Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 may 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
: espacios disponibles / : garantizada / : pocos espacios a la izquierda / : una reserva con antelación

Taapaca volcano

Volcán 5860 m / 19,225 ft
El norte de Chile, Bolivia y Argentina, América del sur, -18.1°S / -69.5°W
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5) | Reports
Taapaca volcano books
Typical eruption style: explosive
Erupciones del volcán Taapaca: 320 BC ± 50, 1580 BC ± 75, 1860 BC ± 100, 2400 BC ± 75, 2950 BC ± 75, 4620 BC ± 75, 5490 BC ± 50, 7900 BC ± 75
Fecha / HoraRevista / ProfundidadDistanciaUbicación
Wed, 21 Oct 2020 (UTC)
21 Oct 7:00 am (GMT -3) (21 Oct 10:00:26 UTC)M 3.1 / 119.3 km27 km20 Km Al SE De Putre, Chile
Mon, 19 Oct 2020 (UTC)
Mon, 19 Oct 11:24 UTCM 2.7 / 113.8 km25 km17 Km Al SE De Putre, Chile
Mon, 12 Oct 2020 (UTC)
12 Oct 1:06 am (GMT -3) (12 Oct 04:06:07 UTC)M 2.8 / 108.8 km22 km12 Km Al S De Putre, Chile
Sat, 10 Oct 2020 (UTC)
10 Oct 9:18 am (GMT -3) (10 Oct 12:18:30 UTC)M 3.0 / 132 km18 km97 Km E of Tacna, Chile
Fri, 2 Oct 2020 (UTC)
2 Oct 7:17 am (GMT -3) (2 Oct 10:17:44 UTC)M 2.7 / 115 km28 km74 Km ESE of Tacna, Chile
Ver los sismos recientes
Taapaca is a complex volcano in northern Chile, located partly in Lauca National Park. There are no known historic eruptions, but there have been numerous explosive eruptions followin lava dome building stages occurred in the past few 1000 years.
3 large avalanches have occurred at the volcano.

Background:

from: Smithsonian / GVP Taapaca volcano information:
The Taapaca volcanic complex, lying west of the main Andean chain, rises NE of the small town of Putre in northern Chile. The elongated volcanic massif, known locally as Nevados de Putre, consists of an initial andesitic stratovolcano and a long-term dacitic lava-dome complex. Taapaca overlies Pleistocene ignimbrite deposits and trends roughly E-W, with activity in general migrating to the SW during four principal periods of activity dating back at least 1.5 million years. At least three major edifice collapse events have produced debris-avalanche deposits, the youngest of which underlies Putre, the principal settlement of the northern Chilean Altiplano. Recent geological studies have shown that explosive activity at Taapaca with dome growth and associated block-and-ash flows and lahars has continued into the late Holocene. The youngest volcanic stage beginning about 9000 years ago produced the 5860-m-high summit lava dome of the Putre Unit at the eastern and southern ends of the complex. The latest documented activity produced an ash layer dated at about 2000 years ago.

Latest satellite images


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8

Más en VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery y otras fuentes como se ha señalado.
Uso de material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.