Mammoth Mountain volcano

domos de lava 3369 m / 11,053 ft
California, USA, 37.63°N / -119.03°W
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)
Last update: 11 feb 2014 (occasional seismic swarms)

Mammoth Mountain is a lava-dome complex on the SW rim of Long Valley caldera, California. Despite its close geographic relation, it is believed that it has its own magma chamber different from the ones underlying Long Valley caldera and the Inyo craters.

Mostrar mapa interactivo
Typical eruption style: effusive
Erupciones del volcán Mammoth Mountain: 1260 ± 40 years

Fecha / HoraRevista / Prof.Distancia/Ubicación
viernes, 22 octubre 2021 02:30 GMT (1 terremoto)
21 oct 2021 19:30 (GMT -7) (22 oct 2021 02:30 GMT)
3.4

9 km
27 km (17 mi)
22 km al este de Mammoth Lakes, Condado de Mono County, California, Estados Unidos
domingo, 17 octubre 2021 19:34 GMT (1 terremoto)
17 oct 2021 12:34 (GMT -7) (17 oct 2021 19:34 GMT)
2.2

2.6 km
12 km (7.5 mi)
7km E of Mammoth Lakes, CA
sábado, 16 octubre 2021 22:55 GMT (1 terremoto)
16 oct 2021 15:55 (GMT -7) (16 oct 2021 22:55 GMT)
3.0

14 km
29 km (18 mi)
26 km al sureste de Mammoth Lakes, Condado de Mono County, California, Estados Unidos
miércoles, 13 octubre 2021 06:36 GMT (1 terremoto)
12 oct 2021 23:36 (GMT -7) (13 oct 2021 06:36 GMT)
2.1

7 km
21 km (13 mi)
12km W of Toms Place, CA
lunes, 11 octubre 2021 20:38 GMT (1 terremoto)
11 oct 2021 13:38 (GMT -7) (11 oct 2021 20:38 GMT)
2.7

10.2 km
48 km (30 mi)
12 km al noroeste de West Bishop, Condado de Inyo County, California, Estados Unidos

Background

The last eruption of the lava dome complex itself took place about 57,000 years ago. There are more than 35 vents fed by the same magma chamber, including Red Cones, two basaltic cinder cones SE of Mammoth Mountain and SE of Devils Postpile National Monument. The cones, whose name derives from their colorful upper scoria deposits, were radiocarbon dated at about 8900 years ago.
Phreatic eruptions on the north side of Mammoth Mountain took place about 700 years ago. The recent unrest, including seismicity, gas emission, and tree kill, at the Long Valley caldera is thought to be related to a dike intrusion beneath Mammoth Mountain in 1989.
(Source: GVP)


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Mostrar más
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Más en VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery y otras fuentes como se ha señalado.
Uso de material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.