Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 May 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
 
Latest news
Tue, 20 Oct 2020, 13:32
Strombolian activity from Etna's SE crater on Saturday night
Volcanic activity at continues with little changes during the past months. When observed over the last weekend during our recent our small group tour to Stromboli and Etna, we observed mild to moderate strombolian explosions at the New SE crater. ... read all

Location map of Italy's most active volcanoes (Etna, Stromboli, Vesuvius, Vulcano, Lipari, Campi Flegrei)
Location map of Italy's most active volcanoes (Etna, Stromboli, Vesuvius, Vulcano, Lipari, Campi Flegrei)

Snow-covered Etna volcano with the fresh lava flows from 2002/03
Snow-covered Etna volcano with the fresh lava flows from 2002/03

 

Etna volcano

Complex stratovolcano Currently about 3329 m (changing due to eruptive activity and collapse of its crater rims), Sicily, Italy, 37.75°N / 14.99°E
Nearby recent earthquakes (within 30km radius):
Earthquake list: Saturday, 17 October 2020, magnitude -0.8 or higher (3 quakes)
Updated: Fri, 30 Oct 14:03 UTC (GMT)
Quake statistics | Latest | Yesterday
Look up past earthquakes:
Show quakes
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+

Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Earthquake depth plot

Earthquake list

TimeMag. / DepthDistanceLocationMapSource
Sat, 17 Oct 2020 (UTC)
18 Oct 12:09 am (GMT +2) (2020-10-17 22:09:57 UTC)M 1.2 / 0.7 km - InfoEtna (0 km) - Sicily, Italy 11 Km W Milo (CT), Italy
Map
INGV
17 Oct 2:25 pm (GMT +2) (2020-10-17 12:25:34 UTC)M 1.8 / 38 km - InfoEtna (29 km) - Sicily, Italy 6 Km E Troina (EN), Italy
Map
INGV
17 Oct 7:13 am (GMT +2) (2020-10-17 05:13:49 UTC)M 1.6 / 0.7 km - InfoEtna (1 km) - Sicily, Italy 11 Km W Milo (CT), Italy
Map
INGV
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.1 x 107 joules (14.3 kilowatt hours) [learn more]

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:
Number of quakes vs time
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time

More on VolcanoDiscovery

 
Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.