Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 may 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
24 jun - 8 jul 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
30 jul - 13 ago 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
: espacios disponibles / : garantizada / : pocos espacios a la izquierda / : una reserva con antelación
News

No existen noticias en esta lista.

Orosí volcano

Stratovolcanoes 1659 m / 5,443 ft
Costa Rica, 10.98°N / -85.47°W
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)

Show interactive Map
Typical eruption style: sin especificar
Erupciones del volcán Orosí: unknown, no recent eruptions

Latest nearby earthquakes

Fecha / HoraRevista / ProfundidadDistanciaUbicación
Tue, 26 Jan 2021 (GMT)
25 ene 2021 23:54 (GMT -6) (26 Jan 2021 05:54:43 GMT)
3.0

155 km - More
34 km31 km al sureste de Rivas, Nicaragua
Tue, 19 Jan 2021 (GMT)
19 ene 2021 08:13 (GMT -6) (19 Jan 2021 14:13:39 GMT)
2.7

175 km - More
34 km11 km al norte de Cardenas, Departamento de Rivas, Nicaragua
Mon, 18 Jan 2021 (GMT)
18 ene 2021 11:47 (GMT -6) (18 Jan 2021 17:47:30 GMT)
4.2

181 km - More
38 km28 km al sureste de Rivas, Nicaragua
18 ene 2021 11:47 (GMT -6) (18 Jan 2021 17:47:00 GMT)
4.2

181 km - More
38 km27 km al sureste de Rivas, Nicaragua
Sat, 16 Jan 2021 (GMT)
16 ene 2021 05:19 (GMT +0) (16 Jan 2021 05:19:40 GMT)
3.9

17 km - More
33 kmLa Cruz, 38 km al sur de Rivas, Nicaragua

Background

Orosí is one of a cluster of four eroded and vegetated cones in the Guanacaste Range at the NW corner of Costa Rica. Volcán Orosí itself has a conical shape as viewed from the north or west, but its flanks are heavily eroded. The complex includes Orosí, Orosilito, Volcán Pedregal, and Cacao. The highest peak of the volcanic complex is 1659-m-high Volcán Cacao, 5.5 km SE of Orosí. The summit of Cacao is cut by two large horseshoe-shaped calderas breached to the SW and east related to edifice collapse. The age of the latest activity of the Orosí complex is not known. Historical eruptions were reported from Orosí in 1844 and 1849, but even at the time of the first volcanological observations at the end of the 19th century, Orosí was overgrown with large trees, and the eruptions may actually have been from neighboring Rincón de la Vieja volcano. The latest documented volcanic activity at Orosí produced mudflows (perhaps secondary) about 3500 years ago.
---
Smithsonian / GVP volcano information


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8

Más en VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery y otras fuentes como se ha señalado.
Uso de material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.