Mineral Mountains-Cove Fort volcano

Volcanic field 2770 m / 9088 ft
Utah, United States, 38.58°N / -112.67°W
Current status: (probablemente) extinto (0 out of 5)

Mostrar mapa interactivo
Typical eruption style: sin especificar
Erupciones del volcán Mineral Mountains-Cove Fort: None during the past 10,000 years
Less than few million years ago (Pleistocene)

Fecha / HoraRevista / Prof.Distancia/Ubicación
miércoles, 15 septiembre 2021 21:51 GMT (2 sismos)
15 sep 2021 15:51 (GMT -6) (15 sep 2021 21:51 GMT)
1.2

0.2 km
6.2 km (3.9 mi)
29 Km NNW of Beaver, Utah
15 sep 2021 15:13 (GMT -6) (15 sep 2021 21:13 GMT)
1.3

10.8 km
43 km (27 mi)
6 Km SSE of Joseph, Utah
lunes, 13 septiembre 2021 19:02 GMT (2 sismos)
13 sep 2021 13:02 (GMT -6) (13 sep 2021 19:02 GMT)
0.8

0.7 km
37 km (23 mi)
7 Km NW of Milford, Utah
13 sep 2021 00:51 (GMT -6) (13 sep 2021 06:51 GMT)
0.5

0.1 km
17 km (10.6 mi)
19 Km ENE of Milford, Utah
domingo, 12 septiembre 2021 21:11 GMT (1 terremoto)
12 sep 2021 15:11 (GMT -6) (12 sep 2021 21:11 GMT)
0.8

6 km
36 km (22 mi)
3 Km ESE of Beaver, Utah

Background

The Pleistocene Mineral Mountains-Cove Fort volcanic field contains silicic lava domes in the Mineral Mountains and basaltic and basaltic andesite cinder cones and lava flows of the Cove Fort and adjacent areas. The youngest flows of the Cove Fort field were considered to be of possible early Holocene age (Condie and Barsky 1972), but Potassium-Argon dates of 0.3 million years ago were obtained from the youngest flows (Nash, in Wood and Kienle 1990).
---
Source: Smithsonian / GVP volcano information

Mineral Mountains-Cove Fort Fotos

White, yellow and greenish salt crystals (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
White, yellow and greenish salt crystals (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
Cubic salt crystals.  (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
Cubic salt crystals. (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
Salt crystals form in hollows where they are protected from wind and the rare rains.  (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
Salt crystals form in hollows where they are protected from wind and the rare rains. (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
Monoclinic sulphur needles stable only at high temperatures and little acid drops. (crop from next image) (c)
Monoclinic sulphur needles stable only at high temperatures and little acid drops. (crop from next image) (c)
 



See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Mostrar más
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Más en VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery y otras fuentes como se ha señalado.
Uso de material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.