Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 may 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
: espacios disponibles / : garantizada / : pocos espacios a la izquierda / : una reserva con antelación
News:
vie, 19 feb 2021, 08:23
Lots of steam and gas at White Island volcano (image: Brad Scott/twitter)
A series of minor steam explosions from the active vent occurred at the volcano at about 02:20 local time today detected by seismic instruments as the volcano observatory GeoNet reported. ... leer todo
mié, 3 feb 2021, 07:51
Gas emissions on the crater floor at White Island volcano today (image: GNS)
Over the last year, a series of thermal infrared images have been regularly collected by helicopter to observe the temperature of steam and gas vents as reported GNS volcanological observatory. Temperatures have shown a gradual decline since the December 2019 eruption, from over 700 °C in February 2020 to 300 °C on 21 January 2021. The gas emission temperatures are now similar to temperatures measured in July 2018. ... leer todo

White Island volcano

estratovolcán 321 m / 1,053 ft
New Zealand, -37.52°S / 177.18°E
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)
Last update: 19 Feb 2021 (series of steam explosions)
Inside the crater of White Island volcano

White Island in the Bay of Plenty ca. 50 km off the North Island's east coast is one of New Zealands most active volcanoes, well known for its spectacular crater with strong hydrothermal activity and sulphur deposits. It is part of the active Taupo volcanic zone and last erupted in 2001 (phreatic explosion).

Show interactive Map
Typical eruption style: Explosive (in historic time: frequent small phreatic and phreatomagmatic eruptions)
Erupciones del volcán White Island: 2019, 2016, 2013, 2012, 2001, 1998-2000, 1998, 1995, 1986-94, 1983-84, 1976-82, 1974, 1971, 1971, 1970, 1969, 1968-69, 1966-67, 1962, 1959, 1958, 1957, 1955, 1947, 1933, 1930, 1928, 1926, 1924, 1922, 1909, 1908 (?), 1886?,1886, 1885 (?), 1885, 1856 (?), 1836, 1826

Latest nearby earthquakes

Fecha / HoraRevista / ProfundidadDistanciaUbicación
Sat, 6 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 temblores)
6 mar 2021 19:04 (GMT +13) (6 Mar 2021 06:04:43 GMT)
2.9

137 km - More
81 km29 km al este de Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, Nueva Zelanda
6 mar 2021 14:39 (GMT +13) (6 Mar 2021 01:39:53 GMT)
3.7

47 km - More
119 km66 km al noreste de Gisborne, Nueva Zelanda
Fri, 5 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 temblores)
6 mar 2021 06:29 (GMT +13) (5 Mar 2021 17:29:48 GMT)
1.7

5 km - More
108 kmNew Zealand
6 mar 2021 03:27 (GMT +13) (5 Mar 2021 14:27:05 GMT)
4.0

31 km - More
83 km89 km al norte de Gisborne, Nueva Zelanda
5 mar 2021 23:24 (GMT +13) (5 Mar 2021 10:24:31 GMT)
1.9

23 km - More
98 kmNew Zealand

Background

Uninhabited 2 x 2.4 km White Island, one of New Zealand's most active volcanoes, is the emergent summit of a 16 x 18 km submarine volcano in the Bay of Plenty about 50 km offshore of North Island. The 321-m-high island consists of two overlapping andesitic-to-dacitic stratovolcanoes; the summit crater appears to be breached to the SE because the shoreline corresponds to the level of several notches in the SE crater wall. Volckner Rocks, four sea stacks that are remnants of a lava dome, lie 5 km NNE of White Island. Intermittent moderate phreatomagmatic and strombolian eruptions have occurred at White Island throughout the short historical period beginning in 1826, but its activity also forms a prominent part of Maori legends. Formation of many new vents during the 19th and 20th centuries has produced rapid changes in crater floor topography. Collapse of the crater wall in 1914 produced a debris avalanche that buried buildings and workers at a sulfur-mining project.
(Source: GVP)

2012 eruption
A new phase of activity started on 5 August 2012, following an increase in seismic activity since July. The eruption consisted in weak ash emissions from a new vent in the Crater Lake. It is the first ash emission from White Island in 12 years. ...màs

See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8

Más en VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery y otras fuentes como se ha señalado.
Uso de material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || English | Deutsch
Siga con nosotros:
Follow us on facebookFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel