Recent earthquakes in Costa Rica - complete list & interactive map

Actualizado 1 Dec 2020 03:23 GMT -
Look up past earthquakes:
Show quakes
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
[smaller] [bigger]

Listado de sismos o temblores

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes últimos 30 días, magnitud 3.1 o superior (89 de 151 sismos, show more):
Date and timeMag
Profundidad
Volcán mas cercano (distance)UbicaciónDetailsMapa
Tue, 1 Dec 2020 (GMT)
30 nov 2020 20:28 (GMT -6) (1 Dec 2020 02:28:00 GMT)
3.7

15 km
(118 km)Océano Pacífico Norte, 90 km west de Santa Cruz, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
lo he sentido
MoreShow on map
Sun, 29 Nov 2020 (GMT)
29 nov 2020 14:30 (GMT -6) (29 Nov 2020 20:30:25 GMT)
3.6

5 km
(99 km)Mar Caribe, 18 km north de Sixaola, Limón, Costa Rica
lo he sentido
MoreShow on map
29 nov 2020 14:17 (GMT -6) (29 Nov 2020 20:17:00 GMT)
3.7

23 km
(90 km)Océano Pacífico Norte, 25 km southwest de San Isidro de El General, San José, Costa Rica
lo he sentido
MoreShow on map
Fri, 27 Nov 2020 (GMT)
27 nov 2020 07:59 (GMT -6) (27 Nov 2020 13:59:46 GMT)
3.3

139 km
Tenorio (10 km) - Costa RicaGuatuso, 12 km east de Bijagua, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
lo he sentido
MoreShow on map
27 nov 2020 07:59 (GMT -6) (27 Nov 2020 13:59:00 GMT)
4.1

153 km
Miravalles (9 km) - Costa RicaArmenias, 8.3 km northwest de Bijagua, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
lo he sentido
MoreShow on map
Thu, 26 Nov 2020 (GMT) (7 temblores)
26 nov 2020 10:53 (GMT -6) (26 Nov 2020 16:53:30 GMT)
3.3

3 km
(114 km)Océano Pacífico Norte, 67 km southwest de San Isidro de El General, San José, Costa Rica
lo he sentido
MoreShow on map
26 nov 2020 07:36 (GMT -6) (26 Nov 2020 13:36:30 GMT)
3.2

12 km
(147 km)Océano Pacífico Norte, 83 km southwest de Golfito, Puntarenas Province, Costa Rica
lo he sentido
MoreShow on map
26 de noviembre del 2020 5:06 am (26 Nov 2020 11:06:00 GMT)
3.2

32 km
(102 km)Océano Pacífico Norte, 37 km southwest de San Isidro de El General, San José, Costa Rica
lo he sentido
MoreShow on map
26 nov 2020 00:03 (GMT -6) (26 Nov 2020 06:03:00 GMT)
3.1

102 km
Platanar (20 km) - Costa Rica6.7 km northwest de Florencia, Alajuela, Costa Rica
lo he sentido
MoreShow on map
25 nov 2020 21:02 (GMT -6) (26 Nov 2020 03:02:00 GMT)
3.1

3 km
(131 km)Océano Pacífico Norte, 75 km southwest de San Isidro de El General, San José, Costa Rica
lo he sentido
MoreShow on map
25 nov 2020 20:55 (GMT -6) (26 Nov 2020 02:55:30 GMT)
3.1

13 km
(62 km)58 km north de Quesada, Barrio San Martín, Alajuela, Costa Rica
lo he sentido
MoreShow on map
25 nov 2020 20:51 (GMT -6) (26 Nov 2020 02:51:00 GMT)
3.3

3 km
(129 km)Océano Pacífico Norte, 72 km southwest de San Isidro de El General, San José, Costa Rica
lo he sentido
MoreShow on map
Wed, 25 Nov 2020 (GMT)
25 nov 2020 12:03 (GMT -6) (25 Nov 2020 18:03:30 GMT)
3.1

102 km
Platanar (20 km) - Costa Rica7.1 km northwest de Florencia, Alajuela, Costa Rica
lo he sentido
MoreShow on map
25 de noviembre del 2020 3:20 am (25 Nov 2020 09:20:00 GMT)
3.2

20 km
(141 km)Océano Pacífico Norte, 12 km southwest de San Pedrillo, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
lo he sentido
MoreShow on map
Tue, 24 Nov 2020 (GMT) (6 temblores)
24 nov 2020 14:05 (GMT -6) (24 Nov 2020 20:05:30 GMT)
3.7

79 km
Barva (14 km) - Costa RicaSan Isidro, Provincia de Heredia, 10.2 km north de San Pedro (Montes de Oca, San José), Costa Rica
lo he sentido - 1 report
MoreShow on map
24 nov 2020 12:46 (GMT -6) (24 Nov 2020 18:46:00 GMT)
4.3

18 km
(123 km)Océano Pacífico Norte, 89 km west de Santa Cruz, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
lo he sentido
MoreShow on map
24 nov 2020 00:46 (GMT -6) (24 Nov 2020 06:46:22 GMT)
3.5

29 km
(123 km)Océano Pacífico Norte, 85 km west de Santa Cruz, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
lo he sentido
MoreShow on map
23 nov 2020 22:18 (GMT -6) (24 Nov 2020 04:18:30 GMT)
3.5

15 km
(47 km)Océano Pacífico Norte, 133 km west de Liberia, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
lo he sentido
MoreShow on map
23 nov 2020 21:53 (GMT -6) (24 Nov 2020 03:53:48 GMT)
3.2

47 km
(143 km)Océano Pacífico Norte, 137 km west de Liberia, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
lo he sentido
MoreShow on map
23 nov 2020 21:00 (GMT -6) (24 Nov 2020 03:00:30 GMT)
3.1

46 km
Barva (61 km) - Costa RicaSan Gerardo, Provincia de Puntarenas, 0.6 km south de San Gerardo (Puntarenas), Costa Rica 1 reportMoreShow on map
Mon, 23 Nov 2020 (GMT)
23 nov 2020 10:03 (GMT -6) (23 Nov 2020 16:03:00 GMT)
3.5

5 km
Irazu (20 km)3 km Al Este De Orosi, Paraiso, Cartago., Costa Rica MoreShow on map
23 nov 2020 08:48 (GMT -6) (23 Nov 2020 14:48:00 GMT)
3.3

67 km
Miravalles (28 km) - Costa Rica8 km Al Oeste De Bagaces, Guanacaste., Costa Rica MoreShow on map
22 nov 2020 20:34 (GMT -6) (23 Nov 2020 02:34:10 GMT)
3.3

26 km
Irazu (86 km)Océano Pacífico Norte, 38 km southwest de San Isidro de El General, San José, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
22 nov 2020 18:29 (GMT -6) (23 Nov 2020 00:29:14 GMT)
3.1

2 km
(130 km)Océano Pacífico Norte, 60 km southwest de Nicoya, Guanacaste, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
22 nov 2020 18:29 (GMT -6) (23 Nov 2020 00:29:00 GMT)
3.8

28 km
(113 km)Océano Pacífico Norte, 42 km southwest de Nicoya, Guanacaste, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
Sat, 21 Nov 2020 (GMT)
21 nov 2020 04:54 (GMT -6) (21 Nov 2020 10:54:30 GMT)
3.5

28 km
(64 km)25 km southwest de Corredor, Ciudad Neily, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica 1 reportMoreShow on map
20 nov 2020 18:57 (GMT -6) (21 Nov 2020 00:57:30 GMT)
3.9

3 km
(87 km)32 km south de Golfito, Puntarenas Province, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
Fri, 20 Nov 2020 (GMT)
20 nov 2020 17:52 (GMT -6) (20 Nov 2020 23:52:00 GMT)
3.1

9 km
Platanar (39 km) - Costa RicaSan Mateo, Alajuela Province, 6.7 km northwest de Desamparados (San Mateo, Alajuela), Costa Rica MoreShow on map
Tue, 17 Nov 2020 (GMT) (6 temblores)
17 nov 2020 08:45 (GMT -6) (17 Nov 2020 14:45:21 GMT)
4.0

34 km
(145 km)Costa Rica, 189 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) MoreShow on map
17 nov 2020 08:10 (GMT -6) (17 Nov 2020 14:10:00 GMT)
3.5

19 km
Platanar (86 km) - Costa Rica82 km southwest de San José, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
17 de noviembre del 2020 2:37 am (17 Nov 2020 08:37:00 GMT)
3.1

22 km
(81 km)5 km Al Oeste De Jaco, Garabito., Costa Rica MoreShow on map
17 de noviembre del 2020 1:49 am (17 Nov 2020 07:49:00 GMT)
3.2

86 km
Arenal (17 km) - Costa Rica31 km east de Canas, Cañas, Guanacaste, Costa Rica 1 reportMoreShow on map
16 nov 2020 21:10 (GMT -6) (17 Nov 2020 03:10:12 GMT)
3.4

24 km
(67 km)44 km southwest de Liberia, Guanacaste, Costa Rica 1 reportMoreShow on map
16 nov 2020 20:32 (GMT -6) (17 Nov 2020 02:32:08 GMT)
3.5

27 km
(127 km)Costa Rica, 149 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) MoreShow on map
Mon, 16 Nov 2020 (GMT)
2020-11-16 14:44:25 (16 Nov 2020 20:44:25 GMT)
3.3

17 km
(142 km)Costa Rica, 177 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) MoreShow on map
16 de noviembre del 2020 1:06 pm (16 Nov 2020 19:06:00 GMT)
3.7

19 km
(95 km)84 km southwest de San José, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
16 de noviembre del 2020 5:58 am (16 Nov 2020 11:58:00 GMT)
3.2

34 km
Irazu (55 km)37 km south de San José, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
2020-11-15 22:30:43 (16 Nov 2020 04:30:43 GMT)
3.2

5 km
Platanar (80 km) - Costa Rica31 km south de Puntarenas, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
Sun, 15 Nov 2020 (GMT)
15 de noviembre del 2020 10:42 am (15 Nov 2020 16:42:00 GMT)
3.5

105 km
Arenal (19 km) - Costa Rica108 km northwest de San José, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
15 de noviembre del 2020 3:24 am (15 Nov 2020 09:24:00 GMT)
3.2

9 km
(152 km)Costa Rica, 139 km southwest de David (Provincia de Chiriqui, Panamá) MoreShow on map
15 Nov 2020 05:41:01 GMT
3.3

25 km
(98 km)Costa Rica, 137 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) MoreShow on map
14 de noviembre del 2020 11:40 pm (15 Nov 2020 05:40:00 GMT)
3.9

3 km
(123 km)Costa Rica, 152 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) MoreShow on map
Fri, 13 Nov 2020 (GMT)
13 Nov 2020 20:31:30 GMT
3.9

20 km
Irazu (87 km)73 km south de San José, Costa Rica 1 reportMoreShow on map
Thu, 12 Nov 2020 (GMT)
2020-11-12 17:40:08 (12 Nov 2020 23:40:08 GMT)
3.2

13 km
(112 km)60 km Al Oeste De Caba Santa Elena, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
11 de noviembre del 2020 7:32 pm (12 Nov 2020 01:32:00 GMT)
3.9

11 km
(137 km)Costa Rica, 172 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) MoreShow on map
Wed, 11 Nov 2020 (GMT) (8 temblores)
11 de noviembre del 2020 9:24 am (11 Nov 2020 15:24:00 GMT)
3.1

18 km
Irazu (133 km)Océano Pacífico Norte, 80 km southwest de San Isidro de El General, San José, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
11 de noviembre del 2020 6:18 am (11 Nov 2020 12:18:00 GMT)
4.0

12 km
(135 km)Costa Rica, 186 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) MoreShow on map
2020-11-11 03:53:10 (11 Nov 2020 09:53:10 GMT)
3.4

99 km
Arenal (19 km) - Costa Rica56 km Al Sur De San Carlos, Nicaragua, Costa Rica 2 informesMoreShow on map
11 de noviembre del 2020 2:11 am (11 Nov 2020 08:11:00 GMT)
3.1

112 km
Poas (29 km)0.9 km southwest de Llano Grande, Heredia, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
10 de noviembre del 2020 11:47 pm (11 Nov 2020 05:47:00 GMT)
3.2

15 km
Irazu (86 km)Océano Pacífico Norte, 16 km southwest de Quepos, Puntarenas, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
2020-11-10 21:28:41 (11 Nov 2020 03:28:41 GMT)
3.7

10 km
Irazu (83 km)71 km south de San José, Costa Rica 7 informesMoreShow on map
11 Nov 2020 02:46:30 GMT
3.3

4 km
Miravalles (7 km) - Costa Rica2.9 km north de Fortuna, Guanacaste, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
10 nov 2020 20:07 (GMT -6) (11 Nov 2020 02:07:56 GMT)
4.0

36 km
(126 km)Costa Rica, 187 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) 1 reportMoreShow on map
Tue, 10 Nov 2020 (GMT) (8 temblores)
10 nov 2020 14:10 (GMT -6) (10 Nov 2020 20:10:14 GMT)
4.3

14 km
(128 km)Costa Rica, 179 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) MoreShow on map
2020-11-10 13:53:43 (10 Nov 2020 19:53:43 GMT)
3.3

30 km
(101 km)50 km Al Oeste De Caba Santa Elena, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
10 nov 2020 13:53 (GMT -6) (10 Nov 2020 19:53:00 GMT)
4.4

7 km
(141 km)Costa Rica, 182 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) MoreShow on map
10 nov 2020 12:43 (GMT -6) (10 Nov 2020 18:43:29 GMT)
4.5

10 km
(135 km)Costa Rica, 177 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) MoreShow on map
10 de noviembre del 2020 11:51 am (10 Nov 2020 17:51:00 GMT)
3.9

17 km
(98 km)Costa Rica, 165 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) MoreShow on map
10 nov 2020 10:16 (GMT -6) (10 Nov 2020 16:16:12 GMT)
4.3

8 km
(140 km)Costa Rica, 187 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) MoreShow on map
10 de noviembre del 2020 9:55 am (10 Nov 2020 15:55:00 GMT)
3.8

15 km
(125 km)Costa Rica, 203 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) MoreShow on map
10 de noviembre del 2020 8:19 am (10 Nov 2020 14:19:00 GMT)
4.0

22 km
(120 km)Costa Rica, 158 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) 2 informesMoreShow on map
Sun, 8 Nov 2020 (GMT)
8 nov 2020 08:59 (GMT -6) (8 Nov 2020 14:59:00 GMT)
4.0

26 km
Irazu (56 km)58 km southeast de San José, Costa Rica 2 informesMoreShow on map
7 nov 2020 23:23 (GMT -6) (8 Nov 2020 05:23:54 GMT)
3.3

18 km
Irazu (77 km)Océano Pacífico Norte, 10.7 km west de Quepos, Puntarenas, Costa Rica 1 reportMoreShow on map
7 nov 2020 22:10 (GMT -6) (8 Nov 2020 04:10:42 GMT)
3.6

4 km
(125 km)Costa Rica, 176 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) MoreShow on map
Sat, 7 Nov 2020 (GMT)
6 nov 2020 23:19 (GMT -6) (7 Nov 2020 05:19:04 GMT)
4.7

15 km
(122 km)Costa Rica, 77 km southwest de David (Provincia de Chiriqui, Panamá) 1 reportMoreShow on map
Fri, 6 Nov 2020 (GMT)
6 nov 2020 12:10 (GMT -6) (6 Nov 2020 18:10:00 GMT)
4.0

15 km
Irazu (130 km)118 km south de San José, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
6 nov 2020 04:48 (GMT -6) (6 Nov 2020 10:48:59 GMT)
3.3

33 km
(84 km)Océano Pacífico Norte, 17 km southwest de El Palmar, Chiriquí, Panamá, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
5 nov 2020 19:44 (GMT -6) (6 Nov 2020 01:44:57 GMT)
4.1

11 km
(100 km)Costa Rica, 203 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) MoreShow on map
5 nov 2020 19:39 (GMT -6) (6 Nov 2020 01:39:35 GMT)
4.6

11 km
(112 km)Costa Rica, 183 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) MoreShow on map
5 nov 2020 19:31 (GMT -6) (6 Nov 2020 01:31:00 GMT)
3.5

92 km
Poas (17 km)46 km north de San José, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
Thu, 5 Nov 2020 (GMT)
5 nov 2020 08:40 (GMT -6) (5 Nov 2020 14:40:00 GMT)
3.1

17 km
(117 km)Mar Caribe, 40 km southeast de Ciudad de Limón, Costa Rica 1 reportMoreShow on map
5 nov 2020 04:55 (GMT -6) (5 Nov 2020 10:55:00 GMT)
3.3

25 km
Irazu (91 km)Océano Pacífico Norte, 26 km south de Quepos, Puntarenas, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
5 nov 2020 04:49 (GMT -6) (5 Nov 2020 10:49:00 GMT)
3.1

14 km
Poas (82 km)6 km Al Oeste De Jaco, Garabito., Costa Rica MoreShow on map
Wed, 4 Nov 2020 (GMT)
4 nov 2020 13:54 (GMT -6) (4 Nov 2020 19:54:00 GMT)
4.2

13 km
(128 km)Costa Rica, 172 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) MoreShow on map
4 nov 2020 12:33 (GMT -6) (4 Nov 2020 18:33:00 GMT)
3.4

79 km
Arenal (10 km) - Costa RicaSan Ramon, 13 km west de Pocosol, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
4 nov 2020 06:02 (GMT -6) (4 Nov 2020 12:02:00 GMT)
3.2

46 km
Barva (46 km) - Costa RicaAcosta, 7.6 km south de San Rafael Abajo (Puriscal), Provincia de San José, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
Tue, 3 Nov 2020 (GMT)
3 nov 2020 13:10 (GMT -6) (3 Nov 2020 19:10:36 GMT)
3.5

21 km
(137 km)Costa Rica, 168 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) MoreShow on map
3 nov 2020 07:49 (GMT -6) (3 Nov 2020 13:49:00 GMT)
3.7

23 km
(126 km)Costa Rica, 175 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) MoreShow on map
2 nov 2020 18:37 (GMT -6) (3 Nov 2020 00:37:00 GMT)
3.3

11 km
(137 km)Océano Pacífico Norte, 131 km west de Liberia, Guanacaste, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
Mon, 2 Nov 2020 (GMT) (7 temblores)
2 nov 2020 12:25 (GMT -6) (2 Nov 2020 18:25:00 GMT)
3.5

13 km
(113 km)Costa Rica, 139 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) MoreShow on map
2 nov 2020 11:01 (GMT -6) (2 Nov 2020 17:01:00 GMT)
4.1

19 km
(135 km)Costa Rica, 187 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) 1 reportMoreShow on map
2 nov 2020 10:19 (GMT -6) (2 Nov 2020 16:19:00 GMT)
3.2

23 km
(101 km)49 km Al Oeste De Caba Santa Elena, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
2 nov 2020 10:18 (GMT -6) (2 Nov 2020 16:18:00 GMT)
4.1

7 km
(135 km)Costa Rica, 186 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) 1 reportMoreShow on map
2 nov 2020 09:55 (GMT -6) (2 Nov 2020 15:55:30 GMT)
3.3

95 km
Poas (17 km)Alajuela, Provincia de Alajuela, 19 km east de Río Segundo (Valverde Vega, Alajuela), Costa Rica 1 reportMoreShow on map
2 nov 2020 06:17 (GMT -6) (2 Nov 2020 12:17:29 GMT)
5.0

10 km
(129 km)Costa Rica, 178 km south de Managua (Nicaragua) 2 informesMoreShow on map
02 de noviembre del 2020 5:34 am (2 Nov 2020 11:34:00 GMT)
3.3

19 km
(132 km)Mar Caribe, 53 km east de Ciudad de Limón, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
Sun, 1 Nov 2020 (GMT)
1 nov 2020 17:50 (GMT -6) (1 Nov 2020 23:50:15 GMT)
3.3

4 km
Poas (83 km)10 km Al Oeste De Herradura, Costa Rica MoreShow on map
1 nov 2020 17:10 (GMT -6) (1 Nov 2020 23:10:30 GMT)
3.7

83 km
Barva (5 km) - Costa Rica17 km north de San José, Costa Rica 1 reportMoreShow on map
31 oct 2020 23:01 (GMT -6) (1 Nov 2020 05:01:08 GMT)
5.2

80 km
Barva (40 km) - Costa Rica5.5 km northeast de San José, Costa Rica 92 informesMoreShow on map
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 10 x 1012 joules (2.77 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 2383 tons of TNT or 0.1 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:

Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days

Más en VolcanoDiscovery

 
Why is there advertising on this site?

Support us!

Maintaining the website and our free apps is a time- and cost-intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support our team to develop further features and get the upgraded ad-free version, consider making a donation (PayPal or Online cc payment).
Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive back to 1900
  • Additional data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery y otras fuentes como se ha señalado.
Uso de material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || English | Deutsch
Siga con nosotros: