Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 may 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
24 jun - 8 jul 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
30 jul - 13 ago 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
: espacios disponibles / : garantizada / : pocos espacios a la izquierda / : una reserva con antelación
Latest news
sáb, 6 jul 2019, 19:29
The M7.1 earthquake has also triggered an earthquake swarm at the southern end of the volcanic field, with around 30 earthquakes per hour. leer todo
mar, 11 dic 2012, 06:48
Location of recent quakes in the Coso volcanic field (red=past 48 hours, yellow=past week)
El enjambre de terremoto reciente en el campo volcánico de Coso parece ser largo. leer todo

Coso volcano

estratovolcán 2400 m / 7,874 ft
California, Canada and USA (mainland), 36.03°N / -117.82°W
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)
Last update: 29 Feb 2020 (Strong earthquake swarm- no cause for concern)

The Coso volcanic field is located east of the Sierra Nevada Range at the western edge of the Basin and Range province, California. It consists of 38 old rhyolitic lava domes and basaltic cinder cones covering a 400 sq km area. volcano is located 200 km north of Los Angeles, California.
Eruptions in this area over the past 4 million years produced 35 km3 of lava, the youngest eruptions are probably from the basaltic Volcano Peak cinder cone and occurred more than 33,000 years ago.
Coso Geothermal System
There is geothermal activity in an ENE trending zone between Sugarloaf Mountain and the Coso Hot Springs. The Coso Hot Springs have fumaroles and intermittently active geysers. Fumaroles at Devils Kitchen and the adjacent Nicol area are located in an explosion crater surrounding a rhyolite lava dome.

Show interactive Map
Typical eruption style: Explosivos
Erupciones del volcán Coso: none during the past 10,000 years

Latest nearby earthquakes

Fecha / HoraRevista / ProfundidadDistanciaUbicación
Sat, 27 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 temblores)
27 feb 2021 00:17 (GMT -8) (27 Feb 2021 08:17:26 GMT)
3.1

8.6 km - More
50 kmCondado de San Bernardino County, 19 km al este de Ridgecrest, Condado de Kern County, Estados Unidos
26 feb 2021 23:53 (GMT -8) (27 Feb 2021 07:53:55 GMT)
1.2

7.5 km - More
52 km12km SSW of Searles Valley, CA, USA
26 feb 2021 22:45 (GMT -8) (27 Feb 2021 06:45:41 GMT)
1.3

2.7 km - More
12 km6km NNE of Coso Junction, CA, USA
26 feb 2021 21:23 (GMT -8) (27 Feb 2021 05:23:00 GMT)
1.6

11 km - More
49 km14km SW of Searles Valley, CA, USA
26 feb 2021 19:47 (GMT -8) (27 Feb 2021 03:47:45 GMT)
0.7

9.4 km - More
53 km12km SSW of Searles Valley, CA, USA

Background

The latest dated eruption formed the Volcano Peak basaltic cinder cone and lava flow and was Potassium-Argon dated at 39,000 +/- 33,000 years ago, but the youngest lava dome may even be younger than 11,000 years ago.
---
Source: Smithsonian / GVP volcano information


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8

Más en VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery y otras fuentes como se ha señalado.
Uso de material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.