes in France's Massif Central that has been active into the Holocene.
Construction of the present-day Chaîne des Puys began about 70,000 years before present (BP), and was largely completed by the beginning of the Holocene. Holocene eruptions constructed lava domes such as the Puy de Dôme, whose growth was accompanied by pyroclastic flows, cinder cones that fed lengthy lava flows, and maars. The latest well-documented activity took place about 6000 BP near Besse-en-Chandesse and included the powerful explosions that formed the Lac Pavin maar.
The dating of younger tephras has not yet been confirmed, and reports of historical eruptions as late as 1000 BP have been discredited.


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Mostrar más
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Más en VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery y otras fuentes como se ha señalado.
Uso de material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.