Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 may 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
: espacios disponibles / : garantizada / : pocos espacios a la izquierda / : una reserva con antelación
 

Latest news:

mié, 4 nov 2020, 09:36
Ruapehu volcano today (image: GeoNet webcam)
GeoNet reported that the activity at Crater Lake (Te Wai ā-moe) is characterized by a heating-cooling cycle. In late September the lake had cooled to around 12 °C marking the low point of the cycle. Since mid-October the lake has been warming slowly and has now reached 22 °C. ... leer todo
jue, 22 oct 2020, 07:54
GeoNet observatory reported that the activity at Crater Lake (Te Wai ā-moe) is often dominated by a heating-cooling cycle. In the most recent cycle, the lake temperature reached a high of 41°C in April and then cooled steadily to 12 °C by late September. Over the last two weeks, the lake has warmed slightly to 15 °C, which is a normal observation. ... leer todo
 

Ruapehu volcano

Stratovolcano 2797 m / 9,176 ft
Isla Norte, New Zealand, -39.28°S / 175.57°E
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)
Last update: 4 Nov 2020 (crater lake temperature is rising again)
Ruhapehu volcano

Ruapehu is one of New Zealand's most active volcanoes and forms the highest peak of the North Island. The andesitic stratovolcano has an age of around 200,000 years and contains a large summit crater containing a lake. Eruptions from the vent inside the lake often cause the lake to drain and form dangerous lahars.

Typical eruption style: Medianamente explosiva, formación de lahares
Erupciones del volcán Ruapehu:

Últimos terremotos cercanos

Fecha / HoraRevista / ProfundidadDistanciaUbicación
Wed, 2 Dec 2020 (GMT)
2 dic 2020 14:10 (GMT +13) (2 Dec 2020 01:10:49 GMT)
0.8

13 km - More
22 kmNew Zealand, Nueva Zelanda
2 dic 2020 13:49 (GMT +13) (2 Dec 2020 00:49:54 GMT)
0.5

10.7 km - More
27 kmNew Zealand, Nueva Zelanda
Tue, 1 Dec 2020 (GMT)
2 dic 2020 11:47 (GMT +13) (1 Dec 2020 22:47:16 GMT)
1.6

13 km - More
28 km2.9 km southeast de Waiouru, Manawatu-Wanganui, Nueva Zelanda
2 dic 2020 08:15 (GMT +13) (1 Dec 2020 19:15:18 GMT)
0.8

17 km - More
26 kmNew Zealand, Nueva Zelanda
2 dic 2020 08:02 (GMT +13) (1 Dec 2020 19:02:22 GMT)
0.9

4.9 km - More
14 kmNew Zealand, Nueva Zelanda
Ver los sismos recientes

Background

Ruapehu is a complex volcanic edifice constructed over several cycles and has a NNE-SSW elongated shape. The cone is surrounded by a large plain formed by debris from flank collapse and lahar deposits.
A series of very explosive (Plinian) eruptions occurred at Ruapehu between about 22,600 and 10,000 years ago. Since then, only one vent has probably been active, Crater Lake in the summit region. Activity in historic time consisted of mild explosive phreatic and phreatomagmatic eruptions often accompanied by lahars threatening the popular ski area on the volcano as well as structures in the surrounding valleys.
An eruption on 24th December 1953 caused a catastrophic lahar that destroyed a rail bridge 42 km from the volcano, just as the Wellington-Auckland passenger train was crossing and fell into the valley, causing 151 fatalities.

Latest satellite images


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8

Más en VolcanoDiscovery

 
Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery y otras fuentes como se ha señalado.
Uso de material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.