Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 may 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
24 jun - 8 jul 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
30 jul - 13 ago 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
: espacios disponibles / : garantizada / : pocos espacios a la izquierda / : una reserva con antelación
Latest news
jue, 21 feb 2013, 17:58
Map of recent quakes near the Salton Sea
Un pequeño enjambre de sismos ha estado ocurriendo en el área de la costa SE del mar de Salton durante los últimos días, pero los terremotos registrados son muy pequeños y no deben ser razón para preocuparse. ... leer todo
mar, 30 oct 2012, 10:06
Un estudio reciente indica que la riolita domos de lava en la zona del mar de Salton son menos de 3.000 años de antigüedad, lo cual confirma que el sistema volcánico es considerado potencialmente activos. ... leer todo

Salton Buttes volcano

domos de lava -40 m / -131 feet
California, Canada and USA (mainland), 33.2°N / -115.62°W
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)
Last update: 26 Jun 2013

The Salton Buttes volcanic field consist of 5 small rhyolitic lava domes built above sediments of the Colorado River delta within the Salton Sea geothermal field, located at the SE margin of the Salton Sea, California.

Show interactive Map
Typical eruption style: Explosivos
Erupciones del volcán Salton Buttes: about 3000 years ago

Latest nearby earthquakes

Fecha / HoraRevista / ProfundidadDistanciaUbicación
Sun, 24 Jan 2021 (GMT)
23 ene 2021 18:17 (GMT -8) (24 Jan 2021 02:17:10 GMT)
1.6

2.3 km - More
36 km4km SW of Salton City, CA, USA
Fri, 22 Jan 2021 (GMT)
22 ene 2021 10:50 (GMT -8) (22 Jan 2021 18:50:34 GMT)
1.1

5.2 km - More
36 km5km WSW of Salton City, CA, USA
22 ene 2021 10:05 (GMT -8) (22 Jan 2021 18:05:17 GMT)
1.5

3.5 km - More
36 km5km SW of Salton City, CA, USA
22 ene 2021 07:45 (GMT -8) (22 Jan 2021 15:45:20 GMT)
2.9

3.3 km - More
36 km5 km al suroeste de Salton City, Condado de Imperial County, Condado de Kern, Estados Unidos
21 ene 2021 19:21 (GMT -8) (22 Jan 2021 03:21:46 GMT)
1.0

10.3 km - More
33 km14km S of Salton City, CA, USA

Background

Recent dating of young zircons (which typically crystallize prior to eruption) place the date of the lava domes at 10,300 +/- 1000 years ago, consistent with early Holocene hydration rind dates from Obsidian Butte. Wave-cut benches originating from Lake Cahuilla, which existed from about 20,500 to 3000 years ago, prior to the 20th century formation of the Salton Sea due to an accidental spill-over of the Colorado River, are found on all of the domes. Older, sediment-buried Pleistocene rhyolitic lava domes have been found in geothermal drill holes. The Salton Sea geothermal field produces saline geothermal brines.
---
Source: GVP Salton Buttes information


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8

Más en VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery y otras fuentes como se ha señalado.
Uso de material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.