Mono Lake volcano

conos de escoria 2121 m / 6,959 ft
Kalifornien, Canada and USA (mainland), 38°N / -119.03°W
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)

The Mono Lake volcanic field east of Yosemite National Park and north of the Mono Craters in central eastern California is a series of cinder cones in Mono Lake and on its shore. It is one of the most recently active volcanoes in California, the last eruptions having occurred at Paoha Island only 100 or 230 years ago. Paoha Island's eruption was the appearance of a so-called cryptodome - a shallow intrusion of a viscous rhyolitic magma body that uplifted the lake bottom sediments.

Mostrar mapa interactivo
Typical eruption style: Explosivos
Erupciones del volcán Mono Lake: 1890 (?), 1790 ± 75, 1550 ± 300, 1150 ± 200, 350 AD ± 100

Latest nearby earthquakes

Fecha / HoraRevista / Prof.Distancia/Ubicación
Tue, 14 Sep 2021 (GMT) (1 terremoto)
14 sep 2021 13:05 (GMT -7) (14 Sep 2021 20:05:04 GMT)
2.2

8.4 km
16 km (9.9 mi)
22 Km E of Lee Vining, California
Sat, 11 Sep 2021 (GMT) (2 sismos)
11 sep 2021 11:55 (GMT -7) (11 Sep 2021 18:55:15 GMT)
2.2

11 km
44 km (27 mi)
39km NNE of Toms Place, CA
10 sep 2021 21:54 (GMT -7) (11 Sep 2021 04:54:24 GMT)
2.5

0.9 km
43 km (27 mi)
39km NNE of Toms Place, CA
Tue, 7 Sep 2021 (GMT) (1 terremoto)
7 sep 2021 10:38 (GMT -7) (7 Sep 2021 17:38:49 GMT)
2.4

9.5 km
34 km (21 mi)
31 Km NNW of Benton, California

Background

The most topographically prominent feature of the Mono Lake volcanic field is Black Point, basaltic cone that grew from within the lake and now rises above the NW shore. It was formed about 13,300 years ago when the level of Mono Lake was higher.
Holocene (i.e. younger than 11,000 years) rhyodacitic lava domes and flows form Negit and parts of Paoha islands off the northern shore and center of the lake, respectively. Spectacular tuff towers line the shores of Mono Lake.
(Source: GVP)


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Mostrar más
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Más en VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery y otras fuentes como se ha señalado.
Uso de material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.