Get our newsletter!
Experience Greece differently - take an eco-friendly trip that's off the beaten path!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 may 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
: espacios disponibles / : garantizada / : pocos espacios a la izquierda / : una reserva con antelación
News

No existen noticias en esta lista.

 

Sousaki volcano

Lavadome 200 m
Grecia, 37.94°N / 23.09°E
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5) | Reports
Sousaki volcano books
Typical eruption style: Explosive (?), today only hydrothermal & fumarolic activity
Erupciones del volcán Sousaki:
Fecha / HoraRevista / ProfundidadDistanciaUbicación
Sun, 18 Oct 2020 (UTC)
18 Oct 10:51 pm (GMT +3) (18 Oct 19:51:39 UTC)M 1.9 / 8 km10 km48 Km W of Athens, Greece
Fri, 9 Oct 2020 (UTC)
9 Oct 10:53 pm (GMT +3) (9 Oct 19:53:37 UTC)M 1.2 / 23 km2 km49 Km W of Piraeus, Greece
Tue, 6 Oct 2020 (UTC)
6 Oct 11:45 pm (GMT +3) (6 Oct 20:45:04 UTC)M 1.1 / 6 km22 km18 Km N of Korinthos, Greece
Fri, 2 Oct 2020 (UTC)
2 Oct 10:19 pm (GMT +3) (2 Oct 19:19:42 UTC)M 1.4 / 14 km25 km25 Km SSE of Kórinthos, Greece
2 Oct 7:29 am (GMT +3) (2 Oct 04:29:15 UTC)M 1.7 / 12 km24 km25 Km SSE of Kórinthos, Greece
Ver los sismos recientes
The Sousaki volcano is an area with about 2-4 former eruption centers. Probably mainly hydrothermal and phreatic eruptions, about 1-3 Mi. years before today. It is the north-western part of the Cycladic arch of the active Greek volcanoes. The earthquakes of 1997 of 3-4 R had as a result the uprising magma in higher areas of the earth crust. So future activities are possible, even there have been no historic eruptions been reported. Also the area around the volcano is stressed by many fault systems that are a cause of high seismic activity in the area of Gerania mountains and the Loutraki thermal spings are probably also connected to the "Sousaki magma chamber". The area is controlled by the Greek Geological Instistute IGME.

Latest satellite images


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8

Más en VolcanoDiscovery

 
Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery y otras fuentes como se ha señalado.
Uso de material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.