Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 may 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
24 jun - 8 jul 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
30 jul - 13 ago 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
: espacios disponibles / : garantizada / : pocos espacios a la izquierda / : una reserva con antelación
News

No existen noticias en esta lista.

Parker volcano

estratovolcán 1824 m / 5,984 ft
Mindanao, Filipinas, 6.11°N / 124.89°E
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)

Parker volcano (also known as Falen locally) is a low, but steep-sided vegetated stratovolcano located 30 km west of General Santos City, near the southern tip of Mindanao Island, Philippines.
The andesitic-dacitic volcano contains a 2.9 km diameter summit caldera with a lake, Lake Maughan (2 km diameter).
Parker was recently identified as the source of a major explosive eruption in 1641, which caused devastating pyroclastic flows and lahars, and heavy ash fall and darkness over Mindanao Island. The 1641 eruption was one of 3 large explosions of Parker volcano within the past 3800 years. It created the present-day summit caldera.
The eruption style of Parker volcano is similar to Pinatubo volcano, which had a Plinian eruption in 1991.

Show interactive Map
Typical eruption style: highly explosive
Erupciones del volcán Parker: Dec 1640- Jan 1641 (plinian eruption), 1380 ± 75 years, 1920 BC ± 40 years

Latest nearby earthquakes

Fecha / HoraRevista / ProfundidadDistanciaUbicación
Fri, 22 Jan 2021 (GMT)
23 ene 2021 06:13 (GMT +8) (22 Jan 2021 22:13:00 GMT)
2.1

23 km - More
10.6 km23 km al sureste de Lake Sebu, South Cotabato, Soccsksargen, Filipinas
23 January 2021 - 06:13 AM (PST) (22 Jan 2021 22:13:00 GMT)
2.2

1 km - More
9.3 km17 km al este de Lake Sebu, South Cotabato, Soccsksargen, Filipinas
Tue, 19 Jan 2021 (GMT)
20 ene 2021 06:04 (GMT +8) (19 Jan 2021 22:04:00 GMT)
2.2

21 km - More
23 km8.1 km al noroeste de Polomolok, Filipinas
20 January 2021 - 06:04 AM (PST) (19 Jan 2021 22:04:00 GMT)
2.4

15 km - More
44 kmMindanao Sea, 17 km al sur de Kiamba, Filipinas
Mon, 18 Jan 2021 (GMT)
18 January 2021 - 10:48 AM (PST) (18 Jan 2021 02:48:00 GMT)
2.2

11 km - More
47 km2.5 km al noreste de Glan, Province of Sarangani, Soccsksargen, Filipinas


2002 earthquake & crater lake landslide
A magnitude 7.5 earthquake occurred near Parker volcano on 6 March 2002 and an eruption alarm was triggered. The quake caused a portion of the volcano's crater wall to breach and fall into Lake Maughan at the top of the volcano. The landslide caused a flood from the lake that washed away houses and about 33 families were evacuated from river banks below Lake Maughan.

See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8

Más en VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery y otras fuentes como se ha señalado.
Uso de material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.